We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay for patients and family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Menlo Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanford Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice stay for patients and family”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The guest house is a fairly priced act of kindness for patients and family. The shuttle was a much appreciated amenity, and the included cooked breakfast was quite fair and sufficient. The room was very comfortable. The 24/7 Peet's coffee machine and morning muffins and Danish were quite good.

It is unfortunate that we had to drive off the grounds to get dinner. I guess there was not enough demand to keep the cafeteria open for dinner.

The free shuttle is another great act of kindness, although it takes constant checking to make sure that the reservations are right.

Room Tip: We were content with the small room with the queen bed. It was perfectly satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
4
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The facilities were clean and the staff were nice. There was a laundry room which is convenient. I didn't really mind going through the security check-in but I can see it being a nuisance to others. We took the Marguerite most of the time but also made use of the shuttle. They run the shuttle once an hour so you kind of have to time your day around it, can't use it like a taxi service.

The main downside was how far it was from everything. Not close to campus or downtown or anything really. The food was also not great. The Harvest Cafe is completely closed on weekends and there's not really anything around the area. It was also impossible to get a cab out there.

The other thing is that the walls are pretty thin so you have a neighbour with a loud voice, you get to hear all their conversations at 6:30am. The shower pressure was also pretty terrible but YMMV.

I don't know if I'd stay here again. Maybe if I had a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legsandalcohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Stanford Guest House is set on the beautiful grounds of the Stanford Linear Accelerator. The rooms are small but cozy and welcoming, and the price is very good for the area -- not as cheap as some of the budget hotels on El Camino Real, but plenty worth the price for the quiet location and the better-than-average continental breakfast. I wouldn't want to use public transportation to get to this hotel, but if you have a car, it's a delightful location, and not far from Stanford University and downtown Palo Alto and Menlo Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoythejourney80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

On the plus side, the hotel was clean.

On the minus side: the hotel is in an extremely inconvenient location, where you have to go though a security checkpoint to get in. There is no food except breakfast on weekends, and no food after 2pm during the week. Almost every restaurant in the area refuses to deliver to this hotel, and the few that do have very limited delivery hours or charge a $20 minimum. The walls are paper thin and I could hear everything my neighbor did all night. Taxis have large delays for entry due to the security, and the shuttle is unreliable. The front desk staff seems to consider it a personal affront if you ask them a question. All in all, this was one of the worst hotels I have had the misfortune to stay in, in the USA -- and I typically stay in low-end budget chains.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan F, General Manager at Stanford Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations. Based upon the details you have shared, it did not live up to our expecations either.

The additional security at our location can be a bit daunting at times but the disinterest you felt from our front desk agents is inexcusable. We would appreciate any further details you could provide on this to assist us with our customer service training. You may reach us directly at guesthouse@stanford.edu with any additional information we can use to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stanford Guest House (SGH) is only available to guests affiliated with Stanford University (SU)(including parents of Stanford students, departmental visitors, etc.), its Medical Center, and SLAC. The guest house was originally limited to SLAC visitors and is located on the SLAC grounds, which is about 3 - 4 miles from SU's main quad. There's free shuttle service to/from the main campus; visitors should check hours and schedule of shuttle operation, and plan on a circuitous route that takes approximately 25 minutes from the circle near Hoover Tower. The Enterprise car rental office on campus offers a discounted rate to SGH's guest; currently this Enterprise office is open 9 am - 5 pm on weekdays, and 9 am - noon on weekends. SGH also offer free van shuttle drop-offs and pick-ups on the hour only, with limited space so I recommend booking the night before you need a ride.

The SGH rooms were originally designed to house SLAC guests in bunk beds. Most of the rooms are 175 sqft. with one queen bed. There are also some 275 sqft. rooms with 2 queen beds or 1 queen bed and ADD accommodations. The larger room we booked for February 2012 included a microwave oven and small refrigerator. The beds are extremely comfortable and the furnishings are well-chosen for the sizes of the rooms. A nice, complimentary continental breakfast is now offered at the Harvest Cafe, which is a short and lovely walk from the SGH. (Since this walk includes a few stairs, I was wondering how ADD guests are accommodated.) I miss the convenience of having the continental breakfast in the downstairs kitchen/dining area, but appreciate the additional seating available at the Harvest Cafe. I'm also glad that the wonderful coffee/espresso/latte/cappuccino machine, microwave oven, small refrigerators, recyclable dishes and recyclable utensils remain available 24/7 in the downstairs area. The third floor features a laundry room with vending machines, ice maker, and cold water dispenser; an exercise room; and a very comfortable lounge area with a couch, 2 cushioned chairs, side tables and coffee table, and large flat-screen TV. In February, I found this comfortable lounge area uncrowded during the early morning hours and a nice place to enjoy my continental breakfast while watching the news. In August, this lounge area with its limited seating was generally quite crowded with folks enjoying the Olympics on the large screen TV.

The SGH room rates are very reasonable, and the staff are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you want to stay in a larger room on weekday nights; its seems easier to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Metermaid608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Thought it was closer to Stanford main quad as we were there for a college visit. You actually enter through the security gate for SLAC, but that was OK. Guards were very nice and helpful. Up on a hilltop with lovely, peaceful, beautiful views. Air smelled of pine and eucalyptus. Short walk up the hill to the Harvest Cafe was a treat. Breakfast included in your stay. Oats w/brown sugar and raisins, pastries, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal and great coffee was just the ticket. Rooms are small but we fit 3 comfortably. Beds comfy, pillows not, bathroom was ADA so it was large, lighting adequate. I think the people that stay there keep to themselves. Never a peep from anyone even though it was full. Loved the convenient laundry room. Saw the shuttle used a lot but we didn't need it. Parking was ample.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kowzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Stanford guest house is located in the high security SLAC center at Stanford and it is unbelievably beautiful.

Being so well located, all visitors have a chance to just step out and they are in the midst of greenery all around. The whole atmosphere is lovely and makes one feel enveloped with warmth and comfort.

Rooms can be a little small depending on what one opts for- single or double occupancy. But in terms of cleanliness and comfort there is no compromise. The views from the rooms are very soothing as well. The place reminded me a little of Coorg (South India) a place that I come from.

The guest house gives you the very best. The staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make things comfortable for visitors. Breakfast is delicious and has shifted to Harvest Cafe which is opposite the guest house. Tai Chi classes are also provided to visitors, free of cost, every Thursday.

I spent two and a half weeks at the guest house and I was absolutely comfortable there.

If one wishes to stay here, they need to book in advance. Visitors need to be affiliated to Standford University in some way.

I had a very comfortable stay and hopefully I'll be able to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PallaviUday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
2.5 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#7 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Sand Hill
Rosewood Sand Hill
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Guest House

Property: Stanford Guest House
Address: 2575 Sand Hill Rd, Stanford University, Menlo Park, CA 94025-7015
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanford Guest House is an impeccably designed and well-appointed property located in the picturesque foothills of Palo Alto. Whether you’re visiting our beautiful campus, conducting research at the internationally renowned SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, or caring for a loved one at the Stanford Medical Center, we make it our number one priority to provide first-class accommodations for the duration of your stay with us.No facility is better equipped to anticipate and address the needs of Stanford clientele than the only hotel owned and operated by Stanford University. Our exclusive lodgings boast one-of-a-kind art and photography highlighting the Nobel prize-winning research conducted at SLAC and, as part of the Stanford family, our staff members are uniquely equipped to help you plan your campus experience.We take great pride in serving the Cardinal community and very much look forward to your next visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing