We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanford Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Red Cottage Inn(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucent(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Inn(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nia(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$511
Expedia.com
View Deal
Stanford Inn(Menlo Park)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanford Park Hotel(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Keen(Palo Alto)
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park James Hotel(Menlo Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
46
38
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
38
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstanford universitylaundry roomrooms are smallboiled eggsbasic needswater coolershuttle servicecontinental breakfast isinexpensive place to stayquiet locationrental carbed was comfortabletop floorguesthouseaccelerationstratfordlaboratory
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here while attending a conference. There are regular buses (free) between the Guest House & the Stanford campus which is several miles away. There is also a shuttle just for those staying at the Guest House, reserve a spot the day before if you are trying to get to campus between 7:30 am - 9:00 am as those are the busiest times. As others have said, the rooms are small but very clean and have all the basics including ironing boards & irons, plenty of outlets for plugging in all your devices, iPod dock in the alarm clock, satellite television. Bed was very comfortable, room quiet. Complimentary breakfast of bagels, pastries, fruits, cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, good coffee & juices. Again, this can be very busy between 7:00 - 8:00am so just be aware & plan accordingly. Plenty of space to sit, including a nice outdoor courtyard. Laundry, ice machine, and vending on the 3rd floor. Free parking, while you can walk to a nearby small shopping center, if you want to eat out, etc a car is a good thing to have. Bonus: incredibly helpful and professional staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This isn't a luxury hotel, but it's secure (24-hour security checking your license against the guest list before driving through the gate), it's clean, and it's the most reasonably priced place in the area. The breakfast is better than your average hotel, and it's included in the rate. Water, teas, coffee...all are available 24/7. Don't mistake this for the Stanford Inn (which is a complete pit). I won't stay anywhere but the Stanford Guest House when I have medical appointments at Stanford. The staff are always friendly, and it's beginning to feel a bit like home to me. It's a great place for those with prolonged stays, as it even has an in-house laundry facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The guest house is not big and not necessarily hotel like. But it provides a good place to stay for those who have connections with Stanford University. The room is small but generally clean. The guest house staff are helpful and they also act as the shuttle driver to bring guest to various places on campus. The breakfast is served as the SLAC dinner room up hill. The quality of the breakfast is good and guests also have opportunities to meet with faculty members and researchers.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank YQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

For a person staying on campus, this is a fine choice. It is close to campus facilities. The rooms are small but adequately appointed -- suitable for either one person or two people who know each other exceptionally well.

However, the room was not clean -- I scrubbed the bathroom floor because it was sticky and covered in another person's hair. It was clear that the bathroom had not been cleaned after the last person checked out. There was also a lot of noise from adjoining rooms and the floor above. Some of the front desk staff was friendly; others were surly.

As a courtesy, the Guest House offers a shuttle to locations on campus. The shuttle forgot to pick me up one afternoon. The SLAC public shuttle is a much more reliable option.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna-cedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed at this guest house after driving my son back up to Stanford after a school break and was pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was. I didn't know what to expect at such a low price. My room was small like a single dorm room might be but had everything I needed and was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast just across the road was wonderful as it offered much more than a standard continental breakfast fare with a choice of hot entrees should you choose to indulge. Staff was extremely friendly. I've not had an opportunity to return here but have tried a few times to get a reservation on return trips to Stanford. If you plan on travelling here during any major events including moving into and out of dorms, graduation, football games, book way in advance. If they have availability I'll stay here first over any other nearby hotel. Value for room is a fair value - not overpriced like many hotels in the area with similar accommodation but the value for service is over the top!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJM2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews