We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Menlo Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanford Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I think Stanford Guest House (though may be referred as modest to many) provides a warm, comfortable, clean, home away from home.
Unfortunately, now that our son's time at Stanford is coming to an end, we will no longer be able to stay here because it is for guests who are visiting with some association with Stanford University,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenGreenspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    33
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
4
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There's probably only two reasons to stay at the Stanford Guest House: you're visiting Stanford University, or you're waiting for a procedure at Stanford Medical Centre. Guests are therefore mostly geeks or invalids, which is an unusual but harmonious mixture. We were the former. The facility is relatively new, and on a bad day looks a bit like a juvenile correctional facility. But the rooms are very neat and well organized, with surprisingly comfortable beds. The lovely staff keep it all immaculately clean. Breakfast is generous and included, although the coffee (which looks like it might be nice because it is Peets) was actually pretty horrid. It was warm enough to sit outside for breakfast most mornings. The Guest House is inside the security perimeter of the Stanford Linear Accelerator, which made it hard to find when we first arrived (you have to go through security). Very useful free bus down to campus. Five minute drive to Flea St Cafe, which was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyfliyfhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a little small but the price is right, it's comfortable, safe, very convenient and friendly staff. Nice workout room, breakfast room and outdoor seating. The street entrance is unique to say the least. You must go through a guarded gate to SLAC Stanford Linear Accelerator. We kept looking around to Lenard and Sheldon. :-)
Normally the campus bus stops In front of the guesthouse but it was not operating durning our stay to to construction nearby.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank compassNSEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This worked great for us while visiting a relative at Stanford University for one night. Good price when compared to decent hotels in the area. Our room was very clean (my biggest concern), the location very peaceful and secure, and the room quite comfortable. We reserved one of the larger rooms, and my recommendation would be to rent one of these unless there's just one of you. They don't claim to be spacious or luxurious and they're not, but the bed and pillows were so comfortable I was wishing for more nights there. Breakfast was fine - the outdoor seating would be nice if weather permits.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the larger rooms, especially if there are 2 (or more) of you. We had a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights in March 2014. It was good, clean place. There was access to a fridge and microwave and free coffee all day long! It is a very convenient place for access to Stanford or Palo Alto, since there is a free shuttle that runs on demand.
Some of the staff was friendly, not all of them, however. If there was a small cafe or something that would be quite useful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsingh472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

For those qualified to stay at the Stanford Guest House, the recommendation is to sign up as fast as you can.

Like virtually everything the university does, smart folks tore down the operation of a hotel and built it back the Stanford way – excellent in all respects.

Here’s why this guest house works:

-- The overall design and operation emphasizes functionality. This is a guest house for visitors associated with the University for sleeping, not a luxury hotel. The rooms are adequate in size, furnished with high quality materials and carefully maintained. The desk and lighting are well designed. The HDTV works as advertised. The HVAC is a window unit, but was not needed because of the large operating window and wonderful weather in Palo Alto. The Internet access is wireless, unsecure, and unfortunately is deliberately throttled to under 2 Mbps.

-- The front desk staff was cheerful and helpful.

-- The guest house location is on the east side of the university and very safe. Specifically it’s located on the SLAC campus with a SLAC guard house at the entrance.

-- The room price was significantly less than comparable hotels in the Menlo Park and Palo Alto areas. Our price included wireless Internet, breakfast, and 24 hour access to a seriously high end coffee machine on the first floor.

At the time of our visit, a small Starbucks store was being constructed across the parking lot.

And at the nearby Stanford Shopping Center, recommended is Yucca De Lac, billed as an Asian fusion style, white table cloth restaurant. Try the sesame chicken – two thumbs up from the entire dinner party. On the other side of the shopping center at the Red Barn is Tootsie’s for coffee, breakfast or lunch – also two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My son is works at Stanford, so I visit often. I like to stay at the guest houses because they are convenient, clean, safe, and reliable. They are not luxurious, but if you need a quiet, basic room to stay in they are great for the price. They offer a free breakfast and shuttle to spots around campus as well. I think the rooms with two beds are much nicer as they are a little larger and have a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, so worth the extra money. The bathrooms are clean but a bit institutional. There is a small gym and business center as well. There is a free coffee/hot chocolate machine on the premises, free wifi, and free parking. You do have to pass through a security check point and show your pass because the hotel is on the grounds of the National Accelerator Laboratory, but not a big deal. If you have a Stanford connection you can stay there, and it is a good option compared to other hotels in the area. It is not centrally located on campus, but the shuttle makes up for this. No pool, bustling lobby, concierge,room service,or plush rooms, but it suits my needs and I enjoy staying there. Definitely a good value for your money.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds are roomier and a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itspat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
2.5 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
767 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#7 of 9 in Menlo Park
196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
594 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Sand Hill
Rosewood Sand Hill
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Guest House

Property: Stanford Guest House
Address: 2575 Sand Hill Rd, Stanford University, Menlo Park, CA 94025-7015
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanford Guest House is an impeccably designed and well-appointed property located in the picturesque foothills of Palo Alto. Whether you’re visiting our beautiful campus, conducting research at the internationally renowned SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, or caring for a loved one at the Stanford Medical Center, we make it our number one priority to provide first-class accommodations for the duration of your stay with us.No facility is better equipped to anticipate and address the needs of Stanford clientele than the only hotel owned and operated by Stanford University. Our exclusive lodgings boast one-of-a-kind art and photography highlighting the Nobel prize-winning research conducted at SLAC and, as part of the Stanford family, our staff members are uniquely equipped to help you plan your campus experience.We take great pride in serving the Cardinal community and very much look forward to your next visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing