We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Motel in Menlo Park”
Review of Menlo Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I've spent 8 nights here in 2 visits. The Inn is within walking distance of Menlo Park's business district and CalTrain stop; off-street parking included in price. The large rooms are comfortably furnished; those on either end are probably the quietest, though I had no problem with night-time noise on either stay. Breakfast is adequate: good coffee, OK OJ, butter, waffles, some yogurt and pastry, but no fruit beyond apples one morning and the warning not to put hard-boiled eggs in the microwave was easy to obey--there are no hard-boiled eggs (ha ha).
Other nice touches: friendly staff, USA Today available mornings, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker in room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Menlo Park Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Yes, I would. When we arrived and looked at the overall appearance of the motel and noticed that there was a lock on the door of the office, we said to ourselves: Oh no, this is not an inn. This is a motel. We should have stayed at the Sheraton or Westin right down the road. We climbed up the chipped and peeling steps to our room and were greeted by the open door to a messy and unattractive cleaning room closet that was adjacent to our room. That continued to be the view for most of the day. The room was fair. The grout in the bathroom was not clean. There was a bucket of towels on the chipped window sill in the bathroom. I think it was to hide the view of the pile of junk sitting below the window. The water pressure was very weak. The room did not smell very fresh. I avoided turning on too many lights for fear of seeing a dirty carpet. I did not feel that I could be barefoot at any time the room. The pillows were way past their prime and felt very crumbly. The towels were very thin. There was not one single chair anywhere on the outside property to sit down on when outside our room. The iron spewed a black and greasy stain on the dress I was pressing to wear that night. The "hot" breakfast consisted of the option to make a waffle with completely artificial ingredients. The muffins were also total chemical pieces of sugar. The breakfast bars were the same. The multicolor cereal (fruit loops?) were also totally unappealing. There was a huge plastic tub of dirty dishes that sat for over an hour without being collected. I think that this was one of the very worst motel stays I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanE190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Menlo Park Inn provided an excellent 'home-from-home' while visiting family. The room we had was away from the road and quiet, of an adequate size, with a very comfortable bed and good lighting compared with many hotel rooms. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast provided was of excellent quality and much enjoyed - especially the waffles!! The Inn is very convenient for downtown shops and restaurants. We shall definitiely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road for an undisturbed sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We found the rooms clean and of a reasonable size,the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful ,the breakfast also good with good choice and quality. The area is nice and there are some very good retraunts withing short walking distance of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlowBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Perfect location for a traveller on business or those who are looking for a value for money deal without too many frills. The reception is manned by professional personnel who facilitate very quick check in and out and any other assistance needed. Breakfast is standard, but I believe is adeuqate. Rooms are well equipped with needed requirements. Very clean environment. I was very satisfied with the service and location.

Room Tip: Opt for a room away from the road if possible... Quieter that way
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afhama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We flew down to attend a wedding and staying at the Menlo Park Inn. Its pretty dated although the rooms are in very good shape, very clean, and comfortable. The staff is very polite and helpful too. If you stay on the bottom floor you run into the fact that the floors above squeak pretty good. You don't really hear the people walking around but the squeaking will wake you up. The do provide ear plugs and eye shades and thats a nice feature. They also have decent soap, shampoo, but the water pressure is pretty poor in the shower.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs and in back. The Inn is adjacent to El Camino Real and there is a lot of road noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

All staff are exceptionally friendly and most helpful. The rooms are clean, good bedding, excellent in room coffee. The office/breakfast area is nice, clean, updated with some fun art. The motel breakfast was tastier than most, again, good coffee.

Room Tip: We stayed second floor about half way down and didn't hear street noise. El Camino is a busy st...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betteschwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 10 in Menlo Park
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
932 reviews
3.8 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#8 of 10 in Menlo Park
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Inn

Address: 1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range: £101 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Menlo Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a region renowned for razor-sharp venture capital firms and a generous dose of Stanford-style intellectual innovation, the Menlo Park Inn carves a decidedly unique niche - a sleek, utterly stylish inn that makes all-star service its top priority. Sure, our guests love our easy, under-two-mile access to Palo Alto, but what really makes them smile? We think it's the sweet smell of fresh-baked cookies. It's an Xperience you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Menlo Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing