We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK-loud street, beds soft, free WiFi”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Menlo Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just OK-loud street, beds soft, free WiFi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

I was disappointed in this hotel. I won't be staying here again. Its an average place.
The bed looked nice but it was too soft. The pillows looked nice but they were lumpy.
The hotel is a step up from a Motel 6 room. Free WiFi is appreciated. The service people were good at the hotel, but don't call for directions because you'll get someone in SF who doesn't know the streets and really can't help. The room is pretty quiet once you close the door. Its like a motel. The breakfast is all carbs and starts at 7am. No gym. The TV worked and was good. No elevator. Also the window in the bathroom was unlocked when I checked it....it did lock, thankfully.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idyllwildgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
42
29
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

I am an experienced business traveller. I have stayed in fantastic expensive hotels as well as budget hotels all over the US and Canada. So believe me when I say that this the most overpriced, noisy and unsafe place I have ever stayed.

Although I was booked for a week, I stayed a single night, and only because I arrived really late in the evening. The motel is on El Camino Real, an extremely busy main street. I (a single female traveller) was given a room on the main floor backing onto a deserted lot at the back of the building. The worst thing? The windows in the room DID NOT LOCK! Anyone familiar with the hotel would know that.

Absolutely NOT RECOMMENDED for anyone who values their personal safety when travelling. I cannot believe that anyone would recommend this hotel. Awful, awful, awful!

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ssandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

From plush bedding to complementary spring water and cookies to spa-like bath and amenities, this quiet, small inn provides the attention and comfort of a much pricier hotel. We've stayed here twice and will do so again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuddyDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

After a week at high end hotels in San Francisco and St Helena my daughter and I decided to wait until the last minute to book a hotel in Palo Alto. Needing only a utiltarian type room we were absolutely delighted with the Menlo Park Inn. When we checked in the chocolate chip cookies were waiting for us (still warm). The room was well appointed, comfortable with all the necessities - coffee maker (Starbucks coffee), fridge, lovely toiletries, comfortable bed.
A little (tiny bit) on the noisy side from the street but the well tuned and efficient air conditioner unit eliminated that irritant.
Breakfast was good - all in all one cant beat the location, price or service.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

This is an excellent place to stay! Very clean, comfortable rooms. Staff is very accommodating and polite. Beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms very clean. Easy access. Clean grounds! A+A+A+ Rating!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidget09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

i stayed here for one night on the recommendation of a friend and i have to say that i was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms are. the bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely appointed. there was no noise from the street whatsoever. the owners of this hotel obviously care very much about their property and about their customers. i have not one complaint. when i return to menlo park i will certainly come back to the menlo park inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarmoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We were expecting the usual in a city motel - basic, bare-boned, fair, just OK.
WHAT A SURPRISE! This room was decorated so nicely, attention paid to details. Refrig, Micro-wave, stainless steel ice bucket and tray, stainless bowl for rolled wash cloths, desk, desk lamp, free internet, chair, 2 holders for suitcases. Plenty of parking, nice breakfast included. JUST LOVELY. Convenient to Menlo Park, Palo Alto, Redwood City, etc. Right on El Camino.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estelletucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#7 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Inn

Property: Menlo Park Inn
Address: 1315 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Menlo Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a region renowned for razor-sharp venture capital firms and a generous dose of Stanford-style intellectual innovation, the Menlo Park Inn carves a decidedly unique niche - a sleek, utterly stylish inn that makes all-star service its top priority. Sure, our guests love our easy, under-two-mile access to Palo Alto, but what really makes them smile? We think it's the sweet smell of fresh-baked cookies. It's an Xperience you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing