We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outside is very deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Carlsbad, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outside is very deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

When I first pulled into this property I almost turned around and looked for a different hotel. The outside of this hotel looks more like a "MOTEL". The front desk asked if "I would like to look at my room before checking it." Im so glad I did, the rooms are lovely, very modern with a lovely private balcony that faces the pool. Very quiet, very pretty, very comfortable.I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabatha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
40
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were coming from a horrible experience in LA and this hotel was just a breath of fresh air. The staff was extremely professional and polite and the rooms were spotless, big and nicely-organized with a modern but classy furniture. The hotel is on a central street, just a couple minutes drive away from one of the prettiest and cleanest malls I have ever seen. From the rooms we could see the squirrels on the trees, it was just pretty. Don't be discuraged by the first impression that you might get from seing the hotel from the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We have shared your comments with our Front Desk and Housekeeping Team and they are pleased to have been of service. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
585 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Red Cottage Inn is on the border of Menlo Park and Atherton and close to Redwood City. It's just off the busy El Camino Real and looks very much like a traditional motel-style establishment with rooms opening directly onto the parking area (or for the second floor, a corridor). The rooms are OK - somewhat dated with reasonably comfortable beds (but small, if you're used to a king). Free coffee is a nice touch as is the free Wi-Fi access (it would be nicer if you didn't have to keep on entering the password each time you connect). Rooms can get noise from people around the pool or the trains that pass on the nearby line. The bathrooms are very dated with toilets that don't have lids (what's the deal here?) and a shower that wasn't great. The free breakfast is OK - good coffee and juice, yogurts and eggs, but pastries and breads that have been only just been freshly taken out of their packages rather than fetched from a bakery. But hey, at the price what do you expect - and that's the overall conclusion for the Red Cottage - it offers reasonable accommodation at a price point well below what you'd pay for other hotels in the Menlo Park/Palo Alto area, so that can't be all bad, can it?

Room Tip: The single-story rooms to the left as you approach the office are the quietest as they don't ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Don't be discouraged by how it looks from the street. The rooms are large, clean, with flat screen TV's. The only downside I see are the railroad tracks down the road. If you're a light sleeper, you may hear the train.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerwin0959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Red Cottage used to be a romantic destination for the commuter set, if you get my meaning. The remodeling was tastefully done although our sink had a crack in it. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very helpful and did a great job. The rooms are quaint, comfortable, well furnished and pleasing. I had to spend a day working from my room and unfortunately the chair was not working properly...but that was a big deal. The ground floor room we had had a private garden and that was a wonderful surprise and a nice quiet spot to sit during the sunny day.

I did have one problem with the hotel. The front desk people were surprisingly curt and lacking in positive customer service skills. We felt as if we were invading their privacy and interrupting them when we had questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DadofAnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I was disheartened to read of your experience with our Front Desk Team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered. This is certainly not the experience that I would have wanted you to leave with and can only assure you that we will address this with the team. Again, we apologize and we hope to welcome you back and provide a much better customer service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed at this property in 2010 and 2011 while our boys attend the football camp at Menlo College (across the street). We were nervous checking in our first year - the property does not look like the home page on the internet, but were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the well equipped rooms. The courtyard is very relaxing, the pool area clean and beautiful and the exercise room well equipped. The breakfast met the needs of even our three hungry boys and the location was perfect. We could walk to the camp, walk to downtown Menlo or drive only 5 minutes to the local Target for camp supplies. Though the price has increased with the economic improvement they offer a wonderful 7 day discount and we look forward to our annual return trip this year. Oh.. the first year our youngest left his Game Boy and charger and they sent it home to Canada for us! A great place to stay if you get an opportunity. We have brought more families back with us each year.

Room Tip: we always stay on the ground level and love the little privacy patio each room has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

If you are headed for the Penninsula for business or pleasure, this is a pleasant alternative to a standard motel chain. Staff is friendly, wi-fi is free, the rooms are comfy and even breakfast is included. The location can't be beat. The grounds are lushly landscaped and there is a nice-looking pool in the back. Our 2nd floor room had a balcony and if it had not been raining, we would have enjoyed sitting out on the deck for awhile. An upscale coffee-maker in the room, along with a fridge, rounds out the amenities. I didn't give this a five-star because the breakfast room is completely inadeqaute during the breakfast rush, and there was no place to sit. However, they did provide trays for us to take food back to the room. All in all, a very pleasent motel experience. Check it out.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms all have balconies and are away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SperanzaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing