We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil spot”
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Usa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tranquil spot”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Although the Red Cottage Inn is on the very busy street of El Camino Real, the property is set back from the road and allows for a good night's sleep. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. There's a nice pool and the gardens are maintained beautifully. There are lots of fancier hotels closer to the Stanford campus, but if you have a car, this place is a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
41
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is a 1950's style motor hotel that has had some updating. Almost anywhere else in the US, the rooms would go for $69/night. Because it's near Stanford/Palo Alto, it's signficantly more (athough its still relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels in the area). My room was updated, was clean, reasonably quiet, plastic stall shower, with free wifi that worked well; in other words "adequate". Free breakfast is in the check-in lobby, was pretty basic (adequate). Fitness center is small, "adequate". It's right off El Camino Real, the main drag through Silicon Valley. "Downtown" Menlo Park is about 1/2 mile away. While other reviewers seem to find this place charming, I did not. Having said that, it's a more afforable option in the area, while not being a flea-bag. It's OK to stay here (I would again) with appropriate expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience was just adequate and our services and amenities fell short of your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve everything we do and offer to satisfy our customers. With this is mind, we will be making upgrades on our breakfast selections, room amenities and overall look of the hotel. We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to improving your experience every time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The quality of the rooms was very surprising to me. I normally stay at one of the large chains because I travel frequently for business and belong to the loyalty programs. But as part of a several day stay in the Palo Alto area, I chose this hotel because of proximity to events. It was perfect! The room was incredibly comfortable and I liked that there was a patio so I could step outside for fresh air. The bed was every bit as comfortable as what I would expect in a Westin or Hilton. (I rarely get enough sleep when I travel so I am picky about comfortable beds). The breakfast wasn't much but all I really care about is coffee and there was plenty of that along with a Keurig machine in the room. There was also a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel is situated close to both the Atherton and Menlo Park stations for easy access into the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We are delighted to know that you were able to enjoy the private patio. Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
370 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was our third extended stay at the Red Cottage Inn. We spent eight days over Christmas this year. Not much has changed since our first stay in 2009. Our room, with a king bed, was clean, warm and comfortable, despite the incessant rains that were pounding the area this year. The breakfast is quite adequate if you are light eaters like we are -- cereal, a nice selection of breads and pastries, yogurt, hard- boiled eggs, fresh fruit, milk, juice and coffee. And, even though we did not use it, the room had a Keurig coffee maker. Housekeeping was generally excellent throughout; one minor glitch was taken care of quickly and cheerfully. I found the on-site parking to be adequate; we were able to find a space very night, even when the lot was nearly full and we were late getting back to the motel. I might also add that, despite the heavy rains, drainage seemed to be very good on this property. I found many instances of fairly deep pooled water in streets and parking lots elsewhere in the area, but not here. Friendly staff. Very convenient to Menlo Park and Palo Alto and other nearby locations via El Camino Real.

Room Tip: While many reviewers seem to like the poolside rooms, I prefer the rooms out away from the pool, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay with us! We are continually trying to improve and upgrade our hotel and we are excited to let our guests know that for 2013 we will be upgrading our breakfast selections. Happy New Year and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is in the heart of Silicon Valley. Just down the street from Stanford, Facebook and Google. It was half the price of everything else in site. The place was adequate and comfortable but not up to the $400 places down the street which would have $99 anywhere else., The room was clean and had all the amenities but was still lacking in things like a breakfast which was somewhat lacking. All in all worth the price.

Room Tip: It's a small place but up front close to the parking is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a charming little place, reminds me in some ways of Dinah's Garden Hotel; much smaller, but likewise has a distinct charm and character. Well situated at the northern edge of Menlo Park, not the absolute closest to downtown PA or Stanford if that's where you need to be but it's enough off El Camino to make it feel a little calmer and quieter than standard motel. Room was clean, well stocked; it felt fresh.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtonvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback and we do agree that Dinah’s Garden Hotel is also an excellent boutique hotel. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We visited Menlo Park recently and looked for somewhere to stay within easy reach of the City. Red Cottage Inn & Suites looked suitable on an Internet search and we were not disappointed. The room was big by UK standards and well equipped. We were on the first floor poolside and found it to comfortable, quiet and provided with all we needed. We appreciated the Keurig coffee maker provided as well as the microwave and refrigerator.

The staff at the suites were unfailingly helpful and friendly. Our original plans changed and we extended our stay. This was all dealt with efficiently and with good humour.

The breakfast included in the room rate was excellent and more than adequate for our needs.

Compared to UK motels this was a star find and we would certainly choose to stay again.

Room Tip: We preferred the poolside rooms. Those on the ground floor have a patio and gated access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay. We look forward in welcoming you back, whenever you are visiting California again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
616 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing