We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Menlo Park
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Re done, looks new and fresh, accommodations very good and all rooms on the ground level.
Light Breakfast, pool and Internet.
Fair rate too.
I would go back. Call a couple of days ahead, always booked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOWZAT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Difficult to find right off the road. Everybody who hasn't been there before pulls into the new office building out front. They should put a sign on the front of the office facing the road so that you see it when you pull in. Concerned at first, but pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very nice! The breakfast area is small but we never lacked a table on any morning. Light breakfast, but quite adequate. No black tea! What's with that! The sitting area out back is great! Very comfortable and quiet. Commuter trains out back but we rarely heard them and we were in a room closest to them. Office staff need better training. No smiles and usually short with people. We wondered about the girl who flew in in her Mustang every morning parking in the handicapped spot. The maintenance staff were very friendly and accommodating. Maybe they should run the front desk. Some of this may sound negative, but we would stay there again. Other places nearby seemed very run down and/or right on the busy El Camino Real. The location is very close to everything local of interest.

Room Tip: The suite may sound great, but it's expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newenglander1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that we are working our best to address all issues. We definitely agree that black tea should always be an option for breakfast and we do offer it but unfortunately our suppliers are sold out when you are at the hotel. We will be updating the office area and that will include better signage for the hotel. We do apologize for the shortcomings of our Front Desk Team and that we constantly do trainings on all our staff to provide our guests with the best customer service. This is certainly not the experience that I would have wanted you to leave with and can only assure you that we will address this with the team. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a small motel in a great location for doing business in Menlo Park. I stayed in their suite in August which has a sliding door off the living room onto a small private patio at the edge of the pool. The living room is nicely appointed with a gas fireplace, flat screen tv, a couch and two aimchairs. At one end of the living room is a niclely sized work desk and a kitchenette cabinet with refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom is large with double sinks and a double sized jacuzzi. The bedroom has another flatscreen tv and has a sliding door opening onto a patio walled on the other three sides by high privacy wooden fence and has a small table and two chairs for outside dining. The suite was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and plan to return on future business trips. I did not try the breakfast but enjoyed the cookies in the evening. I was able to shop nearby at Trader Joes to stock up the refrigerator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunsetWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Redwood Suite and hopefully next time you visit for your future business trip you’ll also have the chance to enjoy our gourmet continental breakfast. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked the Red Cottage based on TripAdvisor, and were not disappointed. Clean. Excellent quality breakfast. Pretty pool. Cute outdoor reading spot. Cookies in the afternoon. The room was tight with a rollaway bed, but most are.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a very nice review. We look forward in welcoming you back whenever you are in the are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've stayed here a few times on business and really enjoy it. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast that's included is just fine. It is quiet, set back from the street, and some of the rooms have small patios. Bath amenities are very nice. Staff are helpful and knowledgable. Close to Stanford and Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, good shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you! Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

While this Inn will not be the most luxurious place to stay, this small hotel provides great rooms and excellent customer service. I locked myself out of my room twice and the staff gladly assisted. More importantly, I left personal items, including a gift, in my room when I checked out. The staff had collected the items and I had an email from the hotel even before my plane landed at home. They mailed the items back free of charged and the package arrived within days. It is great for business travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kykgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to know that the package we mailed arrived safely. We look forward in welcoming you back for your future business travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Although the Red Cottage Inn is on the very busy street of El Camino Real, the property is set back from the road and allows for a good night's sleep. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. There's a nice pool and the gardens are maintained beautifully. There are lots of fancier hotels closer to the Stanford campus, but if you have a car, this place is a very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 11 in Menlo Park
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 11 in Menlo Park
160 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range: £94 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing