We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
A TripAdvisor Member
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2005

Pleasant staff, comfortable rooms and convenient to local restaurants. They make every effort to accomodate my specific room requests. Continental breakfast included in main lobby. Rates are very reasonable for the area.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
40
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2005

We chose this hotel because the rates were reasonable, we could get a two-bedroom suite, and it was close to what we were doing (our reason for being in town). The pictures made it look like a lovely garden spot, and we found it to be close to what we saw in the pictures on their website.

Our first disappointment, however, was that our two-bedroom suite was a one bedroom suite with an additional bed in the living room. We asked them about that and learned that nobody else complained and that's what they call it because it has two beds (so if they put a third bed in the space, would it be a three bedroom suite?). It seems that if you get the unit with the kitchen you do get two separate bedrooms, but we didn't see it to confirm that indeed is true.

The second disappointment was that our "two bedroom suite" had a jetted tub that you couldn't use because the drain couldn't be closed. Of course we didn't learn this until 11PM, too late to contact the front desk. They told us the next morning they have replacement parts, if we'd only asked.

Breakfast wasn't bad, for a continental breakfast; hard-boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, yogurt, juice and coffee.

There wasn't one shred of evidence of any environmental action -- no towel- or sheet-reuse program, no recycling, no water or energy conservation, and the use of disposable cups; at least there weren't any foam cups!

They also tried raising the price on us from what was quoted at reservation; at least they honored the contracted price.

Even with all these challenges, we liked the place and will consider returning, next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitanne668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2005

We chose this inn for the location close to Menlo College. Never again! As we waited in the lobby we should of known what the rest of the property would be like. My husband and I arrived around noon and the breakfast still hadn't been put away. The door was open and the flys were swarming. The gentleman at the desk didn't seem to be fazed at all. As we approached the door there was an 2 inch or more gap from the floor. The door lock on the inside was flimsy. For a quick moment I was in awe of the private deck through the sliding glass door. The patio chairs were dirty and didn't look sturdy enough to sit in. The lock on the slider also was not secure. The mattress was creaky and smelled. The towels felt hard and I really was afraid of the bottom of the bathtub. My husband and I both agree we made a big mistake not to run out when we should of. Never again!

Helpful?
4 Thank my3men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2005

We were looking for a one night getaway and chose the Red Cottage Inn & Suites for our visit to Menlo Park. It was lovely. The old motel is in a wonderful floral setting with pool and fountains. There are trees and flowers everywhere. The room was large and every room has a small patio with a private area. We had a table and chairs outside with some small greenery.

The king bed was very comfortable, and the room included a large refrigerator, microwave, desk, CD player, video player and of course TV. The marble bathroom was nice. Nothing out of the ordinary there. The closet was huge in the entry way. Includes a nice breakfast. We stayed for only $109. We may go back as we fell in love with Menlo Park and had an outstanding dinner in Los Gatos at La Fondue. Suites have jacuzzis in room.

High end shopping only minutes away at the Stanford shopping mall. It fit our needs entirely. Plus, and this is most important - very very quiet. Although it has seen it's day, it is lovely.

Helpful?
4 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2004

The website for the Red Cottage made me think it would be a cute garden motel. In reality, the room was nothing like the pictures (the lightbulbs in two lamps and in the bathroom didn't work, and there was a large iron burn in the carpet as well). There were no flowers around any of the patios, and the place just seemed neglected. On the up-side, there was little traffic noise since it is off the main drag, and the prices were great for the area. I would not recommend it to anyone though.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale,fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2004

The Red Cottage is not a 3 star hotel. It is older and pretty basic. The pictures of the rooms are not the rooms you get. Maybe the suites are remodeled but the regular rooms show their age. The room is clean but walls are a bit thin so the morning trains and the vacum cleaner can be heard. The bathroom mirror only extends to 5'9 so you have to duck if you are taller.

Helpful?
Thank ahunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2003

My wife and I stayed at the Red Cottage Inn & Suites in August 2003 and just wanted to say that it was great.. My room feautured a DVD player and so many amenities at such a great price that I was amazed.. The staff was personable and extremely helpful with getting my directions and tips for restaurants in the area.

I hope this helps..

Jeff and Peg

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing