We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting even better”
Review of Flea Street Cafe

Flea Street Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Flea Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Avy Ave.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“getting even better”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

have dined here several times.........off the beaten path in a residential area.........nice atmosphere.....cozy and attractive decor.......good portions on most items.......a bit pricey on the main courses....most around $35.........but excellent and interesting preparations....excellent service.......decent, well-selected wine list.....$25 corkage....moderate noise......try the chicken.....one of the best ever....a definite repeat.......almost always busy so book ahead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bolgerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous local organic fare, skillfully composed”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Let's start off with why I gave this place 4 stars instead of 5. This place had everything I was looking for: local, organic fare with delicious-sounding descriptions. It was in the right location to allow me to meet a friend I hadn't seen in over a decade after work while on an out of town business trip. The menu options, which I had investigated online prior to arriving, tasted in even better in real life than I had imagined. So, basically, this place has it all, except that the hostesses were snobby/snotty, call what you like. It's my pet peeve - so unnecessary and waste of everyone's time - hence the missing star. Delicious food is delicious food, though, so I do officially recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal to celebrate with our family”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our son and his partner live in Palo Alto and chose the Flea Street Cafe for the first evening of our visit and it was outstanding! My main course of short ribs were beautifully flavoured and just melted in the mouth! The accompanying vegetables were also delicious as were the desserts - my son's Bourbon chocolate dessert was quite unique. The service was excellent and the wine list extensive. Would definitely return on our next visit, but one needs to plan ahead to get a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooreca53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a food aficionado”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It had been some time since I last ate at the Flea Street Cafe. Visited for dinner and here is my review. This restaurant focuses on creative, unusual if not unique, entrees made as much as possible from organic ingredients some of which are from the restaurant's garden. If you are looking for unusual, creative, excellent tasting entrees at the higher end of the price range, this is a great place to visit.

The menu is divided up into first, second and third courses. The first courses being smaller in size and the third courses are the largest. My companion and I had: the smoked heirloom tomato soup, the smoked trout, the heirloom tomato and peach salad, and a made-to-order vegan dish to meet the dietary requirements of my companion. Each entree was interesting, perfectly prepared, visually appealing, and great to taste and eat.

Highly recommended for the food aficionado looking for unique entrees well presented by excellent staff in a very pleasant setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creative, organic & sustainable”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Jessie Cool has created a great restaurant with an eye on sustainability, local sourcing, and great, mostly organic food. The menu is defined by what is in season so the creations are always a bit different each time you visit. If that is not enough, they always have an interesting wine list to top off a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flea Street Cafe also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 
Menlo Park, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Flea Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing