We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Special Treat”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We only stayed at Stanford Park one night. Wish we could have stayed a week. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large with a fireplace. The fireplace was very welcome because it was a chilly night. Great shower. The bed was very comfortable, as were the chairs with foot stools. The only meal we had was breakfast and it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    140
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
221
145
71
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stay at the Stanford Park Hotel almost every year during Thanksgiving weekend when we are in Palo Alto enjoying the holiday with family. The hotel is well located with close proximity to great restaurants, shopping and the Stanford University campus. It is a gracious property with many amenities -- complimentary wine at 5:00 p.m. and delicious cookies at 9:00 p.m.

The lobby area and bar are inviting. We enjoyed drinks by the fire after dinner. We didn't have a chance to eat at the Menlo Grill (the hotel restaurant) this time, but we hear it's very good. We did make time to use the fitness room, which is extremely pleasant. I am always amazed that many nice hotels have inadequate fitness centers, which is happlily not the case at the Stanford Park. The gym equipment appears to be new and well maintained, and the room has lots of windows.

As a general matter, I tend to prefer more contemporary boutique hotels but this property is so nice that its more traditional feel is very appealing and welcoming. The rooms are nice and spacious, and we slept very well (a key priority for me when I travel).

The staff is accommodating and professional from the bellman to the GM. John Bunting, the front desk manager, was extraordinarily helpful and responsive regarding a follow-up matter after our stay.

We look forward to our next visit back to the Stanford Park!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineKael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very expensive since all the bay area was book solid so I ended paying $700 us a night!! Room was comfortable and spacious. Shower broke and the fixed it promptly. Beds are good. Staff is nice. Internet acces is good. Breajfast could use a couple of healthy options. All the decor is vintage it kind of reminded me the movie The shinning... redrum :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank calvarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Calvarius,
Thank you for visiting the Stanford Park Hotel. We want to let you know we began our renovation project of all the guest rooms on Dec 13, 2013 with expected completion in March 2014. In addition to the guest rooms we have renovations planned for several of the public spaces as well. Our next projects will include the bar, lobby, lobby restrooms, reception and the most exciting will be the new fire pits in the garden courtyard. We hope you will visit us again and let us know how you like the new furnishings and design.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The second you pull up to the main entrance, your experience truly begins. From a very professional and cordial staff to the housekeepers and wait staff- everyone is there to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. We had a few specific requests at dinner....and they were met without a blink of an eye. After we left, we soon realized my son had left his swim trunks in the room. Before we knew it the item was getting ready to be shipped to our home in Boulder! You won't be disappointed and I am willing to bet you will be a repeat customer! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of the cookies and coffee at 9 pm in the lobby!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Stanford Park Hotel offered impeccable, friendly service; a wonderful location; luxurious rooms; and a wonderful restaurant and bar. I was impressed that every member of the staff from the manager to the bus boy was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Our visit was a joy from start to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Marilyn,

I look forward to sharing it your comments with our team because they are always pleased to learn that they have made a memorable impression. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Was forced to book a business trip to Palo Alto within 2 weeks and most hotels of this area were fully booked or really expensive.
This hotel has company conditions, has a great location, offers free car service in the afternoon/evening (with previous booking at reception), offers free wine tasting between 5 and 6pm, offers free LAN in the room and free WiFi all over in the hotel, a nice swimming pool and a 24h fitness studio. All in all, a great place to stay and I would return there if business takes me again to this area.
It has a great breakfast MENLO Grill bar which good choice but a very slow service. Speed of service needs improvement at the bar as well, since we waited 20min for 4 beers.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms on the 2nd floor might be a bit more noisier because overlooking on the main str...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very keen on environmental practices, in the rooms but in the whole management of the hotel. Congrats.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I visited Stanford University and I have spent one night at the Stanford Park Hotel. The building is really beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. Everything is top level, from the rooms to the service. The restaurant is also excellent.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing