We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Redoubt in the Valley near Stanford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Relaxing Redoubt in the Valley near Stanford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have stayed here 15 times in the past 5 years. The staff is always v nice, helpful and accommodating. My room is always v nice and comfortable. Recent upgrades are an improvement on what was previously acceptable. It is a joy to return to this, my home away from home, after visiting my daughter as an undergraduate and now as graduate student at the nearby university, or venturing as far away for day trips as Big Sur, the Monterrey Peninsula, the City of SF and the Napa/ Sonoma wine country.

Room Tip: I'll keep that to myself. All good. I have my preferences.
See more room tips
Green Features: Fine. The hotel's policies seem to accord with what one might expect in this time of climate change and drought.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Greetings Peter,
Thank you for your taking time to review our hotel and letting us know you like and appreciate the recent upgrades to our guestrooms. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest for these years and are happy you think of Stanford Park Hotel as your “home away from home.” My associates and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    130
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
199
138
68
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here when some alternate plans fell through; and am very glad I did. The decor is lovely, outdoor patios great, the room was very spacious and clean, and the staff very accommodating. I ate in the restaurant for breakfast, and it was also very good. There is ample free parking. I would highly recommend this, and I am picky.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksjones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear KSJones,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I am glad you were able to enjoy several features of the hotel while here and look forward to welcoming you back for a “planned” visit.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just a great hotel; cozy, classy, great food in the bar and restaurant, close to lots of Stanford campus venues and shopping center, and helpful staff. Nicely appointed rooms of a generous size with really comfy beds. Particularly fun on a weekend when Stanford is playing a home football game. We go to watch the tennis team too; if you like pro tennis, go to a Stanford match; some of these guys will turn pro, and their opponents (if they play UCLA, USC) certainly will!
The have free bikes to borrow too. Great for cruising on campus on a quiet weekend. Book early.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the pool are best. There are often private parties in the courtyard, so you...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscious of environment. Optional towel and linen change. Recycling done everywhere.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Greetings Leslie,

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel and the Menlo Grill Bistro & Bar. The new fire pits in the courtyard and dinner service on the patio have been a very popular addition so we are hosting small groups in the upper courtyard now. Please come by and let us know what you think. The Stanford Cardinal football season is just around the corner. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We've stayed in this hotel every year for the past 6 -7 years. Except for this year, we stay at least a week ,sometimes longer. It is comfortable, convenient and the restaurant is quite good. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located. There is no real concierge but the front desk tries to be as helpful as they can be. Our only real complaint is that even though we've been there many times before, they never seem to remember us--very unusual in this day and age with computerized systems. Even though it's not a member of an affiliates program, it would be nice to have some sign of gratitude for our loyalty, even if it's just a "welcome back" or some sort of symbolic amenity.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavrikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deer park
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a small mix-up upon check-in but Brandy made everything right - Thank you Brandy. Beautiful Hotel. Great Bed. We borrowed the bikes to ride all over the Stanford campus. The hotel has all sorts of areas to relax in. Really Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Greeting Deer Park Traveler,

It is so great that you enjoyed your stay and had opportunity to experience the relaxing ambiance of the hotel and our bicycle rental program. It is a fun way to see the area, enjoy the spectacular weather and then come back to put your feet up for a well deserved rest!

I also appreciate for your nice comments regarding Brandy. We will be sure to congratulate and acknowledge her for excellent service.

Thank you,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed two nights. Requested courtyard room because had read reviews regarding train noise. Informed at check-in that we were in quiet part of hotel. Second night wedding reception in courtyard with loud music until 10+pm was opportunity for complete service fail by front desk. Wedding reception entitled to make all the noise they like. Front desk should have ensured we were informed and made sure we had a peaceful room beforehand. Instead up to me to complain at 9-10+pm. In the end, we got a great room BUT shouldn't have had to ask. When the floor is shaking 3 floors up from the wedding music there is going to be a problem if you aren't invited to the wedding! Rest of staff wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed two nights last week, and left wishing it could have been a much longer visit. The property and staff exceeded all expectations. All amenities are 'first cabin' and all staff have the perfect balance of friendliness, courtesy and professionalism, not often experienced these days. For visiting family in Menlo, it was the perfect location. The various thoughtful touches, already mentioned in previous reviews, were not unexpected in a property of this high category, but were nonetheless amazing and greatly appreciated. We were on the ground floor facing the pool and heard little noise. Both the pool area and the courtyard are great spaces for relaxing and reading newspapers or devices. The cuisine is outstanding, and we had drinks at a great table in the bar with a family member and ended up staying a couple of hours, indulging in various appetizers and then entrees, with Dave taking great care of us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Every Continent,

It is so gratifying for all of us here to read a review like this about our hotel and staff. Everyone here feels a great deal of pride about the beautiful place we work and it is truly our guests that inspire each of us to provide the best service we can offer. I will share your great comments with Dave and his colleagues so we may all recognize him for his service to you.

Many thanks for your great review. Please be sure to visit us again soon.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing