We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Riviera
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here because we needed to be near Stanford University Medical Center. If that's why you're here then this motel is a reasonable choice. If not, you can do better. This place is right by the main road so it's noisy. Parking is tight and hard to maneuver. It generally has a worn out ambience and indeed was undergoing partial reconstruction while we were there. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hello Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. We are sorry that the road noise negatively affected your stay and that you were unhappy with the parking situation. As you noted we are currently in the midst of a renovation for our guest rooms. We are looking forward to offering our guests newly decorated and refreshed rooms that are comfortable and enjoyable, along with extended breakfast seating and offerings.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Best Western Riviera was a pleasant stay for a visit to Stanford. We enjoyed the proximity to the Stanford shopping center, also to visit the University the next day. It is quaint and surrounded by trees,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank olmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello olmare,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you are in the area. Drop by after we've completed our renovations, we'd love to have you stay with us and experience our newly refreshed rooms and expanded breakfast offerings.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A really nice small hotel next to the Stanford Shopping Center. Being a local to Menlo Park I know how to get around and this hotel is in a very good location for traveling around the West Bay. It is almost perfect for our needs. it has free WIFI a big up for our family. It also has free breakfast a big plus. The rooms are modern and nice with Cable TV and a big bathroom. The price was very cheap which was good. This hotel is a much better alternative to the Sheraton across and down the street. The noise and the selection of the breakfast are the only downfalls of this hotel but don't let that stop you! The Sheraton is outclassed in almost every way by this small hotel.

Room Tip: Behind the main office it is quieter so you are a little impervious to El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello Jacob B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the rest of the Trip Advisor community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area. We are currently remodeling our rooms and would love for you to come back out and experience our refreshed rooms and expanded breakfast experience!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very charming hotel, almost hidden, although right on El Camino Real. It has a very "charming" elevator. Walking distance to Stanford Shopping Center with plenty of stores and fabulous restaurants. (We ate at Flemings Steakhouse). Within 5 minutes of the University and the Stanford Hospitals & Clinics. Room was small but very comfortable. Covered and secluded parking under the 1st floor; open to outside atrium with small table and chair on an extended balcony outside each room is a nice touch. Only detriment is it is on El Camino, a busy main street so noise at times was high, but not intolerable. Overall a great value and experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JandEMinden_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello JandEMinden_Nevada,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience at our hotel! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come by and visit us again after our remodel, which is currently taking place. We look forward to offering a refreshed and contemporary room experience and will also be expanding our breakfast space as well. The first of our remodeled rooms reopen in mid-September. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stay at this property because it is within walking distance of a relative. We really do not consider any other places simply due to location. That being said, our experience is mostly positive; the rooms are average size with updated furnishings, clean & comfortable as expected. The staff is helpful and courteous. The breakfast is continental. Parking is included. There are a couple of downsides however; as noted elsewhere, it is pricy for what you get but you have to consider the location. You are within walking distance of Stanford Univ. and the Stanford shopping center; Silicon Valley is south, SF is north. Palo Alto and Menlo Park zip codes probably have the highest real estate values in the nation. We paid around $300/nite weekdays; it would have been lower on weekends during this summer holiday period. Then there is the noise; this hotel is sandwiched by the busy Cal-Train commuter line and the 4-lane El Camino Blvd. You are going to hear them both at some time during your stay. So you would probably not choose this place unless you have a compelling reason to be nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hello DavidNolanCook,

Thanks for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our hotel was a convenient fit for you. Unfortunately, we are a bit susceptible to noise from El Camino Real and the Cal Train as you mentioned but we do offer ear plugs at the desk for guests who are sensitive to noise. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have you stay with us again the next tom you are in the Menlo Park/ Stanford area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I travel a lot for work. This hotel by far is the worst I've stayed in. It's dirty and smelly. The carpet is terribly stained. It's very dated. The room is poorly laid out. The bathroom is just old and dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firecrackerleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hello Firecrackerleo,

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please know that I have addressed the issues you mentioned in your review to my team and we have worked to resolve them. We are also planning a complete bathroom renovation on all of our rooms beginning in August. We pride ourselves in providing superior customer service and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide it to you.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel is nice, clean, with a kind staff. Some rooms have a charming table in the front balconet. A true breakfast is included, and you can have it on the reception or take away to the room or balconet. Unfortunately I didn't got time to enjoy the swimming pool, that looks refreshing and amazing. It is at walking distance from Stanford Shopping Center, Downtown Palo Alto and Menlo Park, so if you plan to visit the Stanford University or somewhere else in Palo alto, that's a valuable hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hello Brazilian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you're in the Menlo Park area. Maybe next time you'll have some time to swim in our refreshing pool or unwind in our spa!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 10 in Menlo Park
225 reviews
0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 10 in Menlo Park
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
784 reviews
1 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Riviera

Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range: £92 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing