We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, expensive noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Riviera
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This motel is pleasant looking and has a great location near the campus but is very noisy and expensive. The staff are concerned and helpful, the breakfast mainly pre-packaged and with few healthy choices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pro: My favorite place to stay (having stayed at 4 other hotel/motels in the area)--many hotels in the area will charge extra for wifi and/or parking, so be careful to read the fine print.
Con: the heating unit is tucked away under the sink in the bathroom and did not efficiently heat the rest of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usatouae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Best Western Riviera is convenient to Stanford, located just two blocks from the Stanford Shopping Center. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. My room had recently been remodeled (apparently remodeling is continuing). It was clean and comfortable, with microwave, refrigerator, TV, and Internet, but it was not huge. The self-serve breakfast had a good selection of food, plus TV and newspaper available. Since it is located right on busy El Camino Real, there is some traffic noise. I barely noticed it, but those who are light sleepers or sensitive to noise might prefer a more isolated place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJTDJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The interior of this hotel is absolutely fantastic. I visited Berkeley and stayed in the nearby Holiday inn and then I visited Stanford and stayed in Best Western. Holiday inn costs twice as much and the interior feels just ok. But I super enjoyed my stay in Best Western. It is a bit smaller but it feels cozy. Bathroom design is especially outstanding. It feels very clean and bright in there. The only thing is that I wish the breakfast could have more options (I don't like those frozen burgers).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dingyi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Unfortunately there aren't many options quickly in Palo Alto that don't cost of fortune. This is what appears to be an old motel 8, and although cleaner than most motels, the sheets did not get changed when they should've, there was a hole in the sheets on one of the beds. The motel is close to the main road, so you hear road noise all night, but the by worst feature of the place is the horrific fluorescent lighting in the bathroom. I have a headache every morning from it and there is no alternative. This is not a place I would recommend, however, given the other options in the area, it might be the only choice at times. I'm doing my best to not stay here again. I'm also not a fan of a place that doesn't have a restaurant/lounge close by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 105Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, General Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello 105Jules,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Unfortunately we do have to deal with road noise due to our proximity to El Camino Real. We offer earplugs at the desk for our guests who are light sleepers, I apologize if this wasn't communicated to you. We will also take using less intense light bulbs in our vanity mirrors into consideration. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as these are newly renovated rooms and we'd like to hear what people think. Finally, we are within very close walking distance (2 blocks) of various restaurants and cafes and we do provide an in room menu for a food delivery service (from an outside vendor) in light of not having a restaurant on site. I will review, with our front desk staff, how we share and communicate that info to our guests in the future. Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Convenient location. 5 minutes walk to a Mall. Close to Stanford. We went for food in the mall at night. The room is clean and new. There is a pool which looks nice but we did not have time to enjoy. People are frendly. Parking available for free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, General Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello Jie Li,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you enjoyed your newly renovated room. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you visit the Stanford area. We'll be sure to keep the pool ready for you to enjoy on your next trip!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Door was not properly sealed allowing much street noise. Also one of the secondary staff dropped paper coffee cups on the floor, then put them in the storage cabinet to be used later. The staff was very helpful and professional, was just the noise issue and the food handling person who were the problems.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marktP9048FV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, General Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with us. I apologize for the street noise issue, please know that the problem with the door was addressed right away by the maintenance staff after having been notified. I have also revised the training policy with our breakfast attendant to ensure we are maintaining sanitary conditions in our breakfast area. Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. We hope to have you stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
931 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 10 in Menlo Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Riviera

Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range: £109 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing