We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The devil's in the details!”
Review of Dutch Goose

Dutch Goose
Ranked #15 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The devil's in the details!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Let's face it, food is average, but perfect atmosphere for a local watering hole! A place where us old-timers born in the 60s still can play pool and Galaga. Known for their spicy deviled eggs, which are well worth tasting - yum!

Helpful?
Thank Catc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    50
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnico, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If you want a burgher that's the place”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Typical American Bar (European point of view) where you can go to see a Basket/Am Football/ Baseball / etc with friend and you can taste a delicious Burgher (I suggest the California one) and a good beer.

Is not a restaurant d'elite off course but probably I will come back soon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano Attilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Odd Duck”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It's like Silicon Valley's rendition of a dive bar for soccer moms, and I don't mean that as a slam or anything. The inside is surprisingly well kept and well lit. The crowd is eclectic and low key. I like it, even if I do always feel tempted to rip the Google Glasses off of some people there.

The prices are a little bit on the high side, but everything I've tried has been high quality and delicious. I'd even go so far as to describe the brisket selections as good values because of the mounds of meat that you get. The hamburgers...not so much a good value, in my opinion, but hey they're pretty good. I don't know if the fries are worth the upcharge for the upgrade from the standard chips. At that point, might as well just get a basket of fries and have both.

It's not the cheapest option, but if you get sticker shock, just go outside and check out the gas prices at the Chevron kitty corner to the Goose. That'll make you feel lots better about the $9 you just dropped on a burger.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer and burger”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The Dutch goose is a fairly average beer and burger place. Free peanuts for happy hour and peanut shells on the floor. In the summer, the tiny open area in the back is great. Patrons are a mix of the Silicon Valley crowd and stanford students.

Helpful?
Thank appenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy, crazy but still fun”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Dutch Goose is one of the few remaining "neighborhood" burger joints remaining in the area. Feeding hundreds or so a night on hamburgers, cheeseburgers and (more recently) turkey burgers and salads, this institution truly packs 'em in during Stanford games and little league and soccer seasons. The food is OK and not outrageously priced, though they load up their burgers with so much you can barely distinguish the presence of meat, in my opinion. A major, life-changing event occurred a few years ago when they spruced up the interior (a little) and added French fries in lieu of tiny packets of potato chips. The fries are good, too. My personal recommendation for seating if you're a party of just one or two) is just inside the front door. You have the best view of the sports channels that are always on and you can also see first-hand a top short order cook at work--a remarkable feat that incorporates keeping 20-30 separate plates a-spinning. The "Goose" now has a full bar on the back deck, in all kinds of weather. I've sat next to celebrities, watched chugging contests, observed baseball and soccer kids get awards--it's an ever-changing confusion of a restaurant, but somehow, about 9-10 times a year, I find myself going there. They sell steamed clams as well as burgers, but I have yet to put my mark on those. And in fairness, they've added a lot to the menu that not surprisingly is directed right at soccer dads and moms.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BFrymire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutch Goose also viewed

 
Menlo Park, CA
 

Been to Dutch Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing