We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice manager, older ammenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Merced
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice manager, older ammenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The manager, Manny, is extremely kind and the motel is cheap--50/night--and on the way to Yosemite. I assume that is why most people stay there. The room, though clean, did have an outdated bathroom, oldish towels, and a loud air conditioner. However, the pool was relaxing. The ice machine was out of order at the time. After a long day doing Yosemite the Sandpiper was fine. There is little on the motel strip except motels and a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you so much for leaving us a great review and sorry for late reply back to your review/feedback about our hotel. yes, Manny is excellent worker and asset for our management as a front desk and customer relationship. Hope to see you soon in the future. thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    40
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
52
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

$303. for 4 nites is not a savings for the service you get. Towels are rough thin and stained. My room was cleaned once in 4 days. Ice machine was out of service and when I asked for ice I got enough for one glass. Absoutely no privacy the "family" watches everything you do. I drained my ice chest in the parking lot and one worker screamed at me that I could not do that. I asked him why and he said "cause I said no". I asked him if he spoke english and he said yes so I aked him to tell me why and he said the same thing. The frontdesk person was friendly but thats as far as it goes. Theyre pet friendly at a price $10. per day per pet. Air conditioning barely works. We had top floor and the guests in the room under us complained that when we walked they could hear us in their room Do yourself a favor and shop around. There is alot of motels on Motel Drive.

Room Tip: old and smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oceangoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at sandpiper lodge merced. Also, sorry for late reply to your feedback due to changes in our management. We will try to make everything better by giving our employees a training regarding customer satisfaction and needs. However, we recently been working on upgrading our amenities and trying to improve towards our property. we really sorry that you trouble with us during your last stay with old management. Once again, sorry for your having a bad experience with your stay during your last stay with old management. We will definetly work on make things better for our future customers and try to accomodate their needs and make their stay comfortable. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merced hotels

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is clean. There are no frills, but what do you expect for less than $50. a night?
There is no shampoo provided and there is no blow dryer in the room. Thankfully it was warm that morning, so I let my hair air dry. The bath towels are the size of postage stamps and paper thin. The bathroom needed upgrading. The manager was very accommodating, making sure our needs were met. Again the place was clean and met our needs.

Bottom line, when I travel through Merced again on business we will likely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank You so much for great review and spending night with us at Sandpiper Lodge - Merced. I want to say sorry for reply late your review due to change in managements. however, now we have shampoo, soap, and better quality of towels in all the rooms. After new management took over we are trying to make it better for our customers such as, we have recently updated our internet connection with wired and wireless and started small complimentary breakfast for our customers. Our next step towards improving our hotel or some rooms with hair dryer, coffee makers, and iron with ironing boards. Once again thank you so much for leaving us a great review and sorry for late reply back to your review. We highly appericiate your time and effort that you put towards us. We will try to make it better for all our guest and make their stay comfortable and accomodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing