We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We got all we wanted with that reasonable price so what else can i say. The room was very clean and people was very helpful and nice. Sure will pick it again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Thank you so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. We glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and everything was perfect to you including price to quality ratio. We hope to see you soon in the future and hope your trip to Merced was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here on our way to Yosemite and enjoyed ourselves, the room and pool were super clean (priceless to me!) the room was comfortable and the staff were super nice and helpful. And all of this for a really reasonable price. We will be staying at sandpiper lodge anytime we come through the area!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Thank You so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. We glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and it was comfortable/memorable for you. Customer service is one of our main goal and strongest point at Sandpiper Lodge and we appreciate that you took your valuable time towards us by sharing your opinion. Hope to see you soon in the future and please call us whenever you would like to stay with us in the future. Once again, thank you and hope you had great time at Yosemite National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Manny was extremely friendly. He manages the front desk and works very hard to accommodate your wishes. The price was fair. Place was very clean and far enough off the highway which lessened the noise on the highway nearby.

Margie

Room Tip: Rooms in the center seem further off the road
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263maggie263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you so much for leaving us a great review. We highly appreciate your time and effort that you took time to write us a review/feedback. Our goal is to satisfy each and every customer in any manner that possible for us to help them and make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are trying our best to maintain quality vs. price ratio very carefully so customer can be satisfy. We hope that we will see you soon during your next trip Yosemite National Park. Once again, Thank you for leaving us a great feedback !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I went to go visit my cousin at UC Merced and decided to try this place out.

I don't typically do yelp, but I was extremely satisfied with everything here. i might as well give it a shot.

The place is great! When it comes to hotels, all the small things count. From cable to the toilet paper! A nice little breakfast on the go, and a great pool for a nice exercise. Stayed for 3 days/2 nights and I was pleased of how the hotel handled their business. Thumbs up sandpiper!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank You so much Mr. Jerome V leaving us a excellent review. Sorry in delay for replying back to your review/feedback. We highly appreciate your time, effort, and business. Thank You so much for giving us and our management a thumbs up for everything. We hope to seen you soon in the future when you come visit your cousin at UC merced. We hope that spend your quality time with us again in the future. Thank You so much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Room was incredibly hot, even it was really cold outside in these september days. I tried to use the AC, but it was louder than in an airplane. A railroad is not far away and you hear it. At 4am, after many sleepless hours, i spoke with the indian guy with her mother at the front desk and wanted to know why the room was so hot and the AC so loud. With barely understandable english, they tried to thow me out at 4am in the morning after my complaints. I stayed nevertheless, without sleep. Before i leave, i found blood stains on the ceiling and towel was dirty. Never ever again with this crappy motel!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank handspring3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperLodge, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

First of all, weather is hot in this area through out the whole day and on top of that if you turn on heater instaed of AC, its going to be very hot. Second, there is no blood stains on the celling, it's a paint. In addition, as far as i concern about not able to sleep in room, we offered customer a options of changing rooms; but did not wanted to change room, or manager checking the problem with AC (did not wanted us to come inside the room). Both of the options for us helping them out and making their stay comfortable were decling by customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The manager, Manny, is extremely kind and the motel is cheap--50/night--and on the way to Yosemite. I assume that is why most people stay there. The room, though clean, did have an outdated bathroom, oldish towels, and a loud air conditioner. However, the pool was relaxing. The ice machine was out of order at the time. After a long day doing Yosemite the Sandpiper was fine. There is little on the motel strip except motels and a restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you so much for leaving us a great review and sorry for late reply back to your review/feedback about our hotel. yes, Manny is excellent worker and asset for our management as a front desk and customer relationship. Hope to see you soon in the future. thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

$303. for 4 nites is not a savings for the service you get. Towels are rough thin and stained. My room was cleaned once in 4 days. Ice machine was out of service and when I asked for ice I got enough for one glass. Absoutely no privacy the "family" watches everything you do. I drained my ice chest in the parking lot and one worker screamed at me that I could not do that. I asked him why and he said "cause I said no". I asked him if he spoke english and he said yes so I aked him to tell me why and he said the same thing. The frontdesk person was friendly but thats as far as it goes. Theyre pet friendly at a price $10. per day per pet. Air conditioning barely works. We had top floor and the guests in the room under us complained that when we walked they could hear us in their room Do yourself a favor and shop around. There is alot of motels on Motel Drive.

Room Tip: old and smelly
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oceangoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at sandpiper lodge merced. Also, sorry for late reply to your feedback due to changes in our management. We will try to make everything better by giving our employees a training regarding customer satisfaction and needs. However, we recently been working on upgrading our amenities and trying to improve towards our property. we really sorry that you trouble with us during your last stay with old management. Once again, sorry for your having a bad experience with your stay during your last stay with old management. We will definetly work on make things better for our future customers and try to accomodate their needs and make their stay comfortable. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: £47 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing