We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, quality of service and kindness”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The motel is well maintained and clean. The service is perfect.
The refrigerator and microwave in the room are very practical.

The motel is close to businesses and to restaurants of Merced.
The park of Yosemite is at 1:30 am of road.

Practice to visit Yosemite for low budgets

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pinocchio_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! We appreciate your business and look forward of seeing you again if you are visiting Yosemite National park in near future. Once again, thank you for staying with us and completting online survey. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed a the rodeway inn for a few days for work. On the outside it looks very clean but upon entering the room you can see the place is in need of a remodel the beds are old woke up constantly from the poor quality of the mattress and the bathroom had cracked tiles a broken window and a shower that didn't drain. If the owners would just put some money into the place it would be decent

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D36rmrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We appreciate your business and once again thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Well maintained older property. easy access to Ca.99. Made reservation at Sandpiper lodge, named changed to Rodeway Inn by arrival. Nice curb appeal, clean room,easy check in, and cheap rate. Good one night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for leaving us your opinion on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked it here, eventhough it is older property and easy access from CA 99 or CA 140. In addition. I am glad to hear that our staff member made check in and check out process easier and faster for you. However, we are sorry about you did not receive an email about name change of business. Hope you have great stay in your furthur trip and hope to see you soon in near future if you are coming by Merced or visiting Yosemite National Park in future. Once again, thank you for leaving us your opinion and we appreciate your business. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A mom n' pop indie that recently joined Rodeway. Small but sparkling clean pool, VERY clean rooms, all for around $50. Downtown is about one mile away. The family running the place was quiet, non-intrusive, friendly but not gushing. Great free coffee in the office in the morning. Unusually fast and reliable wifi for a motel of this class. My only warning is that, if you're very sensitive to noise, you might need to ask for a room on the 1st floor in the back. The place faces SR 99 and the main BNSF line. Hope you love the sound of trains! I do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gimmeshelter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank You for leaving us your opinion on your recent stay with us. Yes, we did a recent name change of business to Rodeway Inn. In addition, we are located near interesection of CA 99 & CA 140 in Merced. Moreover, thank you for mentioning that our staff members were friedly and glad to hear that you enjoyed our morning coffee. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon in near future. We appreciate your business. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I did a 10 day road trip thru CA and NV. We decided to visit Yosemite Natl Park. The lodgings in the immediate Yosemite area were quite expensive, so we looked for rooms out of the area. We used Booking.com and found the Rodeway Inn in Merced, CA. After a long day of driving, we were tried. We knew we were not getting a 5* hotel at the price we recd, but we expected a little bit more than what we got. When we arrived at Rodeway, the 1st rm we were given was old, hot and stuffy. They turn the AC off when the rm is not occupied. When the AC was turned on it was loud and did not blow much air. There was no bath tub (only a small dingy shower), ironing board or coffee maker. We have found these things to be standard in most hotel rms regardless of cost. When the rm did not cool off, we requested another one. The next rm was better. It at least got cool quick and had a bath tub. The bedding and towels were rough. The continental brft was a joke. It consisted of packaged pastry, instant oatmeal, cereal, juice and coffee. It was set up on a counter in the office. We walked in laughed and walked out. Now we know why the Roadway Inn was not listed in the lodging section of the Merced visitor info. If you choose to stay in Merced pay a little more and stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here spend as little time in the room as possible. Ask about the amenities in...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DivaNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and mentioning that our price is resonable. We are sorry to hear that first room that you were given was old, stuffy, and old. Most of our rooms are identical if its in same category or room type. As far as room being hot, weather is very hot here since early morning so room stays hot, eventhough we try turning ac's on in the room who has made reservations ahead of time not counting last minute reservation. However, i do agree with you that we are not 5* hotel or have ironing board or coffee makers in the room; however, we are in process of bringing coffee makers in few selected categories room. In addition, our breakfast is just to start of morning with something rather than having nothing. Moreover, the reason we are not listed with Merced visitor info because we just did recent name change of hotel so they do not have new brouchers and fliers for hotel. Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we hope that you will give us one more chance to improve ourself. We look forward of seeing you in near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This motel was really comfortable. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, guaranteeing me a good night's sleep. I have to compliment the manager, who was very welcoming and chatty, and gave us plenty of recommendations for places to eat.
Although there is little to do in Merced itself, all in all, this is a good stop-off point between Yosemite and San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank You for leaving us your opinion/review. We appreciate your time. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, and spacious. In addition, glad to hear that our management was very helpful and provide you right directions for food and what to do around. We do carry few restaurents vouchers and special deals which benefits our guests. Once again, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving us your opinion. We appreciate your business. We look forward of seeing you again in near future if you decide to make a trip towards Yosemite National Park or in Merced. We hope that we will be your first choice ! Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Patricia W
The place was peaceful, quiet and clean. the manager Manny was a very good host. He accommodated us the best he could. When it got very hot he cooled our room with air condition and a fan. He gave us tips about places to eat and how to get around town. We stayed at this hotel for Yosemite and he gave us maps, hints and answered all our questions. Price was great and surprisingly the noise from the freeway didn't affect us.

Will stay there again and would recommend this place. Breakfast wasn't big but it was just right to start your day.

Room Tip: We got a room with 3 beds for my husband and my three kids for 2 nights. This room was over the offi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for leaving us your opinion regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and place was peaceful, quiet, and clean. I am glad to hear that my tips were helpful to you at the park and around in merced for food and attractions. Thank You for recommending us to others. We look forward seeing you soon when you are in Merced next time. We appreciate your business. Thank You for taking some time towards leaving us a review/opinion. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing