We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to Yosemite”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Mineola, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation to Yosemite”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was OLD, but very well appointed. The manager couldn't have been more accommodating. Great showerhead. We were there for 3 days and it was very enjoyable. We would stay there again, for sure. The pool was really nice, too, with an 8' depth. Room was very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank speightsbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    42
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
34
52
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting Merced and Yosemite. The drive to Yosemite was almost a 2 hour drive, but different driving routes made the distance acceptable. The room at Rodeway Inn was clean, but the AC was very noisy. The microwave plate was missing and the towels had black areas although they were changed. The road was noisy and the trains passing regularly but we had no trouble sleeping due to this. The breakfast was very minimal.
Wifi was absolut fantastic and the manager was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. Sorry for the inconvience that you had during your stay. It will be something that we can bring it to our house keeping person. If you would have brought it to our attention right away, our staff would have helped you right away. However, i am glad that they changed it for you next day. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for business and to visit Yosemite. Room could do with an update - old CRT tv, buildup on shower screen, floor boards squeak, freezer doesn't work and microwave plate doesn't fit properly so it doesn't turn when microwaving. But it was reasonably clean - although the "clean" towels had black stains on them - these were changed by housekeeping the next day. Yes the road is noisy and the air conditioning is loud but it was bearable and we had no trouble sleeping. Wifi was fantastic. Breakfast is fairly minimal but on par with other budget accommodation. Parking is ample and Manny very friendly and helpful!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in April for two night while visiting Yosemite with the YARTS D4500CT. The hotel was run-down and in terrible condition. The room was smelly no matter how I tried to air it out. The restroom was beat up and heavily damaged. For example, the shower module could not close fully. Also, the sink and walls were cracked and discolored. In an attempt to air out the room, I opened the windows fully but then I could not fall asleep because of California 99's high noise level right outside. I would most definitely not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Yes, we are located next to highway 99 and near railroad tracks as many more hotels in Merced. We are sorry to hear that your room was little smelly; however, we do have air freshener at the front desk if you need it or we could have change you a room if you would have brought to our attention upon your stay. we are sorry that it was unsatisfactory to you. Once again, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were worried according to some negative comments here. However, when we got there, we stayed in Double room with two double beds. We are stunned with a nice and very clean room. With the price that we got, we slept in a spacious and clean room. The only thing that pissed us off was the fact that there was a gathering of Harley motorcyclists on the day that we stayed for one night. For those who consider to continue a trip to Yosemite, and drive from Sequoia and King Canyon National Park, this place is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: we stayed in room#111. Very new and clean room condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somrat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was spacious and clean with reasonable price. We are truly sorry that bikers bike were little noisy at night time. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Republic, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

While in San Francisco, we decided to go to Yosemite. Too far to drive there, explore, then drive back in one day. Rodeway Inn in Merced was reasonably priced and about an hour and a half from Yosemite's south entrance. Rodeway Inn's staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Close to the main highways, but we weren't bothered by any traffic noise or noise from other rooms. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you, room was clean and comfortable for you. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here after visiting Yosemite before driving to San Francisco as it is perfectly positioned between the two.

Upon arrival the staff on the front desk were very helpful and provided us information on places to eat in the area. We were also given a room to the back with less road noise which was good as it was quite loud at the front due to the close proximity to the highway, although this is not uncommon for motels and wouldn't have been a problem for us.

Our room was clean but somewhat dated and the ceiling sagging in places, there was also a rather unsavoury smell but not overpowering. With the window open it soon abated so we didn't request a room change although I'm sure that would have been accommodated if we had.

For the price it is certainly on the nicer end of the scale so if you are on a budget then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear-facing room for less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that our staff was very helpful to you by providing near by restaurents information. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Have a great trip ahead. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing