We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great service”
Review of Motel 6 Merced

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Merced
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
1 review
“Large rooms, great service”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very nice, quite clean motel we stayed here while our house was being remodeled. Front desk clerk Ronelle was very prompt at check in, and very friendly. Housekeeping was great Karen did a great job cleaning our room for the two days we were there. Had no issues will stay again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We're glad your stay was a pleasant one. We do work hard to see that each and very guest is satisfied with their stay. This is their "home away from home" for a night, and we want our guests to feel comfortable and safe.
At the same time, we get reviews from past guests that were dissatisfied with their stay. Those reviews alert us to what can be better; what we need to work on to make sure our guests are happy.
If you're ever in our area again, we hope you'll choose us as your "stopover" for the night. And we hope you'll recommend us to any friends or family member as they head our way
Thanks again for your review
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    26
    19
    21
See reviews for
30
40
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

There was gunk on sink counter that I had to remove just so I wouldn't see it every time I use the sink. Otherwise, room was okay. Door security okay. Hallway leading to bedroom clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Probably will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omiyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review. Reviews, both good and bad, help us to identify things we do well, and things we need to work on to make each guest's stay a pleasant one. That includes guest service, housekeeping, and maintenance. A guest should be treated with respect upon arrival. The rented room should be completely neat and clean. All items must be in absolute working order.
We are sorry for all of the issues you had during your stay. We can do better.
If you're ever in the area again, please consider us for your lodging. We'll show you that our staff strives to be the best, and guest satisfaction is our number 1 priority.
Thank you
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here for bussiness trip had a good stay staff was very friendly Willam the manager was very helpful and housekeeping staff Mallery and Vicky kept my room clean for me during my stay bedding was fresh and crisp good wifi connection room was clean staff was friendly no complaints

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4msmaryjane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you very much for review. We're glad your stay was pleasant. As a staff, we strive for quality. That includes exceptional guest service, clean rooms, and items in safe, working order We want to make each and every guest comfortable while with us. Guests should also feel safe and secure while they are on our grounds.
If you ever return to the Merced area, we hope you will choose to lodge with us again. We would be very happy to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have to stay here for a work project or I never would think about this place. Last room problems: bathroom sink sprayed onto you while running the water, toliet would not flush without holding handle down, smelled bad in room, bad smell in hallway like sewage, a/c temp off 6 degrees, bed needs to be replaced. No place to plug a phone into charge. Why is this,who does that to someone.

Plus features, wi fi good from Starbucks next door and De Angelo's a good place to eat across street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here and you will be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xfil911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We're genuinely sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Obviously, it doesn't feel good to hear or read negative comments, However, they do help us identify the things that could be better in the future.
Our standards are high here at Motel 6, and we all work together to make sure they are at least met, if not exceeded. Guest service must be excellent. Rooms need to be clean, and all items in the rooms should be in working order at all times.
Again, we're sorry about your experience with us. Please understand that we are taking your comments very seriously. If you give us another chance, you'll see that we are dedicated to making sure our guests have a positive experience while staying with us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We recently experienced an amazing road trip through the southern states. Our favourite placed to stay was Motel 6, in Merced California. When I arrived at the front desk and introduced myself as a senior, Bill, the desk clerk asked me to prove it with ID! That hooked me and we hada very pleasant and happy conversation. He answered all of our needs - main floor, close to smoking area, etc very helpfully. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are as nice as any hotel I have been in, much to the surprise of my partner. We were only in the area for 1 night, but for such great accommodations at such a reasonable price, would have gladly stayed longer! Thanks Bill for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thanks very much for your positive response. It's always great to hear that one of our past guests had a pleasant stay while they were here with us. We strive to make all our guests feel comfortable and safe. A good review tells our entire staff/team that we're doing our jobs. We look forward to serving your hospitality needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

After reading the Motel 6 reviews in Modesto, we elected to continue to Merced. It was a clean pleasant motel and Ronelle went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. When I expressed concern about security of my car, she told me where to park that was in view of the front desk. Gave me directions to local resteraunts with recommendations. I would definitely stop again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Every time we hear from a guest, it helps us to see the kinds of things we're doing well and areas we could be better in. Maybe our rooms need to be cleaner? Maybe our guest service was very helpful? As a staff, our first priority is quality. We want to make sure that each and every guest feels comfortable and safe while they're with us.
Thanks again for your thoughts. We're glad we could help to make your experience a good one.
We hope that if you're ever in our area again, you'll choose to stay with us. We'd love to have you.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.5 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.5 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced

Property: Motel 6 Merced
Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5348
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing