We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy but Too Far Away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Merced

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Merced
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfy but Too Far Away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not being familiar with the area, I booked 3 nights here for a trip to Yosemite. We drove 2 hours each way to go to the Park each day. My fault. The motel was fine and met all our needs. Even tho it was in a high-traffic area it was not noisy. A Costco was less than a block away and was great for getting gas and other supplies. I had my Chihuahua with me and the motel is great for traveling with pets, very 'pet friendly' and no extra charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We're glad your stay was a pleasant one. We do work hard to see that each and very guest is satisfied with their stay. This is their "home away from home" for a night, and we want our guests to feel comfortable and safe.
At the same time, we get reviews from past guests that were dissatisfied with their stay. Those reviews alert us to what can be better; what we need to work on to make sure our guests are happy.
If you're ever in our area again, we hope you'll choose us as your "stopover" for the night. And we hope you'll recommend us to any friends or family member as they head our way
Thanks again for your review
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    26
    18
    16
See reviews for
29
36
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this Motel 6 for one night in August in order to accommodate a quick trip to Yosemite (approximately 1 hours and 45 minutes away from the park - be warned!). What a pleasant surprise. We were looking for something inexpensive - we payed $50 for the night - but also ended up with a spacious room, a nice pool, friendly and helpful staff members. Unfortunately I had had unfair preconceived notions in mind before staying at the Motel 6, but I can now honestly say that because of this very positive experience, I would consider this hotel chain again. As mentioned, Yosemite is a bit far, but if you want to save money on lodging and don't mind the (beautiful) drive, I would definitely recommend this Motel 6 as a viable option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KOuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad your stay with us was a good one! As a staff, we strive to see that each and every guest feels "at home" during their stay. We take these reviews very seriously. Good or bad, they help us identify things we do well, and things we could do better. Whether it be guest service, housekeeping, or groundskeeping.
Thank you again for your choosing as your "home". We hope you'll choose us again if your ever in our area. We'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

For the ridiculously cheap price i paid for three nights just last July, this Motel 6 was outstanding value. Yes, its a basic room, but all i needed was a basic room as i spent every day out at Yosemite. Its a long drive but Yosemite and surrounding hotels and motels were full. This motel was just a street away from the highway to Yosemite. My room had a decent TV, two queen beds and a small table. The linoleum floor kind of adds to the sparse feeling of the room, (which had a great air con) but its kind of comforting to be able to see how clean the floor is. It can not possibly hide any dirt or bugs. Yes, the decor is minimal but it was fine. My bed was also very comfortable and housekeeping did a great job every day. The reception staff were wonderful and very professional; always friendly and helpful. The bath towels were on the small side and rather thin, but again, for the price, i can not complain. They did the job. I wouldnt mind slightly better quality soap but you could always bring your own. You would also need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner, which was not easy to find at the nearby gas station, which only had shampoo. The outdoor pool was really clean too. Its small but perfect for cooling off. Motel 6's can be a bit hit or miss but this one is a winner. I felt very safe and comfortable here and very pleased with the money I saved. Thanks, guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AUStoWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks so much for review!. We're glad to know that your stay with us was a good one!. As a staff, we take these reviews very seriously. Good or bad, they inform us of things we do well and things we could improve on in the future. Whether it be hospitality, housekeeping, or groundskeeping.
Our goal is to see that each and every guest feels secure, and has a pleasant stay while with us. We want you to feel "at home".
Thanks again for choosing us. If you're ever in our area again, we invite you to return as a guest! We.d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stop on a roadtrip after visiting Yosemite on the way to Napa. Quite an ordinary town with lots of accommodation and food options. We chose motel6 as we had stayed in one the night before. Rooms were clean with nice beds, quite a funky design and were very spacious. Pool outside was nice. Front desk staff were pleasant. Other hotel guests were an interesting mix but remained quiet during the night so we had a good night's sleep here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad your experience with us was a pleasant one. As a staff, we value each and every review we receive. They help us identify things we do well and things that maybe we could be doing better. Whether it be guest service, housekeeping, or maintenance issues.
Thank you again for your review. If your ever in our area again sometime, we hope that you will choose us again. We'd love to have you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We come down to Dos Palos often to visit relatives n usually search for place to stay. I know we will b returning to this motel6 it was great. I appreciate the service we received from Ronelle I really felt like I was at the holiday inn or something. She got me a room on the first floor because she seen I was having a hard time walking. I didn't have to ask. She also helped me with my wifi cause I couldn't get to work. I really felt at home, the room was basic it had a fridge n microwave I was surprised the room was clean the bed comfy. The place was packed but it was quiet if ur looking for a reasonable place to stay with friendly service from the staff this is it!!!I WILL BE COMING BACK HERE......

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dontenvyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Each one helps to identify things we're doing wellAs a staff, we strive to see that all our guests have a pleasant and safe experience while staying with us. That begins at time of check-in and continues until time of check-out. It includes guest service, housekeeping, and the maintenance of our property. Reviews help us to identify things we do well, and things we could be doing better.
If you're ever in our area again sometime, I hope that you will think of us for lodging needs. We'd love to have you.
Thanks again,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The staff member who checked us in was friendly and efficient. Our room was basic and comfortable--the beds were fine and we ended up with a room with a fridge. The motel seemed full, but it was a quiet, peaceful night. Of course there are fancier places to stay, but if you just need a place to lay your head, this place works.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay. As a staff, we value each and every review we receive. They help us to identify what we do well, and what we could do better. Whether it be guest service, housekeeping, or the maintenance of our property.
Again, thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us We hope that if you're ever in our area, you will choose to stay with us again. We'd love to have you.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a vacation with my wife, newly renovated rooms with minimal furniture but comfortable,bed linen is not too stretched and wrinkled, appeared already in use; if we had not found a bedspread with obvious dirt stains I recommend it to those who find themselves in the area

Room Tip: Let see the room and check the cleanliness of the sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savetta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We value each and every one we get, as it tells us the kinds of things we do well as a staff, and some other things that maybe we could do better. As a staff, we strive to make each and every guests' stay a pleasant and safe one. Of course, that includes exceptional service, and clean rooms/grounds.
We hope, if you're ever in the Merced are again, that you'll consider us as a place to lodge. We'd love to see you. It would be a pleasure to serve you. If you have any friends or family that will traveling us this way, please recommend us to them, also
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.5 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced

Property: Motel 6 Merced
Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5348
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing