We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had never stayed at a Hampton Inn before, but like to keep things in the Hilton or Starwood family. We wanted to find somewhere close to the entrance of Yosemite to break up our drive to the park, and since Starwood has no properties in the central valley, I looked into what Hilton family hotels there were and booked at the Hampton Inn.

We arrived late (around 11pm) and the front desk staff was still friendly and upbeat. With gold HHonors status, we were given a couple drinks and snacks of our choosing, and given the keys to our room. Once of the nice things about this hotel was that 24 hours prior, I was able to check-in and choose the exact room I wanted. I didn't utilize that and just took the predetermined room, which was an accessible room with a king bed, on the second floor.

Upon getting to the room, we immediately noticed how spacious the room was, and how clean it felt. While it was very utilitarian, there was a lot of space. The bathroom was clean and felt much like a hospital room bathroom, but had everything we needed. The shower had great pressure, and they stocked with neutrogena products.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of outlets on the nightstand for charging things. Wi-fi was included as well.

A nice bonus was that there was free breakfast in the morning. Expecting a continental breakfast, we were more than pleasantly surprised when there was actually hot breakfast items like bacon, waffles, and eggs. It was a good way to start the morning before heading into Yosemite.

Overall, we enjoyed our one night here. It was better than I had anticipated and would happily check out other Hampton Inns. While we won't be searching them out as we prefer some of the other property types in the Hilton portfolio, we won't shy away from booking here again if this is the only option.

Room Tip: Check in 24 hours in advanced to select your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We went to see a family friend play volleyball at UC Merced. Decided to spend the night in Merced. Room was very affordable, very clean and quiet. Can not beat the free breakfast. I had the scramble eggs,sausage and seasoned potatoes. The robust coffee was excellent!Will definately stay there next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our family had a great stay at this Hampton Inn. Room was spacious. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We are happy with out stay.

Hotel recommended a nearby Mexican restaurant (Cafe Mi Casa) for lunch and another Italian restaurant for dinner. We are also happy with their two recommendations.

My only complain is that there was a mix up in our reservation. I made a reservation for a non-smoking room as printed on my confirmation slip. Hotel was showing that I reserved a smoking room. The difficulty was that they had assigned all the non-smoking room by requests. I had to argue for a few minutes before they finally gave me a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the hiway side. Our room was on the hiway side. We were not bothered by road traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We needed a stopover between LA and San Francisco. We are a family of 4 and needed 2 rooms for a quick stopover and were really pleased to find this hotel.
The rooms were spacious,well equipped with good wifi and nice bathrooms with plentiful toiletries.
No restaurant just a breakfast room on site but we we're given directions to a selection of suitable restaurants all within walking distance. Breakfast included a definite bonus.
Rooms absolutely spotless , great a/c, super easy to check in and out would definitely use again if ever travelling through.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jroberts425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just passing through but the room was nice, good bathroom products, good bed. Nice shower. Was $113 with AAA discount. As we walked out this morning, breakfast to go in a bag. Nice! Only drawback, no restaurant or food nearby without driving.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at a few Hamptons before this location and Merced's location was average.

Pros:
• Easy to find from Highway 99
• Had a room facing the neighboring Holiday Inn Express & didn't hear any freeway noise
• Microwave and fridge in room
• Beds comfortable and shower in bathroom had good water pressure

Cons:
• This is not a 100% non-smoking hotel. The one elevator smelled of smoke at times
• Hand prints on the headboard of the bed (see picture) and slimy residue on furniture pieces
• No breakfast trays and the breakfast attendant recommended going back to the room and bringing the tray that held the ice bucket back down to bring food back to the room. Ended up stacking a few plates and cups of juice for the rest of my party in my room past various staff with no assistance
• Suite Shop didn't have prices and the desk clerks never seemed to be at the front desk (always walking up and down hallways)
• My biggest tiff was the $50 additional charge for a late 2pm checkout. Every other hotel I've stayed at 2 pm is standard and the hotel didn't seem that busy. Had to pay the charge because I had a meeting at 4pm. Disappointing.

Overall, I travel to Merced often and stayed at multiple hotels. Will give this Hampton one more try next month.

Room Tip: Stay in an odd number room to face away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were only there for one night, so we didn't report each individual problem. I stay at Hampton Inns pretty much exclusively and typically have great experiences with cleanliness, things are in working order, etc. When that doesn't happen, I am extra disappointed. At least two ice machines were out of order, the vending machine was out of order, our room an the hotel in general were not as clean as we are accustomed to at other Hampton Inns. The reviews on the internet mention these same issues. We just assumed that because we had such good experiences in the past, the issues were already taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merced
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced

Address: 225 S Parsons Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: £76 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced features 83 rooms and suites that include microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, and hair dryer, as well as, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access and plasma TV's with a complimentary premium movie channel and pay-per-view movies. We also feature an outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fiteness facility, Meeting Room and Executive Board Room, both with high- speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced Hotel Merced
Hampton Inn And Suites - Merced
Hampton Inn Merced
Merced Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing