We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable but noisy”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Room very comfortable and clean. Bathroom very small and movement in room difficult for two people. Have to small dogs and property has NO green space to walk dogs. All concrete and asphalt. Traffic on four lane highway loud and difficult to sleep without white noise in room. Breakfast room clean but only space for 10-12 people. Very cramped. Food good but needed to take to room to eat. Night clerk not very knowledgable.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write a review.

I apologize for the lack of green space to walk your dogs. We try our best to be accommodating to our guest by being a pet friendly motel (due to the fact that there aren't many that are here in Merced). We are aware though that this issue can be an inconvenience to our guest and are working to find a way to resolve the problem.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations we strive for with all our guests – the type we pride ourselves in. My staff will be made aware of your comments and we will do what we can to resolve the issues that you have brought to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    47
    37
    30
See reviews for
69
65
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was clean and easy to get to. Unfortunately it is located extremely close to the freeway, resulting in it being very noisy. Most of the other hotels are in the same area so I would imagine it would be difficult to avoid. Breakfast was somewhat lacking for a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced and for our breakfast not meeting your expectations.

We are aware that, although, it is convenient being right off the freeway it also has some disadvantages. This is why we have taken steps such as installing double pane windows, solid wooden doors and providing earplugs to our guest to ensure they have the most pleasant stay possible.


We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed there for one night before visiting Yosemite National Park the next day. The room was clean. The bath towels were of better quality in terms of condition and cleanliness (compared to a 4-star hotel that we stayed in San Francisco!). Bathroom may need some updating but everything was functional. Great staff service! Breakfast was standard but we enjoyed making our own waffles. Some rooms may get more noise from the main road but our room was fine. One tip: if you are heading to Yosemite, fill up your tank in Merced. Gas is much cheaper there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Motel. We certainly enjoyed having you with us.

So happy you got a chance to enjoy our breakfast... the waffles are delicious! Also, I am grateful you took the time to let us know about the great staff service! I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room, bed linens and towels were clean. Breakfast was typical, fine, decent. Everything functioned except the internet kept going out and we kept asking the front desk to reset the router, which always fixed the problem, and they were always so nice. The bathroom door didn't shut, but we're a close family anyway. The faucet was very drippy and noisy, but my son finally figured out how to turn it off! The very loud AC turned out to be a blessing in disguise, and helped drown out the train and highway traffic. The walls were pretty thick and we didn't hear the neighbors much. It wasn't luxury, but it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced with the Wifi, the bathroom door not closing, and the noise issue.

We are aware that, although, it is convenient being right off the freeway it also has some disadvantages. This is why we have taken steps such as installing double pane windows, solid wooden doors and providing earplugs to our guest to ensure they have the most pleasant stay possible.

Since your stay we have addressed the issues in your review and we are happy to say that they are now fixed. Thank you so very much for bringing them to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooele, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great staff, friendly service, nice bed and pillows. Nice decor. Nice fitness room. Filthy carpet, toilet was hard to flush, cooler smelled like dirty diapers, broken lights and towel rack. Not a true hot breakfast as stated on hotel fact sheet. Found a roach in the tub the last day of our stay. Poor wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations we strive for with all our guests – the type we pride ourselves in. My maintenance staff will be made aware of your comments and we will take immediate corrective action.

We are very happy to hear that our fitness center met your needs and that you were able to get a good nights rest on our comfortable bed! Also, We consider dedicated and competent staff members our most valuable asset. It's always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated so I am grateful you took the time to let us know! I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Best Western is an older motel but clean and in good repair, tight parking, and we had to ask for towels and soap. Rooms are very small and prices considerably higher than quoted on their website. That said, the desk clerk did everything she could to accommodate us when we decided to stay for two nights, even switching some other folks around so we wouldn't have to change rooms. Wifi works well, micro/fridge in room, extra deep tub, and breakfast (cereal, pastries) included. Clean breakfast area, chairs, no tables. Convenient to bus pickup for Yosemite. Pool is nasty, and guest laundry has only one machine, have to pay in advance and have desk clerk operate it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations we strive for with all our guests – the type we pride ourselves in. My staff was made aware of your comments in regards to the pool as well as not replenishing the amenities and towels in the guest rooms, both issues have been addressed. I would like to Thank you for bringing them to our attention.
On the flip side, I am happy to hear that the desk clerk was accommodating and and that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and make use of the complimentary WiFi!

We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burney, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Typical Best Western. Clean, comfortable, affordable, and a pleasant staff. The landscaping was beautifully done as were all the hotels on motel drive. The whole area was very clean and well kept. I typically look to stay at Best Western when I travel because the quality and service is consistently the same.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia F, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your visit at our Motel. We certainly enjoyed having you with us!

We take pride in our landscaping so it is always nice to hear when our guest enjoy it as much as we do.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand, we are glad we were able to provide you with the consistency you look forward to. Hope to see you again the next time you visit Merced!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
440 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Property: Best Western Inn
Address: 1033 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Inn where guests will discover friendly customer service and sophisticated accommodations for an affordable price. Located right off Highway 99, this Merced motel features 42 spacious well-appointed guest rooms. Each room is fully equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests are welcome to start their day with our yummy full breakfast each morning while reading the local paper. This motel also features a fitness center, laundry facility, and outdoor pool. Whether you have plans to come to Merced for business or pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Inn can offer you the right services. We are conveniently located less than two miles from the heart of Main Street, which, makes it easy to take a stroll through downtown and enjoy a movie, newly remodeled shops, antique stores and sidewalk cafes that suit people of all ages. Our rooms offer all the amenities that a business traveler might need. Our property provides all rooms with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet connection; we also provide a business center with high-speed Internet connection that allows you to work right from the property. Need to send a fax? No problem, our friendly staff will be able to help you in any way. Also take a break and take a dip in our outdoor pool (not heated). From amenities, such as shaving cream to free HBO®, we want to make sure you feel right at home. Our friendly staff will ensure a rapid check-in and check-out so you can enjoy your day. We look forward to serving you. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merced
Merced Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing