We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special - But Adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nothing Special - But Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Merced does not have many hotels. The ones that it does have are the standard chain hotels - from the Marriott at one end of the spectrum and the Motel 6 at the other end. We booked the Comfort Inn over the others because it had a good location close to the 99 freeway and had decent reviews on this site. The bad news - the water in the shower did not maintain pressure or temperature, the windows are single pane and allow road noise from the freeway, and there are few restaurants within walking distance. The good news - the rooms are safe, clean and comfortable, the staff at the front desk did accomodate us and did upgrade us because our room lacked the refrigerator and microwave called for when we booked on the web, and the breakfast was not bad with eggs and bacon on the menu.

If you do book a room in this town and have time, check out their local zoo and the aviation museum up the road in Atwater.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, try to get a room away from the freeway. A room on the first floor also helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    32
    19
    23
See reviews for
44
37
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

1) the freeway is nearby and noisy. Secret? Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. It's much quieter.
2) the scrumptious breakfast consists of fresh and tasty items. Pastries, fruit, juices, yogurt, usual scrambled eggs, sausage etc. The waffles are made by pouring fresh batter onto the waffle iron. Delicious!
Coffee is strong and comparable to Starbucks. In short, eating breakfast in the hotel brings down the room price and leaves you full and satisfied.
3) Rooms are clean. Yes, it looks like an older hotel, but it's well maintained.
Looking for a place to eat lunch/ dinner? Try New China Cafe on W. Main St ( 2 miles ) Cheap price, huge quantity and very tasty food.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank card60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I travel to Merced on an irregular schedule and the staff at this hotel has always been friendly and courteus. My room has consistently been clean and fresh. I truly appreciate the well maintained training rooms including the pool and spa. The meals at the Bistro are well prepared and presented. Thank you for providing me with comfort away from home.

Room Tip: I have not been uncomfortable on any floor,however I prefer the first floor because of the close pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We only stayed one night but the hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Everything I would expect from a Comfort Inn. There is a restaurant next store if you don't feel like driving around for somewhere to eat. The location makes this hotel a perfect place to stop on the way to or from Yosemite!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeE138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have used this hotel on several occasions when attending meetings in nearby Atwater. The Carrow's Restaurant is nearby (walkable) for a quick, inexpensive, easy meal. Have always had a clean room and friendly staff. I can hear a train whistle from time to time, and other guests walking in the open halls, so if your a light sleeper this isn't the hotel for you. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We chose Comfort Inn for being Pet Friendly. We checked in on Wednesday April 3, 2013 and were given room # 207. When we walked into the room the stench of pet urine was so strong that we knew the carpet had been soiled by a pet. We talked to housekeeping and were told that they have tried everything to remove the urine smell with no success. Housekeeping has reported this to front desk. When we asked for another room we were given a clean room. At check out the clerk told us that room # 207 shouldn't be given to any guests (somehow the room was placed back in active list). If we had not asked we would've had to suffer the stench of pet urine. The carpet was not only soiled by dirty and old, same as the curtains and bed linens. Towels were clean.

Room Tip: Always ask for a clean room (we should not have to ask and should expect to have a clean room). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merced hotels

Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great basic hotel! Looking for a stopover hotel after a long drive en-route to Yosemite. Arrived late but staff was very help and happy (needed that after a long drive). Got up early to catch the bus to Yosemite. Excellent beds and breakfast. Exceeded my expectations! Would good there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcrest55129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha G, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 730 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5151 (Formerly Comfort Inn Merced)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Merced Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing