We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff nice but the place is horrible!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed in many Comfort Inn hotels but this one is the worst one that I have visited. The rooms were old and felt dirty. The curtains were falling down (ours had a huge bug/spider smashed in the curtains) and the towel rack in the bathroom was broken. The sink didn't drain and the elevator kept breaking down.

That being said, the staff was very friendly and tried to accommodate us when we wanted to move to a better room. The food was similar to other Comfort Inn selections.

Room Tip: They seem to be renovating some of their rooms--so if you are going to stay there, at least ask if y...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amgov101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel late afternoon in June and it was very hot without a reservation after checking out some other hotels etc in the area.
We were welcomed by a female receptionist who was friendly and completed the check-in, but insisted on taking a credit card for the $150 which the receptionist said would not be charged to the credit card, but set aside to cover damages etc - they would not accept cash. The room cost $87 inc tax. The room was clean and tidy with good air conditioning, with a TV and adequate washroom. It had a fridge and coffee making facility.
Outside, there was a swimming pool which I used with some sun lounges, it was good to cool down in the pool, but not big enough for a good swim.
We asked about eating and were directed across the car park to a restaurant which I thought was part of the Inn. This was probably the worst place we ate in during our 30 day stay. Service was bad, the food not brilliant, there was loud piped music and it was not busy.
In the morning there was a breakfast in the hotel, and when we arrived some of the cooked food had run out eg bacon and scrambled eggs, and the lady who was in charge of refilling the dishes was also a cleaner - she apologised but was doing her best.We would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kolimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed one night before visiting Yosemite. Check-in time was 4:00 PM. Room not ready. An hour later, still not ready. When we got in the room none of the pillows had cases. When I complained I was simply handed some so I could put them on myself. Bathtub plug didn't work, Only got the toilet to flush after the fifth try. Noisy from highway and railroad. Lavatory plugged up in morning. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone even for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The other hotels in town were booked for this night. So we stayed at the Comfort.

We arrived late and were "greeted" by the desk attendant. She was in slow motion, or we disturbed her sleep, or more likely, both.

The room was not clean. There was mold around the edge of the bathroom ceiling.

I woke early the next morning to find the breakfast was moderately busy but it was not stocked with milk or regular coffee.

I will book ahead next time and find a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_wilbury_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening and without reservations, and the staff was very friendly and helpful in getting us a room. The rooms were quiet, clean, and recently updated. All of the staff was very accommodating. The breakfast room was nice and constantly kept clean and stocked with all the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on June 9 2014. Some cosmetic fixes have been done to make the exterior look passable but the rooms and hallways are old and grimy. The elevator and outside hall was dirty and dingy. The room was recently painted to cover up as many ills as possible but the rugs, tubs, beds etc. are old and worn out. When we opened the curtain we noticed the back of it or liner was covered in big blue ink spots. It looked like it had been washed with a pen ...and then they hung it up on the window! I took a picture of the phone to show just how grimy it was...i wouldn't touch it with gloves on!

Room Tip: Chose another hote'
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Friendly staff is very important to me and the Comfort Inn Merced has friendly, courteous staff. Our room was clean and nice and breakfast was good. The young man at the front desk when we checked in was not only friendly, but also very willing to help. He was helping a woman as we walked into the lobby. English was not her native language and she was obviously having trouble understanding something, but the desk clerk was very kind and patient with her. It took several minutes, but he made sure she understood what she needed to before she left. He was genuinely kind.

Room Tip: Be aware this hotel is right off the freeway so there is some noise, but nothing too awful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.3 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 730 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5151 (Formerly Comfort Inn Merced)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Merced Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing