We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Tree Inn "BA HUMBUG"”
Review of Christmas Tree Inn

Christmas Tree Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christmas Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mi Wuk Village
Reviewed 4 January 2009

New Years Eve 2008 we decided to go up to Dodge to play in the snow and stay over night to play again the next day. My father (50's) My husband and I (30's) and son (10) stayed at the Christmas Tree Inn, one of the only lodges in the area of Mi Wuk Village, CA. Wow I LOVE Christmas and the christmas spirit however, none will be found here if you choose to stay. BTW you can't even get extra towels because the inn keeper is concerned about the other guests who will need and ask for them. To top it off you may not even get a "whole" towel. After my son finished his shower he had to use a cut up towel. The rooms which are VERY over-priced ($159.00 per night) for the state that they are in had barely any water pressure in the shower and the door key (YES A KEY NOT A CARD) seemed to be given to chance whether it would let us in or not. You would think leaving your ten year old in a room would be safe while you ran out to your parked car for an extra pillow, however, the door jammed and I almost had to try to go through the window to get into my room. At last I'm in my room and switch on the television that had only four channels, not much of a night or stay. I repeatedly told my son to use his own blankets because the comforters looked ancient and gross. The guests were very kind and I felt bad knowing how much we all paid for this piece of crap hotel. Next time I'll build an igloo near a christmas tree and stay in that!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Critic_of_Crap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighSierraSugarbear, Owners/Managers at Christmas Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2009

We apologize if we ran short on spa towels on New Years Eve for our guest. Our Spa is very popular. Our utility company set-up our energy program and we ALWAYS have plenty of hot water. Also, we have new Serta Perfect Sleeper beds with three pillows, new spreads, drapes, clock radios, hair dryers, etc as well as showers over bathtubs in all rooms. Our rooms are clean. Our property is the newest in the area with steel door frames. No security problem here and our rates never been as high as stated even during a holiday. Our guests comfort and satisfation is always our number one objective at the
Christmas Tree Inn
Sincerely, Marvin Bergthold, Owner
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2008

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 8 and 5) stayed here just one night, but were very happy with this little gem of an inn. The grounds were covered with snow, so not many flowers to see in February, as others have posted here, but the trees blanketed in snow were gorgeous. (Apologies to others who are sick of the 'white stuff' by this time each year. Living in San Jose, CA, and not seeing it very often I'm still somewhat enchanted by it.)
The couple who run the inn, Marvin and Dolores, are wonderfully helpful and friendly. When I asked about putting on our snow chains, they suggested we pull the car up under the covered driveway to make it easier. My husband, who was going to do it in the cold slushy parking lot, really appreciated this. Not being very familiar with the area, we were glad to find they keep an assortment of menus from local restaurants at the front desk, and they were very helpful in selecting a nearby place we could take the kids for dinner.
The beds were very comfy, with fluffy pillows, soft sheets, and thick blankets and comforters. The air conditioner/heater worked very well, and the room was not musty smelling in the least. My only complaint was that some of the towels were a bit thin, but they were glad to provide more upon request. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer and a coffeemaker. Nice amenities for the cost.
In the cozy lobby, Dolores has an impressive display table of lighted Christmas figurines that really are charming. She says she leaves it up from December until the snow is gone around Easter.
I would recommend this place to friends, and would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank patay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

What an incredible experience in a quaint setting! This property is warm and cozy and the owners go out of their way to exceed your expectations.

I've stayed in many five star properties in my years of travels, and this little gem could rival any of them in service and hospitality. I really loved the surrounding pine trees and the pool/jacuzzi area. The rooms were spotless, the beds extremely comfortable. We will recommend the Christmas Tree Inn to all our friends and family.

Thank you for making our stay so specia!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steelbiscuit_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We had a wonderful weekend at The Christmas Tree Inn in Mi-Wuk Village, CA. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful pine and cedar trees and is in such a beautiful location! Plus it is close to Columbia and Jamestown (Gold Country) and is just a few minutes away from the small village of Twain Harte. We had a great dinner there Sat. nite and then saw a concert in the park! Lots of fun!

The Inn itself is well maintained and has beautiful landscaping with loads of flowers, especially by the pool and spa area. It is operated by the owners themselves and they work hard to take care of their guests. The rooms are spotless!

Dodge Ridge skiing and a Snow Park near Sonora Pass are nearby so we hope to go back in the winter!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B-Hostetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oscyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bassotto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mi Wuk Village
10.0 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
12.2 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.1 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Tree Inn

Address: 24685 Hwy 108, P.O. Box 700, Mi Wuk Village, CA 95346
Region: United States > California > Mi Wuk Village
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mi Wuk Village
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Christmas Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the High Sierra from the comfort of the Christmas Tree Inn near Dodge Ridge ski area, Pinecrest Lake and the Gold Country. We are on Highway 108 just minutes from the picturesque village of Twain Harte and Black Oak Casino. Year round heated spa and pool in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Christmas Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Tree Hotel Mi Wuk Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing