We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peaceful Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was a lucky find for us at a busy time in the wine country. These are 3 cute cottages nestled in the woods of Middleton. Each cottage has its own patio with table and chairs. Clean, large room with comfortable bed, roomy bathroom and nice little touches everywhere. Greta is a gracious host, makes a great breakfast, and is just plain nice to visit with. We enjoyed dinner at the "Boars Breath" restaurant and bar in Middleton. Take the Highway 29 scenic route through great wineries and Calistoga. Tons of stuff to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is a wonderful rural retreat in one of the most beautiful parts of the California wine country. The rooms are very homey and beautifully maintained, and the gracious hostess serves a gourmet breakfast; she is also very knowledgeable about local attractions.

Room Tip: There are three separate cottages, and they are all extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Backyard Garden Oasis is a little bit of heaven in Middletown. Beautiful setting, very tranquil.
Abundance of bird life and butterflies. Your room is really a cabin that is delightful. It was a very busy five days preparing for family wedding and visiting family in area. Looking forward to returning for a more restful visit. Innkeeper Greta was a great hostess.

Room Tip: Room closest to large pond as great text service on cell. Don't bother trying to call out t on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a terrific little gem, hidden away between Calistoga and Clear Lake. Greta, the innkeeper, is a warm and gracious hostess who takes a sincere interest in her guests and goes out of her way to make sure you're comfortable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and private. The grounds are pretty and peaceful. The breakfast is homemade, delicious and healthy to boot. You're also located close to Clear Lake and some fabulous little-known wineries like Gregory Graham. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Greta is a gracious host, great cook, superb masseuse, and probably has many other skills we didn't have a chance to experience. The B&B is a great value, far exceeding our expectations (even with good reviews).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

There is absolutely nothing not to like about the Backyard Garden Oasis. The rooms are spacious, very clean. The surroundings are tranquil, beautiful. Across the road we saw wild turkeys, quail, deer, and an abundance of bird life. The pond and the little waterfall on the property are a delight at any time of the day.
Greta's breakfasts were soooo good. The conversations in the morning were wonderful as she can be comfortable on any subject.

We stayed for three nights and would have stayed longer but there was no availability.

I truly wish that I have the opporunity to visit the Backyard Garden Oasis again soon. It is a place of spiritual and physical renewal. I don't remember when was the last time I had such good night sleeps as I did at the Oasis.

Greta's massage is wonderful.

Thank you Greta.

Nita Garcia
June 2012

Room Tip: We had the Virgo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitagarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was searching on the internet and stumbled on this little hidden jewel. From the moment we spoke, I could tell Greta, our hostess, was a warm, genuinely kind person, which was absolutely true. She was friendly and inviting from the time we walked in. (And very accomodating considering our reservation/arrival was very last minute.) I was very impressed with how tidy and well kept the cottages and the garden were. When she showed us the room, I fell in love ! An extremely comfortable king size bed, cute little dining area and a nice big bathroom ! The skylight was another perk- it was at the end of the bed, so if you layed the opposite way on the bed, you could look up and see the beautiful star-lit sky, which was also a great view from the hot tub !! It was so nice to be surrounded by nothing but quiet- except songs from the frogs at night and birds in the morning. A wonderful nights' sleep was followed by a scrumptious french toast breakfast with bacon, fresh strawberries and blackberries, and orange juice. The only flaw was that because it was so hot that day, our cottage was a little warm and the swamp cooler was partially blocked by a futon- so we could not get the room as cooled off as we wanted. The problem was easily fixed though, by sleeping with the sliding door open part way, and the screen closed so we didn't get any extra guests. Also, there was a ceiling fan that helped circulate the air. Other than that, it was a picture perfect getaway, and thanks to Greta and her beautiful Backyard Garden Oasis, made it an anniversary my boyfriend and I will never forget !!!
Hoping to visit again soon, Nikki and Tater

Room Tip: The last cottage, I forget the name, is closest to the pond and waterfall to hear the water, and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
18.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
18 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Property: Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Garden Oasis B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing