We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best place in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still the best place in the area!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Nice and quiet. I love the pretty little cabins. I've spent nights in all of them, and they are all equally nice. New wifi works great. Stay here to get away from it all and enjoy the garden, trees, patio, and Greta's hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Great little B&B! Very peaceful and relaxing. We will be back. Its a bit if a drive from Calistoga but well worth it. There are a couple of nice options for dinner in Middletown though.

Greta gives the best massage, we would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My sweetie and I stayed at Backyard Garden Oasis for a night before moving on to our final
hot-springs destination. We had never been there before but it didn't disappoint! The property is located conveniently just off the main drag as you're coming off the mountain. Greta, our beautiful hostess (and her sweet dog, Rusty), was welcoming and inviting. We had the last cottage on the row, and it had a perfect view of the entire garden, which is huge, lush, has a pond and a creek and an organic garden. The cottage was roomy, clean, had wifi and good tv - but truthfully we lingered more on our private deck where we had the entire property in full view. And the best part??? the amazing french toast breakfast that Greta prepared for us, complete with strawberry/fig compote, real maple syrup and Greta filling us in on how she came to have this terrific locale!

The only reason it's not 5/5 on this review is because some of the furnishings were a bit outdated, so don't expect the newest of everything. However, if you go in with the idea that you'd love to be taken great care of and have a clean, welcoming, central place to stay for this area, then Greta's is your best bet!

Room Tip: The last cottage has a bigger deck and better view, but they're all similiar.
See more room tips
Green Features: This location is on it's own well with irrigation water coming from a creek in the back. Greta mentioned she doesn't use harmful chemicals on her landscape.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A friend of mine visited from England and we took a trip to Middletown, then the Napa Valley before returning home to southern California. We stayed a night at the Backyard Garden Oasis and really enjoyed the peacefulness of Gretas cottage. Very comfortable bed, large enough shower and bath, and had a lovely french toast breakfast and conversation in the morning before we left. We both would happily stay there again on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cora l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I needed a place to stay while attending a week long intensive workshop outside Middletown, and I wanted to bring my dog.Greta's Backyard Garden Oasis fit the bill. Greta reserves one of her three cottages to accommodate dog owners and I am very grateful for that. The cottages are as described by others on this site - comfortable, clean, quiet with gas stoves, mini refrigerator and coffee maker with excellent ground coffee and fresh cream - nice touch. There was plenty of instant hot water for showers. I arrived late evening, so didn't see Greta and Rusty, her little terrier mix, until morning, but had no trouble finding the cottage with the instructions Greta left me. My dog enjoyed the fresh water and dog treat left for him in the dog bowls in the bathroom.
Another nice touch. I liked the breakfasts. They were well made with healthy, fresh ingredients, but not lavish. Perhaps more like I might make for myself than the more usual variety of options.
Greta was more than willing to accommodate my diet preferences, which I appreciated. Housekeeping was minimal, but traveling alone that was not a big concern for me. I recommend this place if you want a low key, comfortable, clean respite. When I returned each evening, exhausted after a full day workshop, it felt better than home - no chores to do, just sit back on the patio and enjoy the sound of the waterfall while watching my dog explore the yard. I am plotting when to return with my husband for a reasonably priced weekend in beautiful Lake County.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hittheroadmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi Nancy ... thank you so much for your review ... Your dog, Frisko was great fun for me and Rusty. Your presence here will be long remembered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you are visiting this area, skip the Casino! Take the time to seek out these wonderful quiet little cabins in Greta's backyard. So comfy and relaxing. Each cabin has its own porch, table, and little fire-stove, plus coffee maker and fridge. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
It's my great pleasure to have business travelers like you feel so at home here and return again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was an interesting place. When we first arrived, we wondered if we had the wrong address. It looked like just an ordinary little house and garage but the address was right so we figured we park and find out if we were lost! But Greta, the innkeeper, heard our car and came to her front door.

She opened the gate to the backyard to lead us to our lodging, and there is where the "oasis" part comes in. There is a huge backyard, with an organic garden, lots of large beautiful trees, a pond and spring towards the end of the property, and three individual cottages. She led us to the third, i.e. farthest from her house. Cute little cottage with its own outdoor table, umbrella and sitting area - rustic. But inside the cottage it was really very nice - simple but tasteful, plenty of room, very clean, good reading lights, a very comfortable bed, and a very nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. We spent about an hour with a glass of wine outside on our little porch, just enjoying the quiet serenity of the place. We were the only guests that night so we had the place all to ourselves.....and we slept like babies.

Greta is relatively flexible about her breakfast hours - particularly since we were the only ones there. She served a frittata made with vegetables from her garden....quite tasty. She promises a "full country breakfast" so we had no "gourmet" expectations. And while it was sufficient and tasty, it was perhaps the least impressive breakfast of our 10 day trip - all in B&Bs.

So no real complaints - we slept wonderfully and enjoyed our little cottage. This is a relatively rustic but very comfortable environment. Only improvement could have been the breakfast.

Greta is also a skilled masseuse so massages are available upon request, but we didn't avail ourselves of this service.

Look past the entrance and you'll enjoy a true backyard oasis!

Room Tip: Pick the last cottage, closest to end of property if you want the most private room. You'll als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you, Silverwing 928, for your thoughtful and heartfelt review. I greatly appreciate hearing from someone like you, who suggests improvements and talks about enjoying so many aspects of her cottage and being able to “sleep like babies” and “enjoy the quiet serenity” of the Oasis. It tells me that you have gotten to appreciate the core of what is possible here. 'Till next time ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
8.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
528 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
9.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
402 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
22.3 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Property: Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing