We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, but still reasonably close” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, but still reasonably close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our cottage was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was bright and attractively decorated. Greta, the owner, was very nice and helpful. Very peaceful among the trees and sat in the backyard and read. Our dog's favorite place to stay on the trip and enjoyed playing with Rusty and the other friendly neighbor dogs. A great choice for a reasonable price and relatively close to the wine country and upper Napa/Calistoga.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

All 3 cottages are in a garden. Each has a terrace. Our cottage was furnished in a very nice way.
Greta, the host, is very friendly and recommended a great Thai restaurant for dinner in Middeltown which is about 5 miles from the Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrolan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The exterior of this property is a bit unprepossessing so my daughter and I weren't sure what to expect. We were very pleased to find that our cabin was exceptionally appealing - spacious, airy, filled with light and nicely decorated. The bathroom was lovely, clean and bright and sparkling. The bed was very comfortable. Very good coffee with fresh cream in the refrigerator.
Outside the cabin was a nice patio and the backyard is quiet and lush. At first we thought the location was out of the way for us since we planned to visit wineries further south. Actually, it is a short drive over very scenic hills.
Greta was very hospitable and her breakfasts are to die for!
We would strongly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: All the cabins are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Nice and quiet. I love the pretty little cabins. I've spent nights in all of them, and they are all equally nice. New wifi works great. Stay here to get away from it all and enjoy the garden, trees, patio, and Greta's hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Great little B&B! Very peaceful and relaxing. We will be back. Its a bit if a drive from Calistoga but well worth it. There are a couple of nice options for dinner in Middletown though.

Greta gives the best massage, we would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My sweetie and I stayed at Backyard Garden Oasis for a night before moving on to our final
hot-springs destination. We had never been there before but it didn't disappoint! The property is located conveniently just off the main drag as you're coming off the mountain. Greta, our beautiful hostess (and her sweet dog, Rusty), was welcoming and inviting. We had the last cottage on the row, and it had a perfect view of the entire garden, which is huge, lush, has a pond and a creek and an organic garden. The cottage was roomy, clean, had wifi and good tv - but truthfully we lingered more on our private deck where we had the entire property in full view. And the best part??? the amazing french toast breakfast that Greta prepared for us, complete with strawberry/fig compote, real maple syrup and Greta filling us in on how she came to have this terrific locale!

The only reason it's not 5/5 on this review is because some of the furnishings were a bit outdated, so don't expect the newest of everything. However, if you go in with the idea that you'd love to be taken great care of and have a clean, welcoming, central place to stay for this area, then Greta's is your best bet!

Room Tip: The last cottage has a bigger deck and better view, but they're all similiar.
See more room tips
Green Features: This location is on it's own well with irrigation water coming from a creek in the back. Greta mentioned she doesn't use harmful chemicals on her landscape.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

A friend of mine visited from England and we took a trip to Middletown, then the Napa Valley before returning home to southern California. We stayed a night at the Backyard Garden Oasis and really enjoyed the peacefulness of Gretas cottage. Very comfortable bed, large enough shower and bath, and had a lovely french toast breakfast and conversation in the morning before we left. We both would happily stay there again on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cora l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
18.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
13.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
9.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Property: Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing