We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit but not our last.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our son attends bike races at Boggs and there's nothing like sleeping in a nice soft bed in a quiet tranquil cottage the night before a big race. There are 3 separate and private cabins, the yard is lovely and fun to explore. In the spring and summer Greta has a cute veg and flower garden and her sweet dog Rusty says Hi in his sweet shy way and goes about his day. The nights are peaceful and the morning breakfast is terrific. You'll feel very much at home here - it's just how Greta is!

Room Tip: There were two adults and a teen so the Virgo cottage worked out great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I enjoyed everything about my visit except the windy road from Calistoga. However, it was a good road and not heavily crowded which made it much easier. My room was lovely and the deck perfect for relaxing, enjoying wine, reading and nature in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Was in town for a workshop and stayed at Backyard Garden Oasis. Greta & Rusty are very warm and welcoming! Cute cabins, comfy bed, clean rooms, plently of space, and slept comfortably and peacefully during each nights stay. Cabins have their own patios - which was very nice. Greta put fresh flowers on the table and heater/fireplace - nice touch. Didn't walk the enitre property until the last day, and now wish I would have had time to do this at the beginning of my stay. There is a little pond and a lovely creek at the end of the property - very beautiful and relaxing too. Next time I'm in that area, will stay at BGO again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Backyard Garden Oasis more than a dozen times when we are visiting family in the area. To us, this is a peaceful, calming place set in a beautiful garden - flowers, birds, lovely trees.......... Greta is the best! She is always friendly, and gives great tips to local sites. And her breakfasts are delicious! Our cottage is very comfortable, spacious and has everything we need, including a deck where my husband likes to sit in the morning to greet the sun.
Anna R.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Anna, you and Kent are among my most favorite guests. You always brighten my days when you're here. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Chose this place to stay and relax an extra night after riding in the Konocti Challenge. Turned out to be the perfect decision. Had my mom with me, and she was so impressed. We both loved the stay. The grounds are just beautiful - cottage like, but not too perfect. The cottages are beautiful and relaxing. Fresh flowers, beautiful linens, in-room coffee with cream & sugar. Rusty the dog is just the cutest. Greta is warm and welcoming, and makes a great breakfast! Had wonderful massage before the ride home. This is the kind of place you will come back to, because you know what to expect. Thank you for the memories with my mom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our cottage was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was bright and attractively decorated. Greta, the owner, was very nice and helpful. Very peaceful among the trees and sat in the backyard and read. Our dog's favorite place to stay on the trip and enjoyed playing with Rusty and the other friendly neighbor dogs. A great choice for a reasonable price and relatively close to the wine country and upper Napa/Calistoga.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

All 3 cottages are in a garden. Each has a terrace. Our cottage was furnished in a very nice way.
Greta, the host, is very friendly and recommended a great Thai restaurant for dinner in Middeltown which is about 5 miles from the Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrolan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range: £130 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Garden Oasis B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing