We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koa mariposa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midpines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Clean and calm rv park mostly for 1 night stay into yosemity. Good pool, clean amenities, nice shop. Bus stop outside park for tours to yosemity. Only negative was the lady at the reception, bridget. If you dont like your job please quit, otherwise put a smile on your face and be friendly to the guests who pay a considerable amount to stay at your park (usd 52 for hook-up site).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Family of 4 from Scotland on RV tour of California.
We liked it for its cosy size, closeness to Yosemite (so easy to use local YART buses from the site to get in and out then use Yosemite shuttles while there rather than toiling in a RV round the tight roads in Yosemite- note the shuttles do not go from the valley to Wawona/Mariposa grove) and pleasant setting. Limited facilities beyond pool, shop (recommend the ice cream and pizza) and surprising arcade in an old train engine but its big thing is Yosemite nearby. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We usually love KOA experience. The one in Duluth,Minnesota was extremely good. Friendly staff,clean restrooms and very good tenting ambience. However, KOA ,mariposa was disappointing. There is a basketball hoop right in the parking lot. It is stressful to both the driver and kids. Our car got hit by the ball. It kind of startles the driver. When we told the front desk staff as feedback, they just turned a cold shoulder, which is a very unusual behaviour from KOA staff. Though they claim to have free wi-fi,it does not work. There is also a fire ban in the county and hence no camp fire. I feel this should have been mentioned in their website while booking as we got fire strarters for crazily expensive prices from the town of Lee Vining nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The KOA is good, bathrooms were spotless, staff was friendly, and I loved the pines. However, the walk to the bathrooms is far and uphill on the way back for the kabins. There are very few bathrooms considering how many kabins they have. This KOA sells cooked pizzas and ice cream. KOA is about an hour's drive from the Yosemite visitor's center, but we enjoyed the drive. Wifi is okay...had to be by the pool to access it. Go to the Pioneer Market in the town before you arrive at the KOA...prices there were great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proudteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My family and I stayed in a deluxe camping cabin at this KOA for several nights while touring Yosemite. The cabin was very nice: clean, quiet, and large. It featured a refrigerator, microwave, futon, table, stove, bathroom, and even a small television. The hot water heater broke once and we didn`t notice until night, but a maintenance employee came out immediately to fix it.

Keep in mind that this KOA is a bit distant from Yosemite. It took us around 30 minutes to drive there each day, so we lost some time that we could have used to explore the park. However, it was nice to be close to Mariposa for supplies, restaurants, and cheaper gas than we could find closer to the park.

Room Tip: The deluxe camping cabins are worth the extra cost: they are far more comfortable than a simple camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed with another couple for 3 nights in RVs over Memorial Day weekend. We were concerned after reading all the negative comments too but the staff was friendly and helpful. We had the best RV sites in the place (51,52,53) which were new spaces not shown on the map. The grounds are well maintained. The only negative I have is that the rocks in all the spaces and roads are large base rock which are sharp and very hard on our dogs feet. We figured out the WiFi which is free. The lack of cell phones was a little annoying but once you get used to not having a phone you can enjoy relaxing a bit more :). We were going to take the bus into the park but decided to drive the RV in with our bikes which worked out great too. We parked along the road by Curry Village in the park and rode all over the valley. The best way to see everything! Had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for sites 51,52 or 53 for RVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was extremely hesitant to stay here due to the bad reviews but our options were limited as to what was available. I was extremely pleased with the staff as they were very friendly and helpful. The facility was very clean and well maintained and you could tell they had been working hard at planting new flowers and trees and making the place look really nice. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice. The garbage was always emptied and grills cleaned out almost every day. The KOA is about a half an hour from the park entrance but it's a beautiful drive from the campground and if you want to avoid the crowds of Yosemite Valley this is a great place to stay. We stayed five days and did not have an issue and despite the other reviews I would recommend this KOA.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
23.2 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
12.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
855 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA

Address: 6323 Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Region: United States > California > Midpines
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Midpines
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Yosemite West / Mariposa Koa Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing