We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodgings - a bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good lodgings - a bit out of the way”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recommended these lodgings by a friends daughter who had stayed previously. We opted for the barn studio as we were a family of five. The lodgings were very rustic and a bit tired although did the job. Beds were good and clean and made every day although there was not a sofa bed that we were expecting - had to make do with the smallest member of the family sleeping on the couch.
Fridge freezer was rusted inside and needs replacing. Situated about a 50 minute drive from yosemite and 15 minute drive into Mariposa where there was a large supermarket

Room Tip: If for 5 people then make sure that the smallest will fit onto a couch - it is not a sofa bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    276
    77
    50
    38
See reviews for
142
225
82
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stopped at this site on our way into Yosemite, it was only a 50 drive into the valley. Our tent was great with a comfortable double bed, electric light, electric socket and chairs. There was a basic kitchen set up to use, which was fine for the pasta meal we prepared. There is a cafe on site which serves both food and alcohol. It would have been a lovely place to spend a few days to escape the technology and pace of the cities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen, wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in june. The cabins are quite a way out up steep steps on a bank. Very poorly lit at night to find your way to the toilets and showers. The receptionist gave us the wrong keys three times only on the 4th time did she realise they were the wrong keys. So going up and down steep steps and the winding path was rather annoying although she did give us a pass to use the spa as an apology. The cabins were boiling hot and stuffy but then you would wake up freezing cold in the early hours. Location is a good 45min drive from the park. Food is nice and good beer. If you can stay in one of the other options than the tent cabin, I would strongly recommend you do that!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zeus_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Key-point to note is that this is actually some way from Yosemite: on the YARTS bus it takes just under an hour and a half to get to the visitor centre. So 3 hours a day sitting on a bus, with the first one at 6 am and one back leaving at 6pm, makes for a long day. Driving - and from the huge number of cars parked here, most people must have been driving - would be a bit quicker. (Also I left San Francisco at 7 and arrived at the Bug just after 12 to find that that had been the last bus of the day to the park so I couldn't go up for the afternoon and was stuck at the Bug.)

Highlight was undoubtedly the food; it was excellent, fresh and very reasonably priced. (And much better than the expensive slops served for lunch and dinner at the Yosemite Lodge or the sandwich from the Deli that had less taste than its wrapper or even the typical bar-food served up at the Ahwahnee Lodge.) The dining room/lounge had a good atmosphere and all the staff were all really pleasant

I was in a canvas “tent cabin” which was more of a shed with canvas walls than a tent. It was clean and adequate but the bed was tiny and uncomfortable and the covers were so thin that even in late May it was necessary so sleep in day clothes. Would not want to be here in winter. The outside lighting ran out some way before the tent and nor was there any lighting either on one of the two steep staircases up to the toilet block, so it was not really safe without a torch. The toilet block had a row of lavatories, showers, sinks and washing machines and while clean it was a bit primitive. But it was cheap and very good value. If you could afford it, a regular room might be worth the extra. Though if I went back, I think I would want to spend at least one night in the park just to experience the full day there.

Room Tip: tent cabins lack the charm of real tents, maybe better in a room if you can afford one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When looking at staying in Yosemite it can be hard to find somewhere within the park that isn't booked up miles in advance.

The Yosemite Bug is located around a 45 min drive (or shuttle bus ride which stops outside the hostel by the main road) in to the park and is a great alternative to staying in the park. The drive is beautiful so was never really a concern for us.

We stayed in the Mono Lake private room with 2 double beds and wow the beds really were the most comfortable ones I have slept in. The room itself was large with more than enough room for 2 people and the bathroom/shower was clean and well kept.

The hostel has a cafeteria area which serves great food (but be quick as some menu options sell out quickly during the evening) and it also has some great local beer on offer. They offer take-away lunches as well if you plan on spending the day hiking etc. Breakfast is also offered. The food is tasty and portion sizes are generous and reasonably priced.
The cafeteria area also has wifi and a wide range of books and board games and some nights there is also live music so it is a good place to chill out and meet some new people.
There is also a spa on offer although we didn't use that during our stay.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the laundry facilities were good also.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bug and would most certainly be back next time I am in the area. My only suggestion to improve would be wifi in the rooms but I understand why they don't offer it (same as why they don't offer TV - they want people to get out and interact with each other!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieMorgan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in a private room with bath and it was one of the most comfortable beds I have come across! Pillows and duvet were perfect and our room was spacious and very comfortable.

Food served in the cafe was delicious with generous portion sizes, and the selection of beers were also very good.

Cafe is a great place to hang out and has a large selection of board games and also the only place (apart from the office) with wifi.

The place itself is around a 45 minute drive from Yosemite but this wasn't really a problem for us as the drive was so nice!

Private room was great and would definitely stay there again, only downside is there is only wifi in the cafe and not in the rooms!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marenate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Yosemite Bug's website sums it up best: "Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate lodging setting." Staying here is an adventure--mostly a great one, but there are a few quirks.
PROs: The cost is amazingly low--I stayed in a tent cabin for $60/night; the same type of lodging 25 miles away in Camp Curry, Yosemite, was going for $129/night that weekend.
--The cafe/lounge was large, pleasant, and comfortable, and the food was very good.
--Lovely spa area (costs $10 extra per day); depending on the day, there are yoga or meditation classes available, and I got a good massage from a therapist onsite.
--The area where my tent cabin was located was astonishingly quiet. This is a big contrast to tent cabins in Curry Village, where the cabins are packed tightly and can be quite noisy.
--My tent cabin, though basic, was clean, as were the linens. And there were plenty of comforters and blankets to stay warm in the chilly night.
CONs: Although Yosemite is only about 25 miles away, it is on winding mountain roads, including a one-lane stretch controlled by a traffic light, where you might have to wait 15 minutes before proceeding. Count on the trip from the Yosemite Bug to major destinations in Yosemite Valley taking 45 minutes to an hour, depending on conditions.
--The grounds and various cabins are on many different levels connected by wandering paths and flights of wooden steps. I had an embarrassingly difficult time finding my tent cabin at first. I eventually found what I think was the intended bathroom, but it was perched on a hill up two flights of steps.
--And about that bathroom ... as a woman traveling alone, I was slightly spooked that the bathroom (with several toilets stalls, two shower stalls, plus a washer and drying) was kept unlocked, in a remote area, and fully co-ed. (However, there were other bathrooms available--though farther away--down at the cafe/lounge and spa when those facilities were open.)

For me, the positives very much outweighed the negatives, and I will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegD_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,051 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
421 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,582 reviews
12.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Property: Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Region: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing