We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at the bug and, in a good way, nothing has changed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed pre kids at the Bug back in 2004. Back then it was the middle of winter and we had fond memories of the roaring log fire and hearty food. Fast forward 10 years, 2 kids later, and staying in the middle of summer…..there was no roaring log fire but the food was still hearty and the place was exactly as we remembered. We stayed in a cabin with private bath, it was nothing fancy but perfectly adequate. And for our screen addicted kids, quite the novelty "what do you mean there's no TV??!!!!". The only real downside was the poor wi-fi, we tried to connect a few times in their cafe and each page would take about 5 minutes to load (if at all….frustrating because we were trying to book accomm for the next night).

Back to the pluses, it was about a 40 minute drive to Yosemite Valley and we had no problems with traffic on a Thursday and Friday in summer (we read horror stories of crowds and queues). The bug is not 5 star (but it doesn't claim to be does it: "rustic"), it does has a hostel feel to it, but if you're after somewhere close to Yosemite Valley that has character and charm and is very reasonably priced, the bug is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived late evening and was checked in really quickly. The guy at the desk gave us some great information about yosemite, which was really helpful.

We stayed in an uninsulated tent cabin, which was on the small side but we didn't spend much time in there anyway. I didn't really feel like our stuff was that safe in the cabin, so we made sure to keep all our personal belongings in the car. The cabin was reasonably clean, although the sheets looked like they could do with a proper wash, and the fan that's provided helped to keep it cool. One thing we weren't prepared for was just how cold it would be in the middle of the night. So make sure to bring a hoodie and some thick socks - we woke up at about 2am absolutely freezing!

We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant, which we found worked well to set us up for a long day of hiking. The packed lunches they make up for you are also really good!

The only downside to our visit was the bathroom. Unless we wanted to hike across the other side of the Bug and up a hill, it seemed like there was just one toilet and one shower for all of the tent cabins. The toilet was okay, but the shower was quite dirty and didn't get cleaned during the three days that we were there. I don't think I've ever showered so fast in my entire life, I was so eager to get out of there. Maybe they keep them intentionally dirty so people have super quick showers!

It also says on the website that it's about 30 minutes to Yosemite. While this is true, it's worth noting that once you're in the park it's quite a drive to get to Yosemite Village or any of the trail heads.

The Bug definitely had charm, and it was nice to stay at a more rustic resort while exploring Yosemite instead of a traditional hotel, but I'm not sure I'd return.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The resort itself is fantastic, and had it not been for the number of bites I woke up with on both mornings I would be rating this higher. Sadly the evidence all pointed to bed bugs as my friends who I travelled with had similar bites. That aside (and perhaps we were just unlucky?!) the site is lovely, with a real campers feel. You can buy breakfast/lunch/dinner and the food is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gh308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went here for 2 nights in a private insulated tent cabin.
It was ok, nothing fancy but cool for 2 nights.
Don't forget the name of the place is RUSTIC Yosemite bug hostel.... It certainly is rustic, but perfect when you want to have a taste of camping in Yosemite but no time or no camping material to do it.
Shared bathrooms (3) are ok and clean on the morning (less clean on the evening).

Yosemite bug hostel is well situated if you want to go to the Valley (45 minutes scenic drive) but not at all if you want to go to Mariposa grove directly (1h30 approx.)

The hostel kitchen is very very basic, not fully equipped but ok if you want to make a breakfast.
Bed linen isn't perfectly clean.

In a private tent, for Yosemite, it's cheap and well situated for a Valley Trip, so I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mllecoccinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time to Yosemite and loved this place. Never been to a hostel and with "bug" in the name was a bit nervous. But after one night, we were happy we got this place.
Stayed 4 nights in an insulated plywood cabin, which had 1 full, 2 twin beds and a small desk. it was stuffy when we checked in, but there's was a fan so it helped. The cabin was nothing fancy, but we've gone camping before so wasn't expecting much any ways. To stay in a cabin on beds at a price comparable to outdoor camp sites....this cabin was a luxury.
The bathrooms were very surprisingly clean. My wife is a neat/clean freak and she was very surprise and pleased.
The food was amazing. I travel on business at times and if you ignore the fancy plates, the food here is better than some places I've taken clients. The chefs honestly know what they are doing. We had steak, pork chops, chicken, fish, veggie, pan cake, french toast, bag lunches and all were very impressive for the quality, portions and price.
There's also a community kitchen with frig, stove, oven, microwave, pots, pans, cups, dishes, bowls, utensil if you want make something on your own...one evening, my kids grilled hot dogs and smores over the community fire pit for dinner. Great fun.
The location is aprx 40~45min drive from Yosemite on HWY 140. Not close but not too bad. We looked at Curry camp while in Yosemite, and we're glad we didn't stay there...tents packed in like canned fish, people crowding all around and menu of hot dogs, burgers and pizza...no thanks.
The staff and all the guests at the 'bug" were very friendly and wonderful. Mind you this a hostel in the middle of the woods en-route to Yosemite and not the Mandalay Bay in Vegas...in that aspect we were absolutely happy and can't wait to go back to the "bug".

Room Tip: Ask for cabin "Chil A" if looking for insulated cabins. It's centrally located and clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnstravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really liked this hostel. We stayed in a dorm room, a little big with 12 beds and people often getting up very early but it was fine. The hostel is about 45min drive from the main park entrance but it's a nice drive along the river to get there. The kitchen is good and it was fun to cook for ourselves and eat in the nature. One night we ate at the restaurant in the lodge. The food was really delicious and average price. SLightly pricey for travellers but worth it. The place is heaving on the weekend though. We also did the yoga class after our hike to yosemite falls and that was great. Very restorative and just what we needed. The spa is also good and a nice treat after long hikes. Behind the lodge there is a small walk down to a natural pool and a few monutes drive away there is a nice river. In general we loved our whole stay in Yosemite and if you like nature then you'll like this rustic place. As mentioned dorms and bathrooms are basic but that's not what you come to Yosemite for. Reception is not 24hour so we needed to wait for it to open before checking out early in the morning which was slightly annoying as we were setting off on a 12 hour drive to Grand Canyon. Staff on reception were ok but a little strange, could've been friendlier and offered a little more help about the park.
to summarise - rooms ok (dorm), kitchen - good, restaurant - yummy, yoga class - excellent, spa - good, location - good if you have a car.

Naomi and Ben

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank benandnemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved this place! It's such a great deal for the price. We stayed in the tent cabins - they're unheated, but not flimsy, and we never had a problem with the summer weather. Plus, it cost less than $60 per night. The staff was really friendly, and we met a variety of locals and international travelers there.

If you do stay at the Bug, definitely plan a few meals at the cafe - it has such a fun atmosphere and delicious food. I'm not a vegetarian, but I ordered the vegetarian option three nights in a row, because it was always something fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenname1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
22.6 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
23.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Region: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Midpines
Price Range: £28 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing