We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, is all I can say!”

Yosemite Country Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midpines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Country Cottage
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW, is all I can say!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

First off, the pictures do not do this cozy cottage justice, Charles and Lisa have obviously put their hearts into this place.
They have thought of everything you could possibly need for a wonderful escape.
The location of the cottage is perfect for going to Yosemite and even Sequioa if you dont mid driving 3 hours (which was worth it !!!).
I just can't say enough good things about the cottage, but I can promise you, that you and your family will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My husband and I wanted to take our 3 kids (7 year old twins and a 14 year old) up close to Badger Pass and Yosemite for a long ski and exploring weekend. We had a wonderful time at this home.

The kitchen was STOCKED with equipment (pots, pans, lots of room to spread things out etc), the bedrooms and bathrooms were pretty much immaculate (and cutely decorated) and the hot tub was a big hit with everybody! The one thing that didn't really work was the can opener and we called the owner and had a brand new one in our hands within about 10 minutes.

As others have said the owner was extremely knowledgeable about the area and had plenty of suggestions about what we might do in the park and surrounding areas. It is a bit of drive to Yosemite (about an hour or so) but it was jaw dropping scenery on the way in. We had a blast at Badger but I would suggest people really research the weather conditions before they pack all the cold weather gear -- I was prepared for the usual cold cold conditions and we ended up skiing in our long sleeve tshirts with no gloves. After a long day on the slopes we came back and enjoyed soaking in the hot tub and then playing Go Fish in front of the gas fireplace.

Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwileygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We booked this cottage via Cyberrentals as a base for travelling around Yosemite Park. There were a lot of good points and a couple of bad. But the good were so much better.
To start with the cottage is excellent. Top class fittings and furnishing. We have stayed in rentals around the US and Europe for 10 years or more and this was by far the best quality. Everything looked new and worked well. Great Air con (which we needed – 104 deg f !!) but the heating looked good for the winter. Hot tub outside was perfect. We saw 3 nights of meteor shows and it was only after a few nights I realised the ‘cloud’ across the middle of the sky every night was actually the milky way. Kitchen was well equipped with all the small touches such as cool boxes, washing liquid and tin foil available. Nice large sat TV, but no music system. Master bedroom and wet room were amazing (but would like to see some draws provided). Two other bedrooms which we didn’t use.
It is VERY secluded with only the owner’s home anywhere close-by, and we only bumped into them once the whole week. Nice views but a bit barren. Lots of wildlife.
The owner is a Yosemite guide and gave us some EXCELLENT and detailed advice on what to do for the week in the area.
The couple of bad points. The place is very remote so shopping is not quick. The first place we found in Mariposa was awful. We did later find a much nice supermarket ‘round the back’ of the town, but by then we had driven 40 miles to Oakhurst for the bulk of the shopping. And this is really the only problem. EVERYTHING is miles away. Yosemite Valley is about an hour away, and most of the best places are 2-3 hours. It makes for very long days and there is only one road in and out, which luckily never got blocked but I can see it might.
But saying that we never saw much that would be closer. There were a couple of big hotels on the edge of the park (30 mins away) but the rooms there would be nothing like this gem of a cottage. If you want to ‘do’ Yosemite, and are happy to drive for a couple of hours to see the sites, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 955Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

we were 4 people who came to visit yosemite and while looking for accomodations came upon this property, like what we saw and booked it. The cottage is beautiful, very well equipped and if missing something, the owner brought it. He also advised us as to what to see in yosemite and that was a big help. We enjoyed a nightly hot tub under the stars and barbequing outside. We hightly recommend the cottage. shula

  • Liked — quiet,isolation scenery
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daisyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

What a fantastic find for a family Christmas gathering at Yosemite National Park! We found Yosemite Country Cottage on VRBO. It is located in Midpines, CA, 10 miles east of Mariposa, CA, on 140. You'll find many rentals in Mariposa, CA, but Midpines is actually closer to the 140 entrance. it has 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, and outdoor jacuzzi.

The cottage sits on a hill, so the view is magnificent from the yard, as you can see from my photo. It has been a rental for less than a year (according to the guest book). Everything is absolutely meticulous. Being the clean freak that I am, I appreciated the gleaming laminate floors in the common areas, tiles in the bathrooms, and the plush the berber carpeting in the bedrooms. Our bare feet and socks never picked up any dirt, unless we dragged it in ourselves. The cottage is equipped with everything you need, such as hair dryer, iron+board, laundry baskets, cleaning supplies, napkins, paper towels, spices, plastic containers+ bags, coffee grinder+maker, satellite tv/dvd player, too many to list. If you need it, you'll probably find it there.

Charles, the owner, lives 500 yards on the property, out of view. He's really on the ball with every detail of the rental, so you'll never be confused about directions, access, and even activities in the park. Also, he works as a Yosemite National Park guide...another bonus for first time visitors. Just one warning, though. He has lots of information to offer, so be prepared for lengthy descriptions of sites and activities. Ah, another warning, this one about 140. There is a stretch of 140 close to the park that is only one lane traffic due to the landslide of 2006. I realize our access in and out of park was easy in the off season, but I anticipate the traffic flow and wait times during the high season to be quite different.

Our family of four adults spent our Christmas at the cottage...probably one of the best family gatherings ever. The park, of course, is magical, but our lodging really topped our stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, amazing views, proximity to Yosemite National Park
  • Disliked — The two one lane only detours on 140
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ATLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
0.0 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
0.0 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Country Cottage

Property: Yosemite Country Cottage
Address: Highway 140, Midpines, CA 209-742-75
Region: United States > California > Midpines
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing