We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Creek Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Red Bluff)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
33
17
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
17
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswe've stayedburgerlassen national parka great place to staysouth entrancenew ownersper nightchose this placechecking outtwo nightsfriendly owners and stafflook forwardcreekmilkshakeskitchenbedroomstore
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We rented a cabin for our 14th anniversary and I had the most wonderful time. The cabin had everything we need except food. It was SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. Yes, rustic, but that is why I was there, I did not want a TV or phone....why...? In an environment this beautiful, who would want to see a TV? Super quiet. Deer in our front yard every day. I had ice tea every day at the restaurant (which feels like you stepped back in time 50 years, without feeling "old", just "quaint") on their deck. The service was wonderful, I drank ice tea and spoke with the Ladies there. Kendra, who is an employee, is quite a "jewel". This felt so homey. I will got back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdodds00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We only stayed one night at the Mill Creek Resort for a visit to Bumpass Hell on Lassen.
Our cabin had 2 bedrooms and a living room, plenty of space for our family of 5. We ate at the restaurant and loved the burgers and shakes. We walked down the path and found an awesome swimming hole. The room was "rustic" but very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Sounds like the authors of the negative reviews should stick to Disney cruises, where they can have the crusts cut off their caviar sandwiches for them. These are cabins in the woods.
Our favorite place to unwind, and we're well-traveled. Comfy cabins, hearty meals, no crowds, nature in abundance, and the friendliest, most accommodating staff we've met at any destination the world over. Can't wait to go back. Again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SidBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We wanted to visit Lassen Volcanic National Park for our third wedding anniversary and found that Mill Creek was close by. The location is the only positive thing, and the fact that it is surrounded by beautiful nature. We travel a lot throughout Northern California, and we did not expect Sonoma, or anything like that....we know how to rough it out...we just wanted a simple, modest, clean cabin. Outside, the cabins are cute. Inside...it was all dirty and way too run down.For instance, all beds are full size and the mattresses are 20 years old...no support at all. Could not sleep all night, both nights we were there. They added a thick piece of foam, but it does not help. It hurt! All pots and pans in the kitchen were so badly scratched that they were unusable. The towels are thin and nasty...like the ones you would use for floors once they get old. We did all our cooking on the grill outside . We stayed for two nights, as we paid in advance, and there are really not many choices around there, and they know it...and yes, there is no service, but they even expect you to dump the garbage to their main container in the morning...for $85 a night, this is a ripoff and it was not even a high season. If you are looking for a "we are camping" feeling and nothing more than that, this is your place. The two abandoned, destroyed cabins were outside of ours, which made it depressing and scary in a way. The light above our bed was broken and left to just hang there with a light bulb broken in half in sight. The windows were dirty, the floors were dirty. Maybe they are trying, but it is just so old and run down and that no matter how much they clean it cannot show. Everything was very dusty, and we spent the first forty minutes there cleaning! The shower is good and fast. We spent the entire day outside, so that helped...yet, it would have been nice to come to a clean, rustic cabin at the end of the day, knowing you can actually get a good night sleep. We came home exhausted from sleeping in such uncomfortable bed for two nights. We really tried to make the best of the situation though...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnaSinisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Don't get me wrong, the location is beautiful, the people are friendly, but the cabin was in bad shape! Maintenance has been put off & the furniture & fixtures have seen better days.
The bottom line items for us are cleanliness, sleep quality & the shower. When we arrived we found food scraps on the table and the tablecloth was sticky & dirty. That immediately was botheredsome, because it shows a lack of basic cleaning. The bed was rock hard, I have never had a harder bed to sleep on - anywhere. Even after spending the day hiking in Lassen Park it was difficult to sleep on it. Which is too bad considering the environment, cool clean air and a babbling brook to lull you to sleep. The shower head was the worst ever, not exaggerating! To describe it best, try to take a shower under one of those misters at a restaurant, you can get wet, but its pretty hard to rinse off.

The smoke detector was on the floor between the fridge & the wall, not on the ceiling. I figure a previous tenant knocked it off because the battery was dead & it was giving off that infernal chirping sound.

We have stayed at similar places in the past, Yosemite, Bryce, Yellowstone, etc. and this one, though beautiful and quiet was in the worst shape.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews