We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice place to stay”
Review of Mill Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Creek Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Mill Creek Resort is located very close to Lassen Nat'l Park, and it was an easy drive to get back and forth. We really enjoyed the quiet little cabins and beautiful surroundings. The staff was very friendly. We ate dinner at their cafe the first night, and the food was great. The cabin was clean, and well stocked. We had everything we needed. The cabin was right next to a small creek that was pleasant to listen to at night.
We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gbm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We've stayed at Mill Creek at least a dozen times since the late 90s and always enjoyed it. The middle aged local couple was always friendly and courteous. This time we arrived after a long car trip and then a hike up Mt.Lassen about 1pm with a load of food in our icebox that needed to be refrigerated. After paying our bill for 2 nights in advance we were bossily told by this teenage girl that we could put the food in the room frig, but would otherwise have to wait in our car until check in time at 4 even though the unit was vacant and ready.

When I asked to speak to an owner about this, a German lady I had never seen before completely flabbergasted me by intead of rectifying this, arrogantly explained like a government bureaucrat why their "policy" could not brook any exceptions no matter how dead dog tired we were and if that meant losing our business so be it! We simply could not accept this kind of rude treatment, cancelled our transaction and left. What kind of way is that to treat customers? Get a clue, you're a business not an authoritarian govt. Agency!

Sure, Hilton may have check in at a certain hour, but they wouldn't make someone sit in the lobby during tha afternoon hours if a room was otherwise ready for him or her. We certainly hope the other owners intervene to rectify this situation before it wrecks their business. At this point, I would have to say try the Mineral Lodge down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank tomc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Close to Lassen National Park, this is a great place to stop for lunch and just enjoy the beautiful, rustic setting. The restaurant is very quaint and filled with lots of wonderful memorabilia. Just looking around at all the interesting items on the walls is enjoyable. Good selection of choices on the menu including a wonderful Asian Chicken Salad, huge burgers, turkey wraps and delicious onion rings. We had a very sweet waitress, Kendra(?), who was helpful with suggestions. They had fresh made Apple Dumplings on our visit and oh my were they delicious! Kendra said one would be plenty to share and she was right! With a big scoop of vanilla ice cream.....heavenly! Would go back in a minute for those Apple Dumplings!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have gone to Mill Creek Resort for Christmas the last 4 years. Reading some of the reviews, I think some people just see things differently then the rest of us. We love the place, especially in winter. If we arrive and find the table cloth sticky, we wipe it off. The towels were old, but not tattered. We don't have a problem dumping our trash, it's not like a hotel with daily maid service.
We love the old, the feeling you are far away in miles and time. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. We like to go in winter when CA-172 is only plowed to Mill creek and there are very few cars on the road. Eight feet of new snow December of '08 made it the best trip of all and night walks when all sound is muffled by the snow is very cool. They serve a decent home style breakfast in the store/restaurant.
If you're a bit picky, you night want to stay at a place designed to look old and rustic and avoid the those that really are.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bayhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very close to south entrance of Mt. Lassen National Park and very much a part of the woodsy Northern California experience. The owners are friendly and have put lots of effort into maintaining and upgrading their cabins, which have good mattresses, fully equipped kitchens and modern bathrooms. Good breakfasts and dinners are available at the restaurant on site, and while eating you get to watch the hummingbirds at the hummingbird feeders. A laid back and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottNStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We rented a cabin for our 14th anniversary and I had the most wonderful time. The cabin had everything we need except food. It was SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. Yes, rustic, but that is why I was there, I did not want a TV or phone....why...? In an environment this beautiful, who would want to see a TV? Super quiet. Deer in our front yard every day. I had ice tea every day at the restaurant (which feels like you stepped back in time 50 years, without feeling "old", just "quaint") on their deck. The service was wonderful, I drank ice tea and spoke with the Ladies there. Kendra, who is an employee, is quite a "jewel". This felt so homey. I will got back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdodds00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We only stayed one night at the Mill Creek Resort for a visit to Bumpass Hell on Lassen.
Our cabin had 2 bedrooms and a living room, plenty of space for our family of 5. We ate at the restaurant and loved the burgers and shakes. We walked down the path and found an awesome swimming hole. The room was "rustic" but very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Creek
15.5 mi away
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
3 mi away
Highlands Ranch Resort
Highlands Ranch Resort
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
96 reviews
9.3 mi away
St. Bernard Lodge
St. Bernard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Resort

Address: 40271 State Highway 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9711
Region: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing