We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at Mill Creek resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Creek Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time at Mill Creek resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went up to Lassen over the Veteran's day weekend with our two young children, and had the best experience at Mill Creek Resort. It was a last minute trip, and we had not done much planning, and we headed out of Redding to spend the night near Lassen to go hiking the next day. The towns of Mineral and Mill Creek had for the most part shut down for the winter, but by chance, we happened upon Mill Creek Resort.

Mill Creek is a rustic resort, the old-time experience that you can't really find anymore. They rent cabins that are self-sufficient, but we were not prepared to cook for ourselves. They also have a one room store/restaurant where we were more than happy to take our dinner and breakfast the next morning.

In two meals we got to know the people running the place, they are friendly and helpful and enjoy meeting the people who are staying with them. It is the kind of place where it is easy to strike up a conversation with the people sitting at the table next to you. They talked about how people had been coming for year after year, and it is easy to see why people would return.

As we drove away, stuffed by a huge breakfast served in front of the roaring wood stove, my 6 year old talked about how he wanted to make sure that we came back to Mill Creek Resort to 'hang out with his friends more'.

Rustic-- and great because of it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyelizabethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mill Creek Resort. Yes, it is rustic, but our cabin (#7) was very clean with a lovely deck, fire pit (with wood) and BBQ and picnic table. The cabin had one room with futon and recliner and kitchen with table and 4 chairs. The bedroom was separate as was the bath/shower. The bed was very comfortable and it was very peaceful to go to sleep at night listening to the stream. Just 20 minutes from Lassen made this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved cabin #7 at the end of the row of cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family has been going there for 6 generations we knew the original owners and now Terry and Georgina and their 2 children. We really enjoy going there so many memories to hold from there. The improvements Terry has made are really nice he is a very social guy and the food in the restaurant is wonderful..... Thank you the Le Sech Family....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I grew up vacationing at Mill Creek area every summer. I recently decided that my daughter should experience what I had as a child. I wasn't too certain she would like it, but once we set up camp (we stayed in the campground) she loved it. Originally we planned to stay for a couple days and then move on to Mammoth. But, the clean air (we are from Los Angeles), the blue skies, green trees with a gentle wind blowing through, the smell of pine trees, the deer strolling through the campground, the sound of Mill Creek putting us to sleep at night, the nearby fascinating Mt Lassen Volcanic Park - all this convinced us to stay the entirety of our vacation. Most important was the quality of service at the Mill Creek Resort; the owners and staff were so very kind and helpful. Each meal that we had was delicious. A wide variety of milkshakes surpassed my childhood memories. A great place for a single person or a family to relax or go all out in enjoyment of God's creation. In the future we might try staying in one of the cabins. Nonetheless, with a warm shower available we were able to stay clean while camping in a tent. Thank you to the owners and the staff for making our stay more than memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We've stayed at the resort now for the past four years and really enjoy the place, and have plans of returning in the years to come. No phones, T.Vs., radios or internet, just a wonderful place to kick back and escape from everyday life!! Some say it's rustic, like that's a bad designation, when it's really a quaint and rustic feel to the cabins and the restaurant, in a truly positive way. If you want something more urbaness, then fork out more money for a place in Chester or around Almanor, and keep your nose stuck up like usual. As for the food, it's good and well valued. Deana is such a wonderful waitress, whom we have come to appreciate these past four years, and look forward to more years of seeing her. All we can say is, it's a great place to stay and to enjoy all that area has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great management, clean cabins, and two creeks; the tiny one that runs down the hill to Mill Creek. Great fly fishing for hubby, and forest walks for me. The lodge is a great place to eat, and have a beer. We have traveled to Mill Creek Resort twice a year for the last 12 years and appreciate the upgrades and new touches to the cabins. A drive to Lassen National Park is a must for the visitor center and a hike. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reader33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Mill Creek Resort is way, WAY off the beaten path.

I have rated it "very good" instead of "excellent" because it is SO rustic I mean RUSTIC. BUT for those of us who love "rustic"--is is very close to paradise! The little cabins are clean-- neat and the "resort" is in the most fragrant, beautiful mountains in northern California.

If you expect anything flashy or up-to-date--you won't get it at the Mill Creek Lodge--but if you treasure quiet, peace and a restful atmosphere, without commercial hype--this is the place.

The family who runs the place are good folks. The kind of people you would like to know. I have traveled all over the world and I like and recommend Mill Creek Lodge

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Creek
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Resort

Property: Mill Creek Resort
Address: 40271 State Highway 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9711
Region: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing