We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where you want to go for good Dim Sum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Pearl Peninsula

Asian Pearl Peninsula
Ranked #57 of 96 Restaurants in Millbrae
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is where you want to go for good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a popular place for dim sum in the Chinese community. There is always a waiting line especially in weekend. You either come before it opens or after the first wave (1 or 2 hrs after opening hr). The food is authentic HK style (traditional or new) I personally like the steam beef balls and the steam turnip cake (not the pan fried version). The price is reasonable. Some other dim sum places in the area charge more with inferior food. If you are lucky, you can find a parking space along El Camino. If not, there is a parking lot behind the restaurant. But be aware that it is share by workers and patrons to other nearby restaurants as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TTL802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
565 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“These Employees Need Etiquette Training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This restaurant knows how to spoil great food with the most unprofessional service you will find anywhere. Here is the sad, naked truth: Asian Pearl has terrific food ( I have eaten there many times) and most people who know good Chinese food knows this; however, the service is absolutely horrible and they do the most underhanded things in plain view and appear not to give a hoot.

Last week I was part of a party of four and we tried to eat the day before Chinese New Year. We were told ‘You will have to wait at least forty-five minutes when nobody is in the restaurant. This seemed strange because there were PLENTY of open tables. We were then told that they were only accepting large parties. This seemed strange because this place does not take reservations. Also, on more than one occasion I have witnesses people leaving the cashier shaking their heads in disgust.

If you want to go to a place with great food and horrific service this is the place but if I were you I would take a ten minute ride south go to Fortune Star where we went after Asia Pearl would not seat us. We got great food and terrific service and were not discriminated against because we were a mere table of four.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Please open back up ASAP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I believe that Asian Pearl has one of the best menus in Northern California. I was stunned by the audacity, the inventiveness of the chefs there, the so very Chineseness of it all, like from village rustic authentic to urban businessman food connoisseur latest. I went there on 10-12-13 eager to dig in deeper to their extensive seafood offerings, maybe try their famous dim sum and there was a sign re construction and openning soon, I hope that is ASAP! This place was putting out super high end food, a hidden gem only to those outside the savvy locals, and gaining a reputation in the city among the more daring or knowledgeable non Chinese diners like me. I can hardly wait to go again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average dim sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Been here few time for dim sum and few time for dinner. Their Menu is similar to the Kitchen. Prices are similar as well.

The wait for dim sum on weekend was long, the wait for dinner on a weekday is okay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
“Mediocre food served by ill-mannered waiters.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We ate dinner, as party of five adults, at this restaurant on September 6th 2013.
The restaurant which is located at 1671 El Camino Real, Millbrae, California 94030, has a relatively large seating space with many waiters.
After being shown to a table, we looked at the menu, ordered five dishes which included a whole Peking duck, and informed the attending waiter that we were not going to have a soup. He responded by showing irritation on his face, and muttering to himself, to loudly and roughly removing the soup cups and spoons that were pre-laid on the lazy Susan. This same waiter unfortunately, showed a bad attitude towards us throughout the evening and to a large extent ruined what could have been a pleasant dinner experience for us.

Ambiance: It became rather crowded by the end of our meal, almost all the tables were filled with diners. Noise levels can be very high as there are no soft fittings to cushion the sounds, with wall-hung TVs blaring away. The decor is plain and not at all exciting. The fish tanks for the live sea creatures at the rear of the restaurant provided the only distraction. Even then, some of the fish therein, were either dead or looking dead!

Food:
The first dish to arrive was the Pot Stewed Tofu Ch Zh style. This had a crispy thin outer skin with very soft insides, which is eaten with a separate brown sauce that came with the dish. Good flavors though a little bland, nice dish if you liked tofu.

Salt and Pepper Squids. The calamari was deep fried, and the batter crispy, crunchy with a soft interior. I found the batter far too saltish.

The Fresh Toss Heart and Tofu contained Romain lettuce, had tofu skins, spring onion shoots, red chilies, sliced green bell peppers, garnished with whole garlic cloves which were almost raw, very strongly flavored, pungent, and crunchy to the bite. A nice dish as well, but avoid the garlic if you cannot take the very strong flavor.

The Mustard green in superior broth was refreshing. The green stems of the mustard leaves were soft and not mushy, well flavored.

Whole Peking duck came with several small white wheat buns steamed in a bamboo container. It was not served to us in the the usual way, which is for the waiter to place the crispy skin and onion shoots on each bun, and then, on individual plates, serve this to each person.The buns and duck were simply dumped on the table! We even had to request for a plate change as our plates were soiled from the previous four dishes. Though the duck skin was crispy, many pieces had a lot of fatty tissue attached to the underside. As we had no spoon throughout the entire dinner, it was difficult to remove this layer of fatty tissue using only chop sticks and a finger!
At the end of the dinner, we were each given a small complimentary bowl of a desert?? which had muang beans, sea weeds and herbs. This tasted horrible, actually!

We drank only Chinese tea. The restaurant allows only beer and wine.Their menu is fairly extensive.

On the whole the food was just mediocre and lacked the wow! factor. Judging from the almost full-house capacity that night, this is without doubt a popular place. Unfortunately, some of their waiters drastically lack training in manners and human relationships for an otherwise three to four star restaurant. Nice place for small parties, groups, reunions and such. No WiFi, and no outdoor seating. Wheel chair friendly? Yes. Parking off street. They do not deliver, but allow take-outs. The dress code is very casual, and as mentioned above, the noise levels pretty loud. They serve dim sum at lunch, which is very popular because they do prepare unusual dishes. Not a very expensive place, but you get what you pay for, and sadly, it appears they give preferential service for customers whom they know or recognize!


Hours are:
Mon-Fri 11am to 2.30pm.
Mon-Sun 5 pm to 10pm.
Sat-Sun 10 am to 2.30pm.
Phone number:(650) 616 8288.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank John-KT-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Pearl Peninsula also viewed

 

Been to Asian Pearl Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing