We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight near airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overnight near airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

A very comfortable affordable overnight stay while waiting for my next flight. It's 1 1/2 mile from the airport, free shuttle back and forth, set in an interesting semi commercial neighborhood. I wasn't interested in going to san francisco itself -- just relaxing waiting for the red eye. Lots of cute restaurants around plus a trader joe The room had a microwave and fridge so I could eat out and eat in. I was able to book an extra half day for half price. There wasn't really a pool, but a decent size jacuzzi and a small exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    171
    86
    33
    35
See reviews for
88
128
31
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I seleted this hotel due to its location to the airport for a one night stay but what a pleasant surprise. Milbrea is a quaint town on the outskirts of SF. The hotel was nice and clean. We got a suite so the living area was separate from the sleeping area. Televisions in both areas. The hotel provided a staff recommendation of local eating places. There was lots of choices. What I loved was you could walk to everything resturants, little boutiques and sports bar. We felt extremely safe. I met a couple that said they stay here on each visit to SF due to it promity to the BART. I definitely will return and have shared this little secret with my fellow coworkers for our business travel to SF. .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B'ham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I was here a very short time (checked in at 9 pm; left at 4 am for an early flight), so I hesitate to be too critical. The hotel is new, so the interior is in excellent shape and has all the modern "touches" you expect in an up-to-date hotel.

My room had a very unusual design - a long, narrow rectangle, with a "box" for the bathroom in the middle. Nothing wrong, just unusual. One complaint - the thermostat had a paragraph-long explanation about how the hotel was "cutting the carbon footprint", so the unit had various settings and adjustments. After about 5 minutes of pushing buttons with no success, I went over to the traditional window unit and turned it on full blast, like I wanted. Please....spare me the carbon footprint garbage and let me have my A/C.

The parking garage was very crowded and tight, but I arrived late. Can't complain.

I cannot comment on breakfast, as it was not ready until 6:30, after I left.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Taco Bell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We chose this hotel so we could return our rental car the night before we were to fly out. We checked in late found out the shuttle schedule ran our bags up to the room and then took the rental car back to San Francisco Airport, then caught the Hotel Shuttle back. When we finally returned to our room we noticed the smell of smoke but it was very slight and we figured the guest before us had been smoking in the room. It wasn't enough to change rooms and it was late. The smell was in the living are more than the bedroom area anyway. We got up the next morning had a great breakfast and left on our flight. Everyone at the hotel was very nice at the time. Two days later I have a charge of $250.00 on my AMEX, I call the hotel and asked what the charge was for. The front desk person told me that we had been smoking in the room. I explained to him that we don't smoke and never have. He proceeded to tell me that we did smoke in the room and if we hadn't why didn't we report it. I explained to him that it wasn't that bad and we didn't realize that if we didn't report it we would be charged. He then told me that if we didn't report it we must have smoked in the room. At this point I was not too happy and asked to speak to a manager. He put me through to Janice the General Manager. I explained the situation again and she said that she could not do anything unless she gets approval from the owners of the hotel, she would investigate it and either call or email me with her findings. We waited a week and then my husband called and spoke with Janice. She gave him the same story and said she would get back with us. It has now almost been three weeks and we have not heard anything. I have disputed the charge with AMEX. It is too bad they have handled this situation so badly because the rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FourWheeler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
First, we would like to thank-you regarding your comments that the hotel was nice and clean. Despite our best efforts to explain the charge to you and the reasons (unmentioned in your review such as the fact that the room was unoccupied the night previously) as to why we believe that the room was actually smoked in, it is unfortunate that our inability to accommodate your request to fully remove the charge has so drastically affected your overall opinion of the hotel and your opinion of our customer service. We are very concerned about both our customer service and the quality assurance of the hotel. As a result, if a room is smoked in despite the fact that the hotel is a one-hundred percent non-smoking facility as are all Marriotts, we are required to take the room out of service for one day in order to complete the following: send the drapes for cleaning, shampoo the carpet, clean all fabrics, wipe down the wall, run an air ionizer for twenty-four hours, and freshen all seating fabrics. This is why the charge is $250.00 to partially reimburse the hotel for the loss revenue and work that needs to be done so that future guests are not affected by the smoke. It is not our intent to profit from the charge or in any way upset our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Millbrae hotels

Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
292 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 751 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The main reason we chose this place over others was for the free parking - but it's no longer free so take that out of your equation. We stayed on Marriott Points and when we arrived they put is into a handicapped room with a bathroom door that did not close or latch properly. I called back down to the front desk who told us there was nothing they could do for us because the hotel was sold out...this was around 4:00 pm.

Hotels may be sold out, but the people who arrive first for checkin are not doomed to a particular bad room - so speak up if you don't like your room. After my unhelpful phone call down to the reservation desk, I personally went down to confront the situation face-to-face.

I was told again the hotel was sold out, and I was mistaken because I was not given a handicapped room. Really? Just because the peephole in the door was at waist level, and the bathroom door had a flat push bar instead of a round knob, and just because there was an audible doorbell with flashing lights for my room only - that doesn't mean I'm in a handicapped room??? Sure it does!

I told the front desk lady I understood that the hotel may be sold out, but the difference was that I was already there and I wanted a room with a bathroom door that closed. When the others guests arrive for their check in they can choose between the rooms that are available for them. But for now I want a different room.

Sure enough - they had a different room for me. It's worthwhile to mention that I'm also a Silver Elite member - this is not good treatment to people who are loyal to the Marriott brand.

Breakfast was rather limited and pathetic.

I've stayed in other hotels that are nearby and better - the Bay Landing Hotel is one of those, and it included a big nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I've stayed here before and this time was as good as any time previously. The check-in was smooth , the room was immaculate and had the same excellent features. They included 2 flat screens, a bed that is as comfortable as any hotel I've been in ( lots of pillows ) , clean carpet and drapes, nice desk for working , good sofa in the lounge area, bathroom that had good water pressure in the shower , nice amenities and clean, clean , clean. There's a gym , free breakfast with plenty of options including hot breakfast sandwiches , and underground parking. Good restaurants nearby. I love this place. You can't go wrong price for value.
Highly recommended for solo, couples and families. It's part of the Marriott chain , which is always a good brand to go with for hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwilbury2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here one night before am flight home out of SFO. Easy to find hotel, smooth check in and clean rooms. Parking was only $6.99 for the night. Beds not so great but understandable for the price. We had a rental car so easy access to fast food, but not much within walking distance.

Overall we were pleased with our short stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.8 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae
Address: 250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2608
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located just one mile west of San Francisco International Airport and twelve miles south of Downtown San Francisco. The property is within minutes of popular attractions such as Candlestick Park, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Silicon Valley and Oakland are only twenty minutes away.Complimentary amenities with each stay include Fairfield Inn's signature Early Eats Breakfast Buffet, free airport shuttle service and free printing, faxing, and copying services in our Business Library. All of the hotel's guestrooms are oversized and have a separate living and sleeping area that are decorated in warm contemporary colors. Each room is equipped with free high-speed internet access, two 32" flat panel televisions, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large executive desk with an ergonomic chair. After a hectic day of travel or business, guests can unwind in the hotel's therapy outdoor whirlpool spa or workout in the hotel's fully equipped executive fitness room. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott's also within a very short walking distance to both historic Downtown Millbrae and the Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station. Historic Downtown Millbrae has a large collection of boutique and antique shops, restaurants, spas, national retailers, and entertainment. The Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station provides convenient and inexpensive Caltrain and BART train service to Downtown San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, and the Silicon Valley. Additional recreational activities such as golf, biking, hiking, rock climbing, and sailing are nearby. San Francisco and Napa tours can be booked from the hotel with free round-trip tour pick-up and drop off service from/to the hotel. Park Stay and Go Packages are available that include a one night stay with all amenities plus up to fourteen days of additional parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Quality Inn Millbrae
Quality Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing