We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rocking and rolling hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A rocking and rolling hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First time stay at this new airport hotel. Nicely done in a minimalist style. Will appeal to a broad set of visitors, but in particular a younger set. Live indy band gigs on a regular basis in the XYZ lounge/bar, brand new gym and top quality facilities.

Spacious room with two queens. Everything worked. We were on the runway side of the hotel and on my next stay I will ask for an inside room.

About 3.20 AM we were awakened by the Napa earthquake and it was a fun ride. I felt very safe in this hotel knowing it is built to strict earthquake codes.

Booked via priceline and a good deal.

Frequent buses to airport 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Get an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Still call Australia Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    350
    118
    38
    32
See reviews for
142
171
72
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff was super helpful with everything and It was very clean and quiet. They had a fridge in the room and a free water bottle. The parking was no problem what so ever even Though we were at a concert near by.

Room Tip: 323 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happynurseCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is in the vicinity of the airport and offers a regular airport shuttle. The shuttle stops at all terminals and runs at least every 20 minutes even at late hours. The hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful, check-in and check-out was a breeze. We stayed in a room on the 6th floor with great view of the airfield.
The room was rather large, very clean and the bathroom was clean and nice as well. Everything is still very new and polished. You will not hear anything from the hallway or the other rooms. Unfortunately, you can hear the sound of the engines of starting planes though. But we still had a good night sleep after a 12 hour long-haul flight. Breakfast is quite simple with only basic offerings but sufficient if you are on the road anyway. The hotel offers free wifi.
Depending on the price with differs significantly at times, this is one of the best SFO airport hotels. I would not pay more than 200 USD though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totti_Berkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review and providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and hope that you will stop by again in the future. Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After an 11 hour cross-Atlantic flight, pulling up to the Aloft was not exactly restful. Maybe if you're 20 something it wouldn't matter, but blaring music, loud colors and edgy environment wasn't exactly a peaceful welcome. All that said, the young attractive staff were all great/helpful and the room was clean and well-appointed. The pool was a delight for the kids; and the workout room for the adults hit the spot. The only other thing worth noting was that being next to an airport meant jet noise in the wee hours, and the faint smell of jet fuel just should you step out side. Yuck. Hardly things that can be avoided at an airport hotel, I suppose.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiChiMa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our unique, modern design. However, happy that you still had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that you will give us another try during your next trip to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The good:
- The hotel is clean and modern with comfortable beds and good facilities. There are only two elevators but they are fast and reliable.
- The staff are generally helpful and charming.
- Despite being so close to the airport we found our room very quiet and the provided blinds are excellent black out blinds.
- The wifi is fast and reliable.
- A shuttle to and from the airport is offered.

The not so good:
- The lack of parking is really a problem. During the weekdays we were there we struggled but always find a spot at the far corners of the lot, but Friday and Saturday nights are very difficult, and many people end up parking illegally or blocking fire routes/exits. Long stay airport parking shares the lot and there really needs to be a better separation so hotel guests can actually get parked.
- The hotel really needs to be more upfront about the parking costs (I see this comment in other reviews too). It is not mentioned on confirmation e-mails, your parking ticket or, in our case, not even by front desk staff. At $23 a night, it's steep for somewhere so far out the city with such bad parking issues. In their defence the hotel were receptive to our complaints about this lack of transparency - I suspect they've heard it before and will hear it again...
- No restaurant on site.
- AC very loud (works very well but disturbing in night).
- Only 1 washing machine for whole hotel and in heavy use, so hard to find a time you can use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is new, clean, and modern. The staff at check in was delightfully helpful, and even directed us to a nearby destination we needed directions to. I was very pleased with all my interactions with staff, and the common areas were all spotless. The lobby is also very open and has great areas to hang out, and do work if need be.

The rooms themselves are absolutely spotless. The room was clean, modern, and had all the needs I would have wanted. The high speed wi-fi was also very good and had great speed.

My only complaint about this hotel was the shuttle service to/from the airport. The shuttle shares it with guests at the Westin which is right next door. The shuttle only leaves every 20 minutes, and it makes the shuttles extremely crowded. It is hard to stow luggage on the shuttle because of the crowd. It was so crowded, that the driver resorted to stowing luggage in the walkway. If an emergency had occurred, it would have been impossible to evacuate the shuttle efficiently. This is something the hotel must work on.

The hotel has a "cafe" that makes hot breakfasts sandwiches you can purchase in the morning, and they also have packaged snacks around the clock you can purchase. It would be nice if they had a restaurant, but I'm not sure that is the type of marketing scheme they are looking to accomplish for this type of "boutique" hotel. The only restaurant you can utilize is the one inside the Westin, which is a quick walk next door.

Other than the shuttle issue, everything about this hotel is absolutely perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend other to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 148abel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Aloft is the type of hotel that you either love or hate. I can understand those who hate it for its vibe or even its cheesiness.. but we as a family love it. This is the third Aloft that we've stayed at. Good consistency in rooms thoughout, and the mattresses are of decent quality letting us get a good sleep after a long day sightseeing.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Anytime that I had a question or concern, they were quick to help me out.

So, overall, I'd recommend the hotel, and I'd personally stay here again if I were back in San Fran. There are a couple of flaws that need to be mentioned, though:

1. The pool is freezing cold. We complained to front desk and they called somebody over (who was there within minutes, by the way!). The pool guy told me that the water was at 81 degrees. Looking at the room thermostat - it was 79 degrees in the room, meaning that the water should have been even warmer than the room. Let me assure you that it was not. This water had to be less than 70 degrees. I have two kids who would spend entire holidays swimming if we let them... and they couldn't even stay in the pool because it was too cold. Is a heated pool too much to ask for?

2. The parking fee. I agree with someone else who stated that they don't mention this anywhere on the website or on the confirmation email. We had done research beforehand, so we expected it. Nonetheless, that doesn't excuse how much they charge. Why is it $15 for airport parking in the same lot when it's costing me $23 as a hotel guest?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Property: Aloft San Francisco Airport
Address: 401 E Millbrae Ave, Millbrae, CA 94030-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $23.00 Per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing