We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be adventurous and try something new!”
Review of Tai Wu Restaurant

Tai Wu Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 96 Restaurants in Millbrae
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Be adventurous and try something new!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Tai Wu, 300 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030, (www.taiwurestaurant.com), telephone (650)697-7888 serves a wide variety of local/authentic Chinese dishes and some great soups. Service was very friendly/helpful since we didn't recognize half the menu! Lots of locals eating which is always a good recommendation. We went with the hot/sour soup (easily can feed 4 people multiple servings for $9) and a variety of shrimp, scallop and chicken dishes which 3 of us shared (2 of the spicy variety and the scallop was mild/seasoned with garlic and other flavors). Total bill with drinks, soup, 3 main dishes and house fried rice (delicious) was about $75.00 before tip.

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad rap”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Other reviewers canned this place, but they should give it another shot. Rapunzel and I had a wonderful, tasty, and efficiently served dinner while staying at the Fairfield Inn next door so parking was n or an issue. And, if you subscribe to the old truck driver adage, you will be interested to know we were the only non-orientals in the place. And no, the other guests were not tourists but appeared to be locals well known to the staff.
So,park down the street, take your time crossing El Camino, and enjoy a great meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Went there with my family of 10 for dim sum. Service was excellent, but the food was excellent. Each course was a oral explosion of taste and texture. We're going there again before we fly out after our round California holiday, just before going to the airport for afternoon flight. Thank you Mr Fong and team

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“We had a very good dinner”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

That night we had dinner right next door to the Fairfield Hotel called Tai Wu Restaurant (300 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030, tel. 650-697-7888, www.taiwurestaurant.com). We are very glad that we didn’t trust the bad reviews that this restaurant has gotten. We had a delicious meal with excellent service. At first we were put off by the glossy menu with all of the photos. Then we were put off by the prices—they were high. We also didn’t find any reasonably priced vegetable dishes. We decided to try one appetizer and asked if we could have ½ order of the “Tossed Black Fungus Salad” and ½ order of the “Jelly Fish with Aged Vinegar”. The manager said we could and a large dish arrived with both on it. Each was delicious and the textures were pleasing too. The taste of the combination of sauces was terrific. The price of that dish was $8.50. On the basis of that dish, we decided to stay. We wanted only one other dish and we were having a hard time finding something that had protein and vegetables. We thought we’d get the “House Special Combination Soup Dried Scallop Oyster and Mixed Fungus” but it was $28.50 and we decided that was too expensive and we had just had a fungus dish. We ordered the “Pig Knuckle with Plum Clay Pot” for $14.50 and it was excellent. The sauce was not too sweet—just right—and there was plenty of meat on the bones. There was any not vegetable in the dish to speak of but we figured having just eaten the fungus we had gotten some anyway. We had one rice ($1.50). There was so much food we couldn’t finish the dish. On the glossy menu there were many desserts that sounded interesting. Unfortunately, they were only served at lunch. The server offered to bring us a taste of the “green bean soup”. He brought us two bowls and didn’t charge us. The green bean soup was interesting, different and good. So we had a very economical meal at $26.71 plus tip and we were stuffed and very satisfied.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai Wu Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing