We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We chose the Travelodge in Millbrae as a convenient place to stay while making a short visit to San Francisco before leaving by air, and were not disappointed. The BART station is a short walk and provides convenient transport to the downtown (about 30 minutes to Union Station). The motel is a basic travel inn, but it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was basic but had enough variety to satisfy us, and the coffee and juice were fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a drug store and a grocery store within walking distance, and a number of choices to eat (we opted for the Panera Bread, which requires crossing the freeway overpass and is thus better reached by car though it is quite close). Downtown San Francisco has plenty of things to see and do - we enjoyed the Botanical Gardens which are both free and beautiful, as well as the Union Square and Fisherman's wharf areas. Leaving for the airport was straightforward as the shuttle was there when promised (note that you must schedule it ahead of time) and it is only a short ride. We arrived from the south by rental car, and there was good signage directing us toward the hotel from the freeway, making it easy to reach.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tnlehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

I am happy to write this review to let people interested in this Travelodge to know that this is a great choice. I have stayed here many times over the past 4 years and have never been disappointed.
The staff is absolutely great. They are always friendly and helpful and I always feel welcome when I arrive.

I usually stay in one of the deluxe rooms. They have always been clean and very spacious. They have microwaves and refrigerators so if I feel like eating in the room I can go to the grocery store across the street for any groceries I may need. Of course there are several restaurants within walking distance as well. And no need to worry about breakfast because they have breakfast set up in the lobby in the morning. They offer a nice selection of breakfast items. The location is a big plus. This is just across the street from BART and CalTrains. You can be in SF in a very short time on BART. The hotel offers free shuttle service to SFO and you can leave your car there while you are away on your trip.

I highly recommend this Travelodge to anyone flying in or out of SFO or visiting the SanFrancisco area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank klbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Clean, neat, close to airport with 24-hour shuttle. Real good expanded continental breakfast. Can also leave car there for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsilva27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We stayed on the third floor of this motel. There is a small elevator, but we chose to use the stairs when we didn't have our suitcases wth us. I asked for a quiet location. It wasn't too bad for noise, but it was warm when we were there (most of the time), so we usually had the AC or fan going, so that may have drown out anything that was going on next door or outside. On the other hand, you could really hear if someone was running the shower anywhere else in the motel. I did learn to close the bathroom door at night, and that helped.

The parking was very limited. Most of the time we were left with only one stall open, and it usually happened to be right next to a cement pillar, making for a very tight spot. I was wondering why there didn't seem to be many cars leaving the lot each day. I finally found out at the end of the stay that they use their lot for a park and fly. I don't think they have enough real estate to be using the lot for those purposes, or those utilizing the service should have assigned stalls (preferably right next to the pillar where I always had to park).

I brought my laptop and had zero issues with the wireless internet.

I did have issues with our key card demagnetizing 3 times in 7 days. It was very frustrating coming back after a long day on our feet, and climbing two flights of stairs with our hands full of our day's purchases, only to have to tromp back down those stairs to have it rekeyed, and then back up again.

The breakfast was limited - toast, cinnamon rolls, pastries, boiled eggs (which tasted old to me), yogurt. We would usually take something quick and bring to our room.

The desk staff were not very friendly, nor conversational. I asked if there was a charge to use their printer, if so, how much? What I got in response was him raising three fingers. I said "three cents?" He finally responded and said "three dollars - $2 for using their computer and 50 cents per page." That seemed rather costly to print a page or two, especially when I had my own computer already. Their soda machine did not accept larger bills (I think I had a five), so I had to ask for smaller change, and that was with minimal communication from the desk person. They could use with more personable night staff. The day people, we had less interaction with, however they did seem better.

The room itself seemed clean enough. I never walk barefooted or in my socks in ANY hotel room, so I couldn't tell you anything about how dirty the floors really are, like some other posters. I did not see any signs of cockroaches or bed bugs. Two things that I look for rather thoroughly. I do not want to bring any unwanted visitors home with me. I do like the fact that the hair dryer was NOT bolted down, so I could bring it out to the main room and finish my hair while someone else could use the bathroom to get ready themselves. That helps speed up the process.

The location was very handy. The BART train was a three minute walk - about a block and a half. Then it was a 20 minute ride into SF. The Millbrae BART station is the last one on the line, so you ALWAYS had a place to sit on the train going into SF. We were not always so lucky coming back. If you are using your car to get around (we did a little of both), you were about 2-3 blocks from the freeway, so you had the convenience, without all the traffic noise. You were about a 5-7 minute car ride from the airport - just one ramp further up the freeway. We did not hear much noise from the airport, however.

I was not really impressed with the selection of restaurants in the immediate area. We typically ate before coming back to the motel, or made a special trip afterward. There was a Chipotle Restaurant across the road, but it was closed when we were looking for dinner. There was a Wendy's right next door, but we never ate there. It always looked dead inside, making me wonder if anyone else ever ate there either?

Pricewise, we paid $90 something per night plus tax for two beds.

The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows. I am not as spoiled with my bedding at home.

I would be willing to stay here again in the future if I came back, but I would still research other locations for price vs. convenience of location before reserving.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank try2hunymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We stayed twice at the Travelodge and both stays were good. The location is convenient to the airport and to BART for going into The City. The rates were reasonable, for the area. The rooms were clean and well-maintained.

Most important, the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, whether we were asking for directions, restaurant recommendations, or for a place to keep our luggage while we left for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank J_and_M_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We needed to stay close to the Airport as we had a very early departure,
The Travelodge Airport at Milbrae was great. It was clean, comfortable and easy to get to the BART for a vey quick trip into San Francisco.
The breakfast that was included inthe price had a great selection to choose from. The Shuttle bus to the airport was a very good service. Would recommend the place for a couple of nights stayover.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

I checked into this hotel and found that the wifi connection in my room wasn't working. Despite several calls to the front desk, it still didn't work, so I decided to check out and find another hotel.

I was surprised when the hotel manager told me that because I had stayed in the room for more than 30 minutes, she would have to charge me for one night's stay. I suppose I might have acutally stayed in the room more than 30 minutes. Sheez, it might have been as much as 35 minutes - most of which was spent trying to get an unacceptable situation rectified.

I think the manager's decision to charge me was deplorable. Her parting comments to me were particularly offensive. This Travelodge has firked me out of $88, but it will be the last $88 that they - or any Wyndham hotel brand - will ever get from me.

There are too many other hotel alternatives available to put up with this sort of treatment. I suggest that you look elsewhere. PS The Quality Suites about two blocks north of the Travelodge is about the same price and their wifi works.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SushiPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinBurlingame, Public relations manager at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2008

While we respect the views of all of our guests, we occasionally find the need to respond to a guest review that we consider to be inaccurate. Our property utilizes a T-1 line for both our voice and data connections. We have 5 routers placed at stategic points throughout our property whcih we monitor closely as we understand how many of our guests require a strong, clear, fast signal for their business or leisure needs. We continue to offer our wireless connection free of charge to all our guests. When this guest checked into our property, he informed our front desk manager how important the wireless connection was to him. He was placed in a room directly adjacent to one of the routers. The signal is no stronger anywhere else on our property. More and more of our guests are using our wireless signal but many of them have limited knowledge of how to use it. Many expect just to turn on their computer and go. Often there are additional steps that are required but many guests do not want to go to that effort. They expect it to work the exact same way as in there house. When it does not work the exact same way, the guest many times puts the blame immediately on the proeprty. This guest falls into that category as he did not want to listen to any suggestions that the front desk manager offered him. Our server was working fine that day. We always have our computer on behind the front desk and we had no issues at all. We asked the guest to reboot his computer before finding our Travelodge signal. We asked him to turn off any firewalls that might interfere with the reception of our signal. But he did not want to hear any of this and he eventually became more and more demanding in a more and more demeaning tone. He continued to insist that it was not his problem and it must be the hotel problem.. He even insisted that the hotel reboot our entire system. Yet our computer continued to work in the back office. Finally after more than 30 minutesof continual negative interaction with our front desk manager, he stormed down to our front desk and decided to check out. Our front desk manager informed this guest of our 24 hour cancellation policy so he would be charged for 1 night. If this guest had been polite and really had connectivity issues that were the fault of the property, our front desk manager would have gladly waived the 24 hour cancellation policy.
Our Travelodge just won the Travelodge Property of the Year award for the entire United States for 2007. We have also been awarded Travelodge Best Customer Exoerience award for Northern California and Nevada the past 4 years. We understand how important customer service is to our guests.
We also understand the importance of guest reviews on TripAdvisor which is why we wanted to promptly respond to this guest review that we consider to be grossly inaccurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range: £84 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing