We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good airport hotel in San Francisco”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel in San Francisco”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We picked this hotel for its excellent location (1 mile from SFO and two blocks from the BART station), its 24 hour airport shuttle and its good reviews on Tripadvisor. However, it offered much more. The room had recently been refurbished and was very modern. The breakfast in the small lobby had many choices and the area was very clean. However, we very disappointed with the front desk staff. We had an 11AM international flight and scheduled the complimentary shuttle for 9AM thinking it was only a short ride to the airport. The next day we arrived in the lobby at 8:50AM and were waiting quite a while for the van. We asked the gentleman at the desk (who had taken our request the day before) what was holding up the van. He then told us that if you ask for the van for 9, it means between 9 and 9:15. If he had told us that, we would have scheduled the van for earlier. Also when I again asked the status of the van, he just kept repeating it comes between 9 and 9:15 and did nothing. In fact another guest could no longer wait and took a private cab. The van eventually came with many passengers from another hotel and we were lucky that our terminal was the first stop. I am sure management is aware of the security problems at any airport and the need to be early to any flight. The front desk should inform all guests of the way the shuttle operates. I am sorry to have to write this because in all other aspects, the hotel fulfilled all our needs.

Room Tip: Make sure to make sure your room has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    355
    103
    31
    18
See reviews for
191
300
103
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was planning a biz trip for a conference and wanted to stay in SanFran. However, my company wasn't going to pay the money for me to stay in SanFran - I needed to regroup. I did some research, and picked The Dylan because it was in my price range, had good reviews, and I could get to SanFran in my rental car without going over a bridge.

This place is SO MUCH BETTER than that..... The combination of the staff, the excellent updating, a comfortable feel, a nice neighborhood, and proximity to the airport, BART, restaurants, and downtown SanFran make this a GREAT place..... I don't think I've felt this comfortable at a hotel in a long, long time. I could go on and on, but that would be repetitive....

I didn't realize I could walk to the Millbrae BART station when I booked the hotel, but that was a very pleasant surprise. I didn't use the train everyday, but it helped a couple of times when I needed to travel in prime time, and avoid that nasty traffic.

There are some very nice Vietnamese, Thai, Japanese, and other restaurants very close - a quick walk or a short drive.

I was here for business, but I noticed some couples staying here that were clearly on vacation.

You can't go wrong...stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently returned from a trip where my husband and I stayed at the Dylan. I was interested in doing touristy things but knew little about ow to get around. Dave was working the front desk and he was very helpful in helping me determine what sites to see, where to eat and how to get around. I was so pleased to have him go the extra mile for me. Our room was nice, large and reasonably priced. I will definitely be back again. Maybe next time he can do something about the rain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here one night before embarking on a road trip, then decided to re-book for the end of our trip before we flew back out to London. I booked based on tripadvisor reviews.

First time was better than the second. We were on the 1st floor, double room. Very clean, all the amenities you need - hairdryer, iron, USB charging ports, WiFi. Nicely decorated. Nice clean bathroom - that is a major thing for me who is a little OCD! A tiny bit noisy with the traffic and train station being next door.

We booked the second time for the last leg of our trip. We were expecting a similar room to the one we had the first time. This time on the 3rd floor. Older room, Bathroom was dated, a lil mouldy, nowhere as nice as our first stay but OK.

Location is very close to airport, lots of shops and restaurants near by and of course the train station which is couple minutes walk but super convenient to get into the city. Free parking too.

Breakfast was sufficient, option of cereals, waffles, toast, bagels, eggs, juices, fruit, tea and coffee.

Not much interaction with the staff, but on our last morning, whilst having breakfast, which is right next to the front desk, there was a very annoying member of staff who was having a very loud personal conversation with another member of staff at the front desk. Not very professional.

I would book again if I get a newer room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina O, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of our hotel including the kind words they have shared. We have worked tirelessly over the past 18 months to improve our property which includes all new guest room furniture featuring electric outlets with USB ports built into the night stands and desk. We just want to clarify one point. During this long process, there were 4 bathrooms on the third floor which had not yet been updated due to previous time restraints. Unfortunately this guest upon their return stay was given one of those 4 rooms. Since their stay all 4 of these bathrooms have been completely remodeled so now all of our guest bathrooms like all of our guest room furniture have been updated. At the Dylan, we are committed to providing our guests with a quality stay in a fantastic location at a good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our second stay here and once again the Dylan is a great choice if you want convenience . There is a BART station just across the road . The Airport is minutes away with the shuttle. A Lucky market across the street with a great deli section for in room dining. Many restaurants around the area within walking distance.

Room Tip: We had lots of luggage so we asked for a ground floor room , there is an elevator from the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've stayed in Millbrae before knowing it was a great balance between getting a budget-conscious hotel and having good transportation into SFO airport and the city (via the BART). In this case I went for the Dylan since I'm quite keen on "boutique" hotels that aren't all boringly furnished like the big chains.

This turned out to be an excellent decision. The Dylan is a beautifully presented hotel, exactly as described in the pictures on their website. The room was very clean and everything worked. My only gripe was that that the wi-fi was down on the first evening, and the guy on reception couldn't help. However after a few hours this seemed to fix itself.

I would note that there was no refrigerator in the room (although a space for one in a cabinet was present) and that the room was actually quite noisy (you could hear neighbouring room's showers). However I'm not a light sleeper so none of this was an issue for me.

The decor of the rooms and hotel as a whole is beautiful. The room was well equipped (I love the bedside power and USB charging outlets) and the safe was very useful too. The room was perfectly cleaned and maintained. Buffet breakfast was good and the 24hr coffee & cookies very much appreciated.

All in all a fantastic and beautiful, value-for-money hotel that I highly recommend, overall possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: From what I gather all the rooms are great. I was on the top floor which had a nice sunset view over...
See more room tips
Green Features: Respected the water shortage issue which is encouraging to see
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Hersfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stand 7 weeks in USA. We are from Germay and my english is not so good. Before we are in "The Dylan" we travelling Arizona, Utah and California. Many cities, many peoples and many miles. And very helpful persons!
The last week we stand in Monterey and we book "The Dylan" for the last night before we go to New York. "The Dylan" was very good (clean, near Airport, nice town for eating..) but the guest service was very bad! Mister Csillik and Mister Jones was very kindly. But Mister Reynolds was a Katastrophe! We have Problems we the flight (Delta Air) and i can not phoned. We asked Mr. Reynolds to help us. But now, the first person in our holiday the do NOTHING. We are shocked!
We go with BART to the SF Airport and cleared our problems on Delta Air. Now we are back in Germany. We are happy: Only one person in 7 week will no help. What a good quote!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back the are noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: The green practiseis are very good. I hope, in the future many hotels and motels go the way like "The Dylans" in Milbrae.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lothariusderErste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellenece 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary Fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafé cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing