We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“N” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“N”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Greta rooms, ok breakfast, not a lot of choices but there were waffles. Great guest services the rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable.. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because there was no security. Anyone could access the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoisLevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    349
    100
    31
    17
See reviews for
188
292
102
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked our 2 night stay based on Trip Advisor reviews, location and cost - everything exceeded our expectations - after a long flight from Australia we were very impressed when the free shuttle arrived 1 minute after we arrived at the pick up spot - the shuttle driver was extremely friendly and gave us some good tips re the BART etc. Check in was easy although the gentleman was not very friendly - our room was great, 2 large beds, spacious bathroom, safe and very quiet. There were plenty of choices for eating in close proximity to the hotel and the free breakfast was good - the breakfast room was quite small but we waited and were able to get a table both mornings - a good breakfast set us up for the day. We caught the BART into San Francisco for the day and it was very easy to catch the train both ways - not far to walk from the hotel. Free wifi was great, we booked the shuttle to the airport the day prior to leaving and decided to catch an earlier shuttle to make sure we were on time - the shuttle was a little late but didn't affect our flight. All in all this is a hotel that most people would drive past and not bother to check into, however it has been refurbished to a very good standard and for us was certainly good value for money. I would highly recommend the Dylan to anyone wanting to avoid the high hotel prices in San Francisco. Thanks !!

Green Features: Great to see hotels caring about the environment - well done.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurbillsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I arrived at the hotel around 10 pm. and was very hungry.. The front desk manager was kind enough to get me something to eat from the kitchen : 2 bagels, cream cheese, yoghurt and jam. There was no other place open at that time and I really appreciated the effort to feed me.
My room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a ref and microwave. It is more convenient .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycarm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We picked this hotel for its excellent location (1 mile from SFO and two blocks from the BART station), its 24 hour airport shuttle and its good reviews on Tripadvisor. However, it offered much more. The room had recently been refurbished and was very modern. The breakfast in the small lobby had many choices and the area was very clean. However, we very disappointed with the front desk staff. We had an 11AM international flight and scheduled the complimentary shuttle for 9AM thinking it was only a short ride to the airport. The next day we arrived in the lobby at 8:50AM and were waiting quite a while for the van. We asked the gentleman at the desk (who had taken our request the day before) what was holding up the van. He then told us that if you ask for the van for 9, it means between 9 and 9:15. If he had told us that, we would have scheduled the van for earlier. Also when I again asked the status of the van, he just kept repeating it comes between 9 and 9:15 and did nothing. In fact another guest could no longer wait and took a private cab. The van eventually came with many passengers from another hotel and we were lucky that our terminal was the first stop. I am sure management is aware of the security problems at any airport and the need to be early to any flight. The front desk should inform all guests of the way the shuttle operates. I am sorry to have to write this because in all other aspects, the hotel fulfilled all our needs.

Room Tip: Make sure to make sure your room has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was planning a biz trip for a conference and wanted to stay in SanFran. However, my company wasn't going to pay the money for me to stay in SanFran - I needed to regroup. I did some research, and picked The Dylan because it was in my price range, had good reviews, and I could get to SanFran in my rental car without going over a bridge.

This place is SO MUCH BETTER than that..... The combination of the staff, the excellent updating, a comfortable feel, a nice neighborhood, and proximity to the airport, BART, restaurants, and downtown SanFran make this a GREAT place..... I don't think I've felt this comfortable at a hotel in a long, long time. I could go on and on, but that would be repetitive....

I didn't realize I could walk to the Millbrae BART station when I booked the hotel, but that was a very pleasant surprise. I didn't use the train everyday, but it helped a couple of times when I needed to travel in prime time, and avoid that nasty traffic.

There are some very nice Vietnamese, Thai, Japanese, and other restaurants very close - a quick walk or a short drive.

I was here for business, but I noticed some couples staying here that were clearly on vacation.

You can't go wrong...stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently returned from a trip where my husband and I stayed at the Dylan. I was interested in doing touristy things but knew little about ow to get around. Dave was working the front desk and he was very helpful in helping me determine what sites to see, where to eat and how to get around. I was so pleased to have him go the extra mile for me. Our room was nice, large and reasonably priced. I will definitely be back again. Maybe next time he can do something about the rain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here one night before embarking on a road trip, then decided to re-book for the end of our trip before we flew back out to London. I booked based on tripadvisor reviews.

First time was better than the second. We were on the 1st floor, double room. Very clean, all the amenities you need - hairdryer, iron, USB charging ports, WiFi. Nicely decorated. Nice clean bathroom - that is a major thing for me who is a little OCD! A tiny bit noisy with the traffic and train station being next door.

We booked the second time for the last leg of our trip. We were expecting a similar room to the one we had the first time. This time on the 3rd floor. Older room, Bathroom was dated, a lil mouldy, nowhere as nice as our first stay but OK.

Location is very close to airport, lots of shops and restaurants near by and of course the train station which is couple minutes walk but super convenient to get into the city. Free parking too.

Breakfast was sufficient, option of cereals, waffles, toast, bagels, eggs, juices, fruit, tea and coffee.

Not much interaction with the staff, but on our last morning, whilst having breakfast, which is right next to the front desk, there was a very annoying member of staff who was having a very loud personal conversation with another member of staff at the front desk. Not very professional.

I would book again if I get a newer room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina O, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of our hotel including the kind words they have shared. We have worked tirelessly over the past 18 months to improve our property which includes all new guest room furniture featuring electric outlets with USB ports built into the night stands and desk. We just want to clarify one point. During this long process, there were 4 bathrooms on the third floor which had not yet been updated due to previous time restraints. Unfortunately this guest upon their return stay was given one of those 4 rooms. Since their stay all 4 of these bathrooms have been completely remodeled so now all of our guest bathrooms like all of our guest room furniture have been updated. At the Dylan, we are committed to providing our guests with a quality stay in a fantastic location at a good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.2 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned boutique hotel with newly remodeled guestrooms (2014) is conveniently located 1 mile from the San Francisco Airport (SFO) with free 24-hour SFO Airport shuttle bus service to and from the SFO airport. They offer free parking for your night of stay; however, no car is necessary as they are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART (rapid transit)/Caltrain station-your gateway to San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Aside from Their superior location, there are other perks that will make your experience with them even more special. Every morning guests will enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast featuring hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, tasty in-house-baked goods, freshly made granola, fresh waffles and so much more. Come back to the front desk in the afternoon to enjoy freshly baked cookies, tea and coffee. Talk to their friendly front desk staff about San Francisco tour recommendations, they are happy to assist you with planning. The Dylan is proud to offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to catch up on work or emails. Lounge by the fountain in their relaxing Tuscan themed patio complete with comfy seating and lantern lighting. They recently completed the remodeling of their guestrooms in 2014. They took an artistic approach to their new room designs and worked with famous surrealist photographer Thomas Barbey to select each piece of his dreamy artwork to display in their guestrooms. Look closely at the art and you'll begin to recognize icons from all around the world, including San Francisco. Each room is stylized to highlight the beauty of his work. If you enjoy unwinding in front of the TV, you'll love watching HBO on the 40 inch LCD flat screen TVs that they've provided in each guestroom. Their modern all American made furniture adds a touch of sophistication to their room design and unlike most hotels, they've incorporated ample USB ports and electrical outlets into every headboard and desk as they know the importance of staying connected to loved ones and colleagues. Their stunning new bathrooms feature spacious showers with imported Spanish porcelain tile, frameless glass shower doors and relaxing rain showerheads. For over 2 decades, they have been committed to offering their guests a quality stay at an extremely competitive rate. Their excellent reviews and awards, including the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, attest to this. Stay with them and see how easy and stress-free traveling can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing