We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shout”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top shout”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looking for a hotel in SF was lumpy. The Dylan was a no brainer as close to the airport after a late flight,seeing on previous reviews close to the BART and was a good price. It was perfect our room was large,comfortable especially the beds and had lots of facilities the ensuite was modern and the rooms were decorated nice. The kids loved the waffles at breakfast plenty of choice and replenished regular. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We didn't find it noisy even though we backed onto the track we all slept well. This hotel is fab and makes a great base to travel into the city.
4 night stay

Room Tip: We backed onto the track but it was double glazed and quiet with a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toshies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    364
    108
    32
    20
See reviews for
205
309
104
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Dylan for 5 nights in July 2014. The rooms were clean, large, quiet, and very comfortable. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was the typical hotel breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads, etc. The price was half that for a hotel in the city. The BART was an easy 5 minute walk and round trip into the center of town was just $9 - even less for seniors. They have free airport shuttles which operated on a convenient schedule. There were quite a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Obviously refurbished room and shower, but ugly exterior access. Cement walkways ensure noisy progress of all neighbors. Hotel was full so I could not get my requested room, and so all night we heard the nearby trains. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance, including very authentic asian restaurants (The Kitchen!!) Three hotels share shuttle buses, but service is not in the time frame they tell you, except in the early AM.

Room Tip: other reviews suggest the new wing-cannot be noisier where we were --312
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I researched a lot before selecting this hotel for our short stay in San Francisco, looking at convenience, safety, ratings and price point. So happy I chose it. The Dylan is clean, well decorated, comfortable, quiet and convenient with mature and knowledgable staff. There is above average attention to detail in guest rooms for this level hotel (crown molding, motion activated lighted alarm clock, to name a couple.) Plenty of electrical outlets, fast and strong wi fi, and good lighting in the rooms. Beds are very comfortable. We had two rooms because our flight was cancelled and our same room was not available for the extra night. Both were in the deluxe building; one had two beds and a shower and faced the parking lot with its own balcony. The other had one king and a tub/shower combination, facing the back street and bart station. This room had double sliding doors and a balcony as well. Never heard the trains. The area around the hotel is quiet and felt very safe. There is shopping (restaurants, grocery store, Walgreens) across the street however be aware you need to cross a wide (and sometimes busy) avenue to get to those. There is a pedestrian crosswalk at the corner, but with right turn on red, I was nervous about making it safely. There are multiple restaurants on the same side of the street as the Dylan, though, so plenty of diverse options for eating. Hotel breakfast was as expected: waffles, yogurt, cereal, bagels, toast, juice etc. Great since it was included! Access to the train station is through the parking lot to the back and out to a quiet street, about a block, and an easy walk. It actually took us about 40 minutes to get to the Powell St. station, so allow extra time and take an earlier train if you are meeting a tour or are on a schedule. The airport shuttle was prompt and efficient--another good perk. If you have a rental car, there are two gas stations within a block or two for refueling before returning to the airport. Overall I feel I made a good choice and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The impressive is in the details : suffient wall outlets combined with USB-charge sockets!!! execellent thought, should be adopted by all good hotels!

Decent water pressure and a REAL European style quality shower head!!! What a treat! Clearly shows that someone has been discovering that Europe is far more advanced than the rest of the world, when it comes to home building and equipping! By the way we have had warm water in homes before the US... :-))); this is why they call the "old" world... :-)

The lemon water in the reception area is as well very good idea.

Nice room and very clean, everything you need.

Room Tip: deluxe is what I had
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was close to SFO wifi was excellent great free breakfast the beds were so comfortable. The USB connections are brilliant. Even though on a busy road the room was quiet will recommend to family and friends when visiting San Francisco

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Dylan for a vacation/business trip. The location was great. Approximately 1 block from the BART. Mike, at the desk staff was an excellent resource and very friendly. He was competent and helpful giving much needed advice regarding the BART and how to get around San Francisco., The other desk staff was also very helpful. Our hotel room was clean and updated. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had a rain shower. Breakfast was more than sufficient and offered a variety of breads, hard boiled eggs, cheese, meat, fruit, cereal, and waffles. There was always lemon water, coffee, and hot chocolate available at the front desk/registration area. Great location with nearby restaurants and grocery store. Millbrae is a very safe city and we felt comfortable walking in the city. If you want to stay at a hotel that is close to the airport and approximately 25 minutes to San Francisco downtown area (via BART), I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: All rooms have been renovated. Comfortable beds!
See more room tips
Green Features: Notice regarding drought in San Francisco - can re-use towels by not placing on bathroom floor,.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing