We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leysin, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a great little motel/hotel if you are in the SFO area. It's easy to find, the rooms are well appointed, clean and very clean. The staff is friendly and I honestly couldn't ask for more when staying over for a night or two!

Room Tip: Don't arrive too late in the evening or you could have a problem parking a large vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AckExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    219
    57
    23
    3
See reviews for
153
226
59
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DECATUR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This cute motel is 10 minutes from the San Francisco airport. There's a shuttle, but if your plane arrives too late (as ours did), they'll reimburse you the cost of a taxi ride. The room is small, but very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The people who work there are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had been referring to this hotel as our "ghetto" hotel all week and really dreaded going there because of some of the reviews.We had a very early flight so we needed to stay near the airport and we had to turn in our rental the night before our flight so we needed a hotel shuttle. We were really shocked when we got to the hotel. The man at the desk was very friendly and told us what we needed to do that evening to get the hotel shuttle from the airport to back to the hotel. The outside decor is very cute. I have never seen a hotel with outside doors have curtains outside and plants growing down the upstairs railing and flower pots hanging. So pretty! We went inside our room and could not believe how nice! High quality coffee, toiletries and very clean. We had a fridge and microwave too. The bed was the most comfortable of our 10 day trip. The room was small and there is not much to do in Millbrae so you would not want to stay here long if you planned on being in the room a lot. It was perfect to spend the night in for an early flight our of SFO. The shuttle back to the hotel picked us up in a very timely manner. We had told them we needed the 4:05 am shuttle the next morning. We thought we would miss the free breakfast because it was so early. We got to the front desk with our luggage and a very kind lady told us there was breakfast in the next room. There was a dining room with several nice tables and more food than we could imagine! We would have got down there sooner if we had known! They had a waffle maker, fruit, cereal, pastries, flavored coffees and juices. We sat down to scarf down coffee and a pastry before the shuttle got there. The lady comes over and brings us a plate of mini cheese omelets and sausage links! She was cooking them at 4 am! We ate them quickly and they were delicious. Our shuttle driver got there promptly and the trip to the airport was not long. I would definitely recommend this hotel. There was no outside noise. If I had to say a negative, it would be that I could here the people next doors tv. There tv was mounted on the wall behind our bed and I have great hearing so it bothered me a little. My husband did not really notice it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverCityGirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We came into SFO late at night and wanted to get an airport hotel. On Priceline we got the Millwood Inn for $100, which is slightly under what they charge. When we drove up to the Millwood Inn it looked more like a motel. After checking in, we were pleasantly surprised with how nicely the rooms were put together. Nice furnishings, nice bathroom, just overall, a good room. We were very comfortable! The breakfast has a great selection (waffles, eggs, bacon) and we loved it. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I found Millwood to be extremely restful and clean, well designed and organized, and close to the air port. We stayed June 18 & 19, 2012. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the decor and how the organization of the room was so effective. The hotel was a great value. The hotel staff were very helpful with our transportation needs. We would stay there again and again. There is no restaurant, but there are many that are within walking distance. There is no pool, but with so much to do in San Francisco we didn't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This stay was pretty much what i expected for the price - good for the purpose but don't go for an amazing stay.

Pros: quiet, free breakfast, close to airport, cheap, clean.
Cons: too far from San Fran if you are tourists going there every day (also train is about a 15min walk away), internet not working and rooms felt very small.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are located 1 mile from the CalTrain/BART station for which one can take a public bus or take an easy walk. Alternatively, guests may take our shuttle to the airport and take BART from the airport station. We have not had any issues with our internet access, but we are always available to help should one have issues connecting to the internet. Our property has both wireless and wired access in all rooms. In addition to the regular rooms, we also have suites with more space. As always, comments are welcome to help us improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We recently stayed at this inn while attending the U.S. Open golf tournament. We reserved a "large suite", and although we have stayed in much more posh establishments, this worked out very well. It had 2 bedrooms, one with queen beds for our son and grandson, and the other with a king for my husband and me. The living room was adequate, and all 3 rooms had flat-screen TVs. Not fancy, but for the price it was very clean, the beds were super comfortable, the room was very quiet, and we all slept very well during our stay. The breakfast was nice, and provided Belgian waffles, omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, sweet rolls, and the usual accouterments. Surprisingly nice for a small inn. All in all, a great value for the money. By the way, the staff was exceptionally accommodating and pleasant to deal with. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Inn & Suites

Property: Millwood Inn & Suites
Address: 1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Business Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millwood Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millwood Inn & Suites welcomes business and leisure travelers to enjoy a tradition of warm, personal hospitality. Located south of San Francisco in Millbrae, California, this distinctive hotel offers a refreshing mix of lifestyle luxuries and a relaxed coastal vibe for working, relaxing, playing and exploring the San Francisco Bay Area. Enjoy a casual contemporary ambiance that makes you feel at home. Our hotel offers a comfortable eco-friendly hotel experience in Millbrae, California.Our amenities include a flat panel TV with over 100 satellite channels, HDTV, WiFi, DVD player, alarm-clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, drip coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, full-size iron and ironing board, well-lit vanity and luxurious bath products. We also have a fitness center, breakfast buffet, an interactive business space, gift shop, parking for overnight guests and shuttle to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millwood Inn And Suites
Millwood Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing