We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an older place lovingly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgetown, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem of an older place lovingly renovated”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wow! Our entire experience, from check in to breakfast to check out was great. It's privately owned and beautifully maintained. The bed was the most comfortable of our 2 week stay in California.

We can encourage others to get outside of the comfort zone of chain hotels and experience a one of a kind spot. So much more satisfying to pay a family than a franchise.

Getting to the airport was a breeze in the morning.

We'll stay again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room farther from the highway and had no road noise. Restaurants are within a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm honored to hear that from check in to check out, you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us. As a small independent inn, I really appreciate you recommending us over the big chains. Hope you get a chance to visit California again soon!

Best wishes,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    219
    57
    23
    3
See reviews for
153
226
59
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for convenience from the airport and convenient access to San Francisco, keep looking. It is not the closest hotel to the airport as the TripAdvisor posts would have you believe. Perhaps it is close as the crow flies, but as the shuttle drives (twice each hour), it is a 20 minute ride to the hotel and about 15 minutes back. You will pass lots of other closer and more convenient hotels. Getting a cab to San Francisco from this hotel is not convenient either - had to wait 15-20 minutes and the cost was $65. We took an Uber car back for $80. We could have just stayed in the city for less. Rooms were clean although we found someone else's sock under the bed. And the store at reception is well stocked if you are stranded without your suitcases as we were. Don't expect breakfast if you have an early flight. Breakfast starts after 6 am. Overall, it ended up being just OK for us but we wish we had researched better and stayed somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As a small independent inn, we take pride in our work and want our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay with us.

We believe our inn is conveniently located so that it's close to SFO while still accessible to the city. As you mentioned, we provide our guests a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport. We're also right by a BART station, which will take you to and from SFO for just $8. Had we known you didn't want to take a cab, we would've been more than happy to route your BART trip for you.

For our guests who have to leave for an earlier flight before our breakfast time at 6 am, we normally accommodate them. Had we been informed you would like an early breakfast, we would have happily made the provision.

If you have any constructive suggestions for us to improve, please let me know.

Best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Eleven of our board members met this weekend, using this location as a meeting base. We were all very impressed with the clean, comfortable rooms that have been recently upgraded. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. It's convenient from SFO (just one exit down) and there are convenient restaurants and store locations for the supplies that we needed. But even more impressive was the service we received. Extra chairs, coffee, supplies....literally anything and everything we needed was offered. This was an awesome experience for our group!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Charilyn,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. As a small business, I truly appreciate your support and am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next meeting with us!

Take care,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This place really shows pride of ownership. Rooms were clean, comfortable, well maintained. Like most accommodations in the area it's a renovated motel. Modernization was done very well. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Free wi-fi connection. Complimentary breakfast was OK, about the same as you would get at a Hampton Inn or similar hotel. Convenient location. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests after a stay. I'm very happy to know you were well taken care of and comfortable during your visit. I hope we can expect to see you in again if you're ever in the Millbrae area.

Best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had very pleasant stay here Shuttle from airport runs every 35 min we only had to wait about 15.Check in was smooth very helpfully lady on the front desk had us in our room in no time at all.
Room was very well presented we had room 102 which was perfect for us as it has 3 beds two in main room and another in separate room which also had flat screen TV.
Sleep comfort was excellent morning breakfast better than other places as there was hot food as well as cereal,eggs,yoghurt,pastries and fruit.
Check out was just as efficient lady looking after desk was very nice and was glad we had an enjoyable stay.
SHuttle back was on time and driver of the 9.55 was by far the best shuttle driver I have dealt with in my travels so cudos to him.
Would certainly look at staying here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiebill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! I'm delighted you thought checking in and out was a breeze and slept comfortably during your stay. It's great to hear your experience on the shuttle back to the airport was so pleasant — I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the driver. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're visiting Millbrae!

All the best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stumbed upon the Millwood years ago and have gone back several times. Free and easy short shuttle to and from SFO. Front desk people always in a good mood, helpful with area recommendations. Easy to get food delivered. Rooms have always been immaculate, refrigerator, microwave for those leftovers or snacks. In room coffee. Beds very comfortable. Nice and quiet place. The only place I stay when flying away or back. I live a couple hours from SFO, and it's nice to have a place to relax when coming and going. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whenever you're traveling through San Francisco. I'm pleased to hear you consistently enjoy friendly and helpful service whenever you stay with us. That's the goal! It's been great having you. The next time you check in, be sure to say hello so I can thank you in person.

Take care,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This property delivered exactly what it promised. The room was clean and nice to stay in. There's no luxury here, but you don't pay a small fortune either. They could improve the quality of their free breakfast however. It's very average and on some days there was no oatmeal available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, William. It's our goal to offer our guests a clean and comfortable room for an affordable price. Accordingly, I'm glad to know that's what you experienced. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you're traveling through the Bay Area!

Best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Inn & Suites

Property: Millwood Inn & Suites
Address: 1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Business Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millwood Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millwood Inn & Suites welcomes business and leisure travelers to enjoy a tradition of warm, personal hospitality. Located south of San Francisco in Millbrae, California, this distinctive hotel offers a refreshing mix of lifestyle luxuries and a relaxed coastal vibe for working, relaxing, playing and exploring the San Francisco Bay Area. Enjoy a casual contemporary ambiance that makes you feel at home. Our hotel offers a comfortable eco-friendly hotel experience in Millbrae, California.Our amenities include a flat panel TV with over 100 satellite channels, HDTV, WiFi, DVD player, alarm-clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, drip coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, full-size iron and ironing board, well-lit vanity and luxurious bath products. We also have a fitness center, breakfast buffet, an interactive business space, gift shop, parking for overnight guests and shuttle to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millwood Inn And Suites
Millwood Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing