We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great SFO hotel, but be careful of room selection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“This is a great SFO hotel, but be careful of room selection”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You will not find better value for money for SFO hotels. I stay here everytime I am flying out of SFO. The first thing you need to know about the hotel is that it backs onto a major railroad and the locomotives blow their horns all night, it hardly matters which room you are in, you will hear them, but avoid any rooms at the back of the hotel, as you will not get a decent nights sleep.

As long as you get a room near the front of the complex, you will be ok. The restaurant is actually very good, as is the bar, although the same girl has been tending the bar there for years and she is not the quickest server in the world.

The fitness room is very well equipped and rooms, which is rare for a hotel like this. Usually the fitness room is an after thought, but not here. It is roomy and has plenty of equipment.

The pool is small, but nice. Word of warning though, it can get very busy with kids depending on the day.

I am happy recomending this hotel for a night if you are flying out of SFO in the early morning. They have a shuttle than runs 24 hours a day and takes about 15 mins to get to the airport. You MUST book the shuttle though, and you need to call them as soon as you land if you want to be picked up in good time.

They offer a complementary continental breakfast from 4.30 am, which is a nice touch and they have free wi-fi, which is good in the rooms, but patchy in the restaurant.

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed our fitness center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    681
    213
    71
    34
See reviews for
546
697
160
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a great hotel for our family of 4. Nice location, near airport and train station. Good breakfast available for FREE. They offer more selections in the main restaurant if you want, but we found the "departure snack" to be perfect, especially with Miss Effie greeting each guest. :) Also, room was cleaned each day, so no problems there. I heard the train once while walking to our room but never noticed it again. Btw, if you need a bite to eat nearby, try Peter's Cafe...friendly staff, good diner food, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeriLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We needed a hotel close to the airport as we were only staying a short time and would not have a car. This hotel has a great early morning shuttle and is so very close to SFO.
The room we had was very clean and super comfortable. There were a ton of pillows to choose from too. The breakfast was by far the best we've had. Muffins, scones, plus little egg quiche like snacks all from a local bakery. On site restaurant was very good as well for dinner.

Room Tip: There is a king bed room that has a separate bedroom with another large bed. Perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary morning departure snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stay here before we go abroad. The staff, the driver, the food, and the rooms are very good. The motel is very close to the SF airport. The motel drivers work on time so we never worry about missing a flight. The restaurant is a pleasant room and has good food and service. The only rooms that are not so nice are the bottom floor rooms close to the check-in lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmh495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Been to many airport hotels and this is one of the best values. I also got rescued by Lucio Galvez last night when the trunk to my car wouldn't open. Imagine the hotel has a guy dedicated to assist with car services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty and we are glad Lucio could assist you with your vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

WE stay at the hotel whenever we leave from SFO with the convenience of parking our car. It is a great value for the money. WE have confidence that our car will be looked after well in a safe location. The restaurant serves well presented food of good quality. The room is most comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank philruth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing such positive feedback about our Park and Fly program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

El Rancho Inn has been my choice for years. For a park & fly , this motel has no peer in the San Francisco Airport area. Everything is run like clockwork, from departure snack to airport pickup shuttle and vehicle return. This is real service at a most reasonable price, and staff are very courteous as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank shirhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your loyalty and recognizing our Park and Fly program and our wonderful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn

Property: Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Address: 1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2015 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Green Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Best Western hotel to SFO Airport, AAA 3 Diamond Rated, with full service restaurant offering complimentary daily departure snack from 4:30am - 9:30am. At the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn you’re sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will stand out among other hotels in Millbrae, CA. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don’t miss a beat while you’re away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you’re on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus El Rancho Hotel Millbrae
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn And Suites
Best Western Millbrae
Millbrae Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing