We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic cuisine of diffferent regions”
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 96 Restaurants in Millbrae
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westport, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“authentic cuisine of diffferent regions”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

chicken legs, goose necks, other exotic food choices. Four styles of cooking and presentation, reasonable prices for the area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank falcon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum and Peking Duck”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our recent visit to San Francisco, I was overwhelmed and discouraged by the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor of Chinese restaurants located in San Francisco. Staying at a hotel outside San Francisco in Burlingame, I checked out the local restaurants and based on the Trip Advisor reviews, my family and I went to The Kitchen.

The dim sum was wonderful! Everything was fresh tasting and well prepared - plump shui mai (not fatty), steamed pork buns (not soggy), fried dumplings (not oily and very crispy), steamed tripe (huge serving), turnip cake with dried scallops (well seasoned), steamed rice rolls with beef (lean and nicely seasoned beef) and creamy baked egg tarts. The price range was $3.20 to $3.95.

We returned for dinner and had the Peking Duck that was served with steamed buns. It was delicious - crispy skin and tender pieces of duck. I wish they served it on a bed of shredded lettuce to avoid having the meat sit on a greasy plate. We also had a huge plate of sautéed pea sprouts.

The Kitchen is a very popular restaurant and is just one of many Chinese and Asian restaurants along El Camino Real. We were there at around 9 p.m. for dinner and every table was taken. Most of the tables are large tables that seat at least 10 people so smaller groups might have a more difficult time getting a table. There were many families at this restaurant - it is clearly a well loved restaurant among locals. Dinner is served until after midnight - when we left, many neighboring restaurants were closed but The Kitchen was still very busy.

Parking is not as bad as it could be. There is street parking in front of the restaurant and best of all, there is a public parking lot next to the restaurant.

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for the great tip!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PackUpNGoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Good Food!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Took my folks here for dim sum today. We arrived at 10:30am and we had to wait for about 10 minutes.

On the weekends this place is always packed. They have all the usual dim sum offerings that other Chinese restaurants offer and a bit more. Everything here is pretty tasty and fresh. The hostess' can be a bit rude but the waitstaff is friendly and accommodating.

Can't go wrong with this restaurant. This place can be expensive compared to other Chinese dim sum places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milton919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in An America!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Mostly exclusively Asian & little English, but don't let that scare you away, if not your profile. On weekends, the spectacular dim sum is brought around on carts , so you can just "point & shoot." The congee (rice porridge), albeit a simple dish, is some of the best I've had in the world. A huge selection of very authentic Chinese dishes for the courageous. Worth the 15- minute drive down from SF. Get there early on weekends, else prepare to wait - long time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dim sum”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Been here many times for dim sum. It can get very busy so I try to go early lunch hour. Food is always good. Some staff are friendly to kids. Service is good. Have not tried dinner here since dim sum only at lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cricoerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing