We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #2 of 327 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Five of us landed here for dinner, on a high recommendation and we were not disappointed. The ambience is very good, seating indoors and outside, the beers crisp and the food awesome. Would recommend their starters 'roti' or 'palota' as the Malaysians refer to it, and you can crank up the spices, sauces the way you want. It is crowded, so you can expect not the quickest however very courteous service plus the waiters are well informed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan Iyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    100
    33
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“People really into Thai food must visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice location and place, both inside and outside seating is nice. Quick service. I ordered mango prawns and noodles, which wasn't really up to my palate, too sweet and no flavors. Prawns weren't fresh at all, they were slightly fibrous!! May be other items on the menu would be nice, however for the price for those things, i would rather find a better tasty joint to go to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“awesome food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place offers THE BEST singapore malaysian food in the bay area or possibly US. There is really nothing on the menu that doesnt taste great. I go here pretty often with colleagues and family.

However, there are couple of servers who dont understand the meaning of customer service so as long as you dont land in those table. Its a great exp all the way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amitsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“THUMBS UP TO THE SERVER & STAFF BUT HATE FOR THE LONG WAITING OF FOODS TO COME ON YOUR TABLE.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went for the first time last Thursday (June 17) afternoon and we were seated immediately and got the order by a nice gentleman with his little bow on his shirt. It impressed us how attentive the staff are. The appetizer comes after 30 mins. and then the main meal probably about 45 mins. or more. We are patient enough not to complain as you see the staff trying hard to please all the customers. One staff roaming around to give water and another staff is taking away all the used plates. The seating spaces are too small that you can hear the conversation of your next table as if they're in your group. The foods are not really spectacular that you may say it's worth waiting for.

This will be the first and the last for us to visit Banana Leaf, it's not worth to wait 45 mins.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinda_trias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food was good but nothing like WOW!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been to a lot of Malaysian; Thai cuisine restaurants but Banana leaf came out very crowded and noisy place with okay food. We went during dinner time around 8.30 i guess and i got a ticket from the front desk telling they will call us once our number comes. Well, waiting wasn't that much and table which we got was good. Only thing i liked about this place is Service.. Servers were really good and warming. Food was okay because i have eaten better pad thai in san jose itself.
Well i would recommend this place once they'll start taking online reservation for 2 or more than 2.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoojaSingh889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing